We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience The Trianons & The Hamlet
from US$48.93
More Info
from US$287.81
More Info
from US$13.81
More Info
from US$232.55
More Info
Reviews (1,844)
Filter reviews
1,844 results
Traveller rating
1,163
541
108
15
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,163
541
108
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marie antoinette petit trianon main palace farm animals these areas versailles grounds long walk pink marble small palace working farm court life mini train favorite part nice walk grand canal visiting versailles petit train
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,844 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018

This part of the chateau is quite remote but very interesting and worth making the effort to go and see. The little train will take you there if you don't fancy the long walk

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank mauricef15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Note these are some way off - both in terms of distance ( use mini train if you don't fancy a LOT of walking) and internal decor / furniture. However still worth visiting and personally the Petit Trianon was interesting for the English Garden, so unlike the structured layout of the chateau gardens.
Entry to both buildings is included in the passport ticket.
Can't report on the Hamlet as didn't get to it.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

This chateau was very good but not as much information as the palace of Versailles. Quieter too but worth a visit

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Sheena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

I want to write a review as a warning to any future travellers who are also going to Versailles purely to see the Trianons and Hamlet. Despite doing a lot of research, I managed to come unprepared and wasted a lot of money (and some time).

First of all, when you arrive at the Palace, you can follow the signs to the left saying Grand Trianon, but be prepared. There was a musical gardens show so I had to pay entry to the gardens in addition to my Trianon ticket just to get to the Trianon. You can walk to the right of the Palace and go in through a side entrance, but then you would have to walk for over 15 minutes to get to the little tram.

That leads me to my second point: the tram. The Trianons are located almost 2 miles away from the Palace, so unless you have unlimited time, that's not super feasible. The tram to get there costs 8 Euro (I think), so be prepared to pay again when it comes to getting to the Trianon.

It takes a little while to drive there on the tram, but the grounds are beautiful so it passes quickly. When you arrive at the Trianon, you can either enter through the Grand Trianon (which turns into a very long walk through the gardens, up a hill, down a path, through a long set of gardens past another building before you finally reach the Petit Trianon), or go down the path through the trees to the Petit Trianon. The Grand Trianon is pretty (particularly the gardens), while the Petit Trianon is certainly very petit, but still worth a quick look. Regardless of which one you choose, you will be walking a lot to get between the two of them, and we haven't even touched on the Hamlet.

The Hamlet was the reason I really wanted to come to Versailles, and it's beautiful, but it was a fairly long walk through some unmarked trails. I almost turned the wrong way and if it wasn't for a tour group nearby, I would've wandered off the grounds entirely. The Hamlet is cute but a little underwhelming as you can't enter the houses- or at least you couldn't when I was there. But it's crazy to think a queen basically created a small town for her own amusement, and the hamlet is certainly very charming. The gardens and grounds around it are truly unbelievable- so many huge trees and beautiful grass. I could've wandered around for hours once I finally knew which direction to go. Once you've finished, you must then make the long trek back out around to catch the tram to return. With the journey to get here, you need 3 hours at least. It's worth a visit, but don't make my mistakes and be sure to come prepared!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Kelsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Well there certainly is a lot to see at Versailles. After having been blown away by the opulence of the contents of the Palace..one finds more at the Trianon...

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank pazthetaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews