We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel I will return to”
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This hotel is excellent value, considering it is within walking distance of the Palace of Versailles. It has all the appearance of a boutique hotel while being very much a budget one. My only criticism would be that breakfast was served in the same area as reception and the receptionist has to attend guest checking in and some of the guests were kept waiting for their coffee/tea while he was attending the guests checking in. Perhaps there should be one more person attending the guests who are having their breakfast. Versailles itself is a very pleasant city and has some excellent restaurants near the hotel which stay open late for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richmondlady06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

No luxury. Small rooms, simple, clean and basic cleverly decorated to make it look like a small boutique. Could do with one more member of staff al breakfast.
The location is exceptional, 10 minutes walk from the station and 5 minutes from the Chateau. If you go to the Royal Opera, you'll enjoy walking back to the hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guitarman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Had a fabulous time at Hotel d'Angleterre. Celebrated our wedding in Versailles and booked 10 rooms for our friends and family. François was very accomodating and even gave my spouse and me a bottle of champagne for our honeymoon! Literally a two-minute walk to the palace grounds and a five-minute walk to the RER station--very convenient. Had a lovely stay--the bed was extremely comfortable, totally refurbished rooms! Excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowflakexc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

This is right by the Chateau. It has doors and windows, hot water and carpets.

On the downside, it isn't cleaned properly, each room was fitted out for a fiver and it employs eccentric hosts. Empty minibar, paper-thin walls, bathroom constructed as an afterthought as part of the small bedroom, etc, etc. Bewildered by the positive reviews. I guess they camped last year and this represents a move up the scale.

Enjoyable exchanges:

We wandered off for a stroll at 9.30am on the day of departure, leaving the key. We were chased down the road by the receptionist (one of four on duty during our 16 hour stay), asking breathlessly if we were going to return and, in fact, pay. We assured her we would. Never had this in a hotel before. Nice.

On return a new receptionist, less panicky, asked us if it was our first trip to Versailles. When we revealed that we used to live here, her chat melted. She kind of imploded as her killer question was responded to with an off-piste response.

And there's the thing. Most people go to Versailles for a day, so maybe this hotel would suit them. We lived here, loved the town (and it is a town, not just a monument), and would have preferred to stay in a place that cared. This one just didn't give a toss.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon_verse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Hotel d'Angleterre was a wonderful small hotel near the Palace of Versailles. We enjoyed two nights and had a wonderful experience. The hotel accommodations were very nice with a simple, clean, and big room. The beds are very comfortable! I can't say enough about the hotel staff. They were extremely nice and helpful. Francois was wonderful as he gave us great advice. We arrived a bit early and he was so very nice to hold our luggage while we went to the Palace. We were going to stay one night, but due to our travels we stayed two nights and Francois was so nice to accommodate us even though we didn't have a reservation. There service attendant was very nice and helpful as well; she was a very sweet gal that helped us with luggage, and provided great service for our room. There is free wifi which was great too! All in all, it was a fabulous stay. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, but a few minutes away there are a couple of great patisseries in which we had croissants, pain au chocolat, eclairs, and cafe which was a delight. While it is not the Ritz Carlton, it is by far a very nice boutique hotel that we recommend to everyone staying in lovely Versailles.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank watraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This is a small hotel very convenient to train station, local shops, cafes and restaurants and a very short walk to the Palace of Versailles through a delightful little garden. The room was small but adequate and the bed very comfortable. Small number of staff very welcoming and friendly, however, it was the convenience of it's position which made it such a good choice for everything we needed. Although it was close to all amenities it was quietly situated and within walking distance of the Palace, train station, restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaretGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

The hotel was clean and very chic French in decor in a quiet street in easy walking distance of the Versailles palace and local restaurants. The rooms are small, characteristic of rooms in French hotels in traditional French buildings, but with all required amenities. Good continental breakfast. The management was very friendly and helpful, very much a family run establishment. My attempts at french were unnecessary as their English was perfect. With their help we dined in an excellent French restaurant just a few minutes walk away. The Palace was just 5 minutes walk - incredibly convenient. An ideal choice for just Euro 70.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travel_addict13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#19 of 26 in Versailles
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#6 of 26 in Versailles
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#17 of 26 in Versailles
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Home St-louis
Home St-louis
#26 of 26 in Versailles
55 reviews
2.0 mi away
Buc Lounge Hotel
Buc Lounge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Buc
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Cheval Rouge
Hotel du Cheval Rouge
#15 of 26 in Versailles
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Address: 2 B rue de Fontenay, 78000, Versailles, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range: £72 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Versailles
Hotel d Angleterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing