We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delightful example of small French hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Australia
Level Contributor
304 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“delightful example of small French hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

The hotel was clean and very chic French in decor in a quiet street in easy walking distance of the Versailles palace and local restaurants. The rooms are small, characteristic of rooms in French hotels in traditional French buildings, but with all required amenities. Good continental breakfast. The management was very friendly and helpful, very much a family run establishment. My attempts at french were unnecessary as their English was perfect. With their help we dined in an excellent French restaurant just a few minutes walk away. The Palace was just 5 minutes walk - incredibly convenient. An ideal choice for just Euro 70.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel_addict13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    39
    12
    12
    1
See reviews for
25
32
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

Close to everything. Parking was not a real problem and you did not need the car to go to the Palace.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cjburm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

My wife & I stayed 2 nights. The place is old & tired. Towels were of sandpaper quality.
Room was extremely small. Location was good . No parking . We arrived by car in the middle of a farmers demonstration and they had barricaded the hotel only access.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rowCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2009

I've stayed there for a couple of nights and my feelings are mixed.

Some things I liked: first the location, then the free wifi, and the somewhat helpful staff

Some things I did not like so much: many things broken (including the TV remote), not very clean (but not dirty either), tiny walls, slamming doors all over the hotel at 6 a.m. every morning.

They charged me for a breakfast I did not have ("but you did not tell us you would not have a breakfast") - the French breakfast, that is coffee + a croissant only of course. That attitude definitely spoiled my stay and influenced my rating.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elwood, Vic.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2007

We (myself, my partner and our two year old child) spent two nights at Hotel d'Angleterre in June (2007) and enjoyed our stay.
Versailles was lovely and the Hotel is ideally located very close to the Palace and close to the railway station (20 min. approx. to Paris). The shops nearby were great in particular a fabulous Patisserie.
On the down side the room was small and the bathroom was tiny but it is a 2 star hotel and we did not expect anything more for our money. Be aware there is no parking however there is underground parking nearby at a fairly reasonable rate.
We would recommend this Hotel for it's quiet location and its closeness to the Palace and the fab shops.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The bed and the tiny shower
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greendenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2006

In july we stayed 3 pers. in a rather small room, it was very hot during night even we had a fan. The fridge did not work, the hairdryer did not work.
The reception was a mess when we arrived. We did not dare to take the breakfast in the hotel.
We read the review on this website and we were very disappointed of the standard.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It was mwssy
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2006

I recently stayed at the Hotel d'Angleterre for 4 nights, but only wish I could have stayed longer. The view from my first floor window overlooking the hotel garden, as well as into the rear of the other local family homes in the nearby street, was quintessentially French and really made me feel part of the Versailles community, as opposed to simply being another tourist staying in a hotel belonging to a multi-national hotel chain. The hotel is situated at the end of a small picturesque street, which was not only peaceful and architecturally interesting (I particularly loved the old wall fountain at the corner entrance to the street - the Palace end), but located no more than a two minute walk from sight of the Palace itself - very convenient for beating the tourist rush!

Breakfast is taken from 7am in a very pleasant room downstairs overlooking a simply stunning back garden; quite the prettiest breakfast room I have ever had the pleasure to sit in. The staff were also very pleasant to me at all times.

Whilst the rooms themselves might not be 'cutting edge', mine certainly was clean and well aired upon my time of arrival and thereafter. I particularly liked the individual Dutch theme of my room, with pictures of windmills on the wall and broadly striped orange and white curtains leading onto a patio terrace (which I did not use). My only slight irritation was the fact there was only one power point in the room which meant I could not watch TV when boiling a kettle, charging my mobile, etc, but it was of little consequence compared to the overall cleanliness and convenience of the hotel.

I would not hesitate to stay at the Hotel d'Angleterre again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.4 mi away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#5 of 26 in Versailles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#19 of 26 in Versailles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel la Residence du Berry
Hotel la Residence du Berry
#4 of 26 in Versailles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#10 of 26 in Versailles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre
Address: 2 B rue de Fontenay, 78000, Versailles, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Versailles
Hotel d Angleterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing