We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of Hotel Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Canal
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Aigues-Mortes
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

extremely helpful staff (nothing was too much trouble)and pleasant atmosphere ,good breakfast
quiet. It is a nice walk to the old town and away from the general rush and bustle
rooms light and airy -able to open windows so no need for air conditioning

Room Tip: room was fine (second floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivienne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    213
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
78
372
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We found the hotel on-line. When we got to Aigues-Mortes the hotel was very easy to find and brilliantly positioned. Very close to the beautiful old town. It doesn't look much from the road but inside the hotel is excellent. It is worth asking for a room overlooking the canal. The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. Room very comfortable. Good shower. Delicious breakfast and much better value than some we've had!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This hotel's strength is its service. Wow. I believe there were 3 or 4 people who rotated duty in the office/behind the desk, and they all were fabulous. Upon our arrival, they gave us maps and a detailed restaurant guide. Whenever we saw them, they were always ready to help us with anything and were very pleasant to chat with (in French or in English!).
The road-facing side of the hotel almost seems easy to miss, but the back side facing the canal is very quiet and probably gorgeous in the summer. The old city is a 5-10 minute walk up the canal and across a bridge--very doable. The hotel itself is decorated modernly but tastefully, and the rooms we had were medium-sized. Breakfast was quite good as well. (Also, a little note: each room apparently is allowed a complimentary water bottle each night. My mother and I went to the fridge on the bottom floor to get one for later in the day, and it turned out to be an entire liter of water, which basically lasted us for the rest of our trip!)
All in all, a great choice for a brief stay in Aigues-Mortes.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mck234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

We chose Hotel Canal as a one night stopover on our way from Perpignan to Nice. The hotel has easy parking out the front and is a convenient 10 minute walk to the walled city. Our room was comfortable and clean- though on the small side as our bags didn't easily fit! We thought the breakfast was a little overpriced for what we received but over all good value for what we were after.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Aigues-Mortes is a great place to visit and the Hotel Canal ideally placed to explore it - easy to find,outside town with free parking and only a short walk along the canal bank to the City walls.
It was great value for money - our room was small but well equipped , the reception staff helpful and well informed and the breakfast was really lovely.

Room Tip: We had the cheapest Urban room which overlooked the road but for 1 night it was great and we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here for one night in mid-September 2012 and really enjoyed ourselves. The hotel is definitely not flashy, but is very clean and comfortable and is in a nice location beside the canal. We found it good value for money. It also has a nice swimming pool and an outdoor terrace for breakfast/drinks etc. It's an easy walk to the walled village from the hotel and the receptionist, Beatrice, is an absolute delight. She gave us some good ideas for things to do while we were there and for restaurants, as well as making the bookings for us. Nothing was every too much trouble. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PippaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This hotel was easy to find. As we approached Aigues-Mortes, we drove slowly on D979 “route de Nimes”, and saw large signs indicating the hotel location. We parked in front of the hotel. Then, walking out the back door, the walled town is 10 minute walk, walking along the canal, and across a bridge. I chose this hotel because I didn’t want to drive into a small walled city, and deal with the difficult maneuvering. So the Hotel Canal was a good fit for us, easy parking and a quick walk to the old city. The hotel has no lift, but the proprietor helped with one suitcase. We had booked a large room, with a small and adequate bathroom with a shower, and toilet compartment. Because we stayed only one night, we didn’t sit on the terrace, or use the plunge pool. Breakfast included a large selection of items, good coffee and pastries, as well as cheese. The proprietors are kind, and willing to help with information about the area. This hotel is a good choice

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aigues-Mortes
0.6 mi away
Villa Mazarin
Villa Mazarin
#2 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des 4 Vents
Hotel des 4 Vents
#3 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Mas Des Sables
Le Mas Des Sables
#4 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Arcades
Les Arcades
#10 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
5.1 mi away
L'Oustau Camarguen
L'Oustau Camarguen
#1 of 4 in Port Camargue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal

Property: Hotel Canal
Address: 440 route de Nimes, 30220, Aigues-Mortes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Aigues-Mortes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aigues-Mortes
#1 Family Hotel in Aigues-Mortes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aigues-Mortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Canal is the hotel of contemporary charm of Aigues-Mortes. This boutique hotel with three stars consists of twenty five air conditioned rooms. Modern, friendly, with a relaxed atmosphere, originally built in the 1950's, Hotel Canal has been lovingly restored with a contemporary feel, for its reopening in 2005. Hotel Canal is located on the banks of the canal, which can be seen from its panoramic terrace and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Aigues Mortes
Canal Aigues Mortes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing