We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful, welcoming hotel, great location too” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Canal
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Aigues-Mortes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“wonderful, welcoming hotel, great location too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I went with my boyfriend for a 4 day stay. The hotel is wonderfully located and gave as a great chance to enjoy the lovely town of Aigues Mortes, both in the day time and at night. I am a light sleeper but I slept perfectly here which was wonderful. The breakfast was delicious and it was so nice to have it al fresco. Although we went mostly to the beach, the swimming pool was a nice treat too. The service was really good and if we needed any advice on what to do or where to go, there was plenty of friendly and helpful advice, whether it was places of interest, things going on in the town, restaurants etc. This region is lovely with plenty of things to do and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel as a place from which to enjoy everything. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paola g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    210
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
77
365
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed twice at this hotel and have mixed feelings about it.

The hotel is well located at walking distance from the centre of Aigues Mortes. You can park easily. The hotel overlooks the canal. The breakfast is taken outside and is pleasant.

The rooms are basic and small (ibis standard). It is acceptable when you pay the basic rate for a standard room (our first stay in urban room) but overpriced for a superior room (our second stay in May 2013 in Suez room).We felt that 134 Euros with breakfast for a small room, with no charm was too much.

An important point as this hotel is located close to the beaches, we wanted to enjoy our last afternoon at the beach after checking out. We asked if we could shower when returning from the beach before taking our train to Paris. This is a standard facility in seaside resorts hotels. Unfortunately we found out it was a bit of a problem, the receptionist who is the owner explained they did not have a shower for guests and he was not sure that we could use one of the rooms even if the hotel was not fully booked that night. He suggested we use the garden hose instead! We were shocked, as you can imagine. I guess (and hope) he noticed how his suggestion was unacceptable, he then came up with another brilliant idea which was to call or pop in later when returning from the beach to see if a room was available and had not been cleaned yet (always great to shower in a dirty place) so we could use it, on top of that he added that he could not guarantee it! We felt that as soon as you have paid your bill you are not a customer any longer. Definitely not a 3 stars hotel service !!!
Not sure we will come back, next time we will try another hotel in the area...

Room Tip: not worth booking a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fredandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0TEL_CANAL, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Canal, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Google Translation
Monsieur,


L'Hotel Canal de votre seconde nuitée, n'est pas l'hôtel de la plage dont vous rêviez ... nous sommes sincèrement chagrinés de votre insatisfaction.

En pleine haute saison, je trouve enfin le temps de répondre à votre commentaire, écrit début juillet près de deux mois après votre trop court passage d'une nuit dans notre hôtel, lors du grand weekend de l'Ascension le samedi 11 mai 2013. La langue française étant votre langue native et la langue pratiquée lors de votre séjour, je trouve plus judicieux de vous répondre en français, sans doute plus subtile afin d'apporter les réponses les plus adéquates à votre terrible insatisfaction. Je pourrais bien sûr à votre demande vous l'adresser en anglais.

Nous serons donc au grand regret de ne plus pouvoir vous considérer parmi nos clients occasionnels d'une nuitée, aux pics saison. Nous vous offrions pourtant la possibilité, comme à l'ensemble de nos hôtes d'annuler ou de modifier vos dates, en dernière minute sans pénalités, au grès d'une météo souvent capricieuse elle aussi. Vous aviez d'ailleurs pu jouir de cette liberté tout au long de ce long weekend de printemps si changeant, arbitrant votre nuit l'avant veille de votre arrivée du mercredi au samedi. L'hôtel étant alors complet par des séjours de 3/4 nuits, nous avons alors réussi à repositionner votre nuit dans la dernière chambre de gamme Suez que vous aviez sélectionné, encore disponible ce samedi là, côté canal croyant vous satisfaire mais de fait plus petite que la chambre catégorie côté rue que vous aviez occupée lors de votre première nuit au cœur du mois d'août un an avant. Ce ne fut manifestement pas le cas, pourquoi ne pas nous l'avoir formulé à votre départ ? Temps que nous accordons toujours à une parole ouverte et sincère, attentifs aux remarques afin d'améliorer notre qualité de service !

Votre comparaison avec l'hôtellerie de la chaine Ibis, si judicieuse pour les français doit être cependant moins pertinente pour un commentaire publié en anglais dans la version internationale de Tripadvisor. Votre comparaison cependant nous flatte de par la baseline à minima usitée par cette chaine "la qualité au meilleur prix". Cela démontre au moins que vous savez aussi fréquenter ce type d'hôtel. Je vous invite cependant à réitérer cette fréquentation, cela vous permettra de valider définitivement leur positionnement prix à leurs pics saison ... plus élevé que ceux pratiqué au sein de notre hôtel un long weekend d'Ascension. Mais les prix comme les couleurs sont aussi question de subjectivité personnelle.

Vous m'offrez l'occasion par cette longue vindicte publique de reformuler les valeurs qui selon notre clientèle nous distingue d'une hôtellerie considérée parfois comme plus impersonnelle, fondée sur des seuls critères de profitabilité ! Les valeurs auxquelles aspirent chaque membre de l'équipe Hotel Canal sont plus subtiles mais au combien plus attendues par nos hôtes : Accueil, Bienveillance, Liberté, Sincérité, Echange ... bref les valeurs humanistes de l'Honnête homme ... et qui doivent vous sembler quelque peu désuètes. Chacun son chemin. C'est là au final la raison sans doute pour laquelle votre post nous blesse, car tant contraire à ce que nous nous proposons d'offrir chaque jour à notre clientèle ... et qui nous le rend à chacun de ses séjours et commentaires. Nous ne nous sommes pas compris, il n'y a donc pas mésentente mais simple méprise !

Car c'est au nom de ces valeurs que j'ai tenté, tel que vous le soulignez par tous les moyens jusqu'à celui de vous rappeler sur la plage tel que convenu à votre départ, de trouver une solution à votre demande impérieuse "de disposer de la possibilité au retour éventuel de la plage de l'Espiguette et malgré le détour occasionné, de prendre une douche fraiche avant de reprendre votre train prévu en fin d'après-midi à Montpellier". Il m'était difficile de répondre sur le champ à cette requête formulée à 13h après votre check out, alors que votre chambre avait été mise à blanc par nos femmes de chambre, qui avaient fini leur service et que l'hôtel était attendu complet le soir même.

Enfin, votre méprise sur mon statut réel au sein de l'Hotel Canal, simple salarié collaborateur, est là encore perçu comme un compliment par l'ensemble de l'équipe, puisqu’il marque l'engagement de chacun d'entre nous à satisfaire au mieux les attentes et les espérances, nombreuses et variées de nos hôtes, dans la mesure bien sûr de nos moyens et de notre réalité. Je vous invite lors d'une pareille mésaventure à tenter d'exprimer plus clairement votre ressentiment dans le Respect, la Bienveillance, la Sincérité, de personnes à votre service !

Vous m'offrez là aussi l'occasion de souligner que nous sommes un Hôtel de Tourisme et non un Hôtel de plage tel que vous le laissez entendre. Et qu'en alternative à l'Espiguette la sauvage, tel que je vous l'avais alors indiqué, vous disposiez de nombreuses plages privées correspondant à votre standing souhaité. Je me suis même proposé à les appeler si vous le souhaitiez.

Je mets votre colère blessée sur le compte d'une incompréhension et d'une méprise dans ma communication. Son intensité me semble disproportionnée ayant les apparences de vous avoir offusqué au plus haut point ... pour vous avoir tant fort occupé l'esprit durant deux longs mois ! J'en suis désolé et je vous présente toutes mes excuses. Vous en voici à présent débarrassé. Bel été à vous.

Cordialement

Jacques Galliot
collaborateur salarié de l’équipe Hotel Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carcassonne, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed here for one night and booked this hotel based on reviews from others. We weren't disappointed. The hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. A 10 minute walk to the centre of Aigues Mortes. We ate at Boem restaurant very near to the hotel - it was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneS11800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempten, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

visited the hotel now for the second time. The people are very friendly, it's clean and the location is fantastic with only 5 minutes walk to trhe city center. There is a own small pool where you can fresh yourselve after the day in the hot south french sun.
Breakfast is typicaly french so the variety of thinks are not so big but the quality is very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ornex, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel is well-situated and is within easy walking distance of Aigues Mortes. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast - with freshly-made croissants, pastries and fruit salad - is delicious. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: The rooms on the canal side are quiet with a very pleasant view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolandRick1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

extremely helpful staff (nothing was too much trouble)and pleasant atmosphere ,good breakfast
quiet. It is a nice walk to the old town and away from the general rush and bustle
rooms light and airy -able to open windows so no need for air conditioning

Room Tip: room was fine (second floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivienne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We found the hotel on-line. When we got to Aigues-Mortes the hotel was very easy to find and brilliantly positioned. Very close to the beautiful old town. It doesn't look much from the road but inside the hotel is excellent. It is worth asking for a room overlooking the canal. The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. Room very comfortable. Good shower. Delicious breakfast and much better value than some we've had!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aigues-Mortes hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Mazarin
Villa Mazarin
#2 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des 4 Vents
Hotel des 4 Vents
#3 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Mas Des Sables
Le Mas Des Sables
#4 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Arcades
Les Arcades
#7 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chez Carriere
Hotel Chez Carriere
#6 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal

Property: Hotel Canal
Address: 440 route de Nimes, 30220, Aigues-Mortes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Aigues-Mortes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aigues-Mortes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aigues-Mortes
#1 Family Hotel in Aigues-Mortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Canal is the hotel of contemporary charm of Aigues-Mortes. This boutique hotel with three stars consists of twenty five air conditioned rooms. Modern, friendly, with a relaxed atmosphere, originally built in the 1950's, Hotel Canal has been lovingly restored with a contemporary feel, for its reopening in 2005. Hotel Canal is located on the banks of the canal, which can be seen from its panoramic terrace and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, HRS, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Aigues Mortes
Canal Aigues Mortes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing