We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Mazarin
Nearby Hotels
Le Mas Des Sables(Aigues-Mortes)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Aigues-Mortes)
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Medieval(Aigues-Mortes)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel des 4 Vents(Aigues-Mortes)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lou Garbin(Saint-Laurent-d'Aigouze)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Chez Carriere(Aigues-Mortes)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Canal(Aigues-Mortes)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel des Croisades(Aigues-Mortes)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Saint-Louis(Aigues-Mortes)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveller rating
331
151
45
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
151
45
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelrooms are largecar parkold buildinghotel garagenice roomwalled citywithin the wallsswimming pooljunior suitecroissantsinternal courtyardreturn visitduring summerdining room isan alternativemini gym
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 550 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a charming, chic hotel within the old ramparts of Aigues-Mortes. Very well located on a principal street, but delightfully quiet and calm. Easy to find with GPS, although it is not absolutely essential to use new tech. Secure underground parking is available for a reasonable fee - this eliminates the hassle of finding on-street parking or public lots.

We stayed 2 nights to begin our tour of southern France. This is a gem of a place: peaceful, clean, and very welcoming. Staff is excellent: friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Many thanks to Marine, David, and Fabien: they are great people and were flexible with our schedule, allowing late checkout and even upgrading our rooms.

Beautiful architecture, typical of the region and history, and very nicely restored. The garden is very soothing, with 3 old trees providing shade and a pleasant ambience. There is a pool just to one side of the garden, well-maintained and relaxing, and the restaurant also looks out onto the garden.

The rooms were spacious, clean, and quiet. Ours looked out over the garden: we were given 2 rooms, not adjoining, but instead enclosed within 1 central door. Nice for a grown-up family: we all had more than enough space! Everyone slept very well - no disturbance in any way.

Excellent location vis-a-vis access to the old town. We easily walked everywhere and found bakeries, restaurants, shops within minutes of the hotel. We will definitely return to this hotel in the near future and spend a few more nights. Highly recommended for couples or families with older children.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Syed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This place is inside city walls and besides the wonderful location , it is a really charming place to stay. It is classy building in the heart of the town with beautiful architecture . The ambience take you to the tradition of the region, with classical paintings and furniture but in a light style. The roof of the restaurant is made of glass and one can have a wonderful breakfast and dinner experience. The room I stayed opened to a courtyard with a nice garden. The room was comfortable and spacious. For the night you can eat at the restaurant or just walk a little bit to find nice places around. There is also a small but nice spa with hot tub and sauna. Price was fair for the quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ariane2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in mid March. Unfortunately this was on a Monday and Tuesday so weren't able to use the restaurant (closed!). Not sure if this arrangement is out of season only?. Hotel is very well appointed with the room we stayed in (standard) very comfortable with huge bathroom. Shower also very good.Extras (Clarins!) also very welcome. My wife utilised the swimmimg pool whenever possible and voted it one of the best hotel pools she had been to. We did get locked in our room on one occasion due to the door handle falling off but this was quickly resolved!. Breakfast, although fresh with lots of bits and pieces, was a bit on the expensive side (14 euros).
Parking was no problem and as long as you get the right gate into Aigues Mortes (aim left as you hit the town) then the hotel is easy to find.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PADW2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We spent 2 nights at Villa Mazarin in September 2013. Lovely building and very nice room and not noisy even though it was at the front of the hotel. Lovely town to visit, close to the Camargue and easy to visit Nimes for the day too. We were lucky to hit the "bull running" weekend (which was very interesting to watch for a short time) but if you want to go out of town you have to make sure you get the car out fairly early. Very nice buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenEA42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at the Villa Mazarin for one night whilst on a touring holiday in France. The hotel is located inside the town walls and is not the easiest to find, but this is partly because of the restricted vehicular access to the town. I parked our car to the south outside the walls and located the hotel on foot – not without some difficulty. It’s on Blvd Gambetta in the south-eastern quadrant of the town – the street in which the police station is located at the north end. L’accueil was efficient enough and was manned by David and Fabian. We had booked a superior room, which was located on the second floor (UK terminology). We successfully found the hotel in the car and took the car round to the garage, having left our bags at the reception. Matters then became slightly bizarre. We were met in the garage by David who insisted on showing us the pool. I pointed out that we didn’t actually come to Aigues-Mortes or France to use hotel pools and did not have swimming costumes. He suggested going into the town and buying them. We were then shown the restaurant ‘where we would eat our buffet breakfast’.

Our luggage had been placed in our bedroom which was large, pleasantly though somewhat sparsely furnished, and perfectly satisfactory. The bathroom with its large and powerful shower was likewise. Thereafter, we ventured into the town taking a trip along the spectacular walls. On leaving the hotel, we were shown in great detail how to gain access to the hotel ‘after-hours’, though this was not particularly involved. On returning to the hotel having made a small purchase, David met us again and, seeing I was carrying a plastic bag, asked me whether we had purchased swimming costumes. This became a somewhat general theme during our stay with our hosts being rather over-solicitous. Now, I am sure that many find this type of approach to be something that they welcome, but we found it as if we were being ‘observed’ the whole time, something which made us slightly uneasy. We had experienced this type of ambiance at another hotel in France (I won’t say which) on a previous trip and again found it unsettling.

We had considered dining in the restaurant but neither the set menu nor the à-la-carte menu offered anything that enticed us, and we ate alfresco on the central square. The restaurant itself is slightly old fashioned and, when we returned to the hotel, struck us on a brief inspection as being somewhat 'lifeless'.

On the following morning, we crept out of the hotel in order not to be seen and dragooned into the hotel restaurant for breakfast in order to eat on the square. We rarely eat the hotel breakfasts in France as they tend (a) not to be included in the price of the room (b) to be expensive and (c) to be over-elaborate for us. We prefer to go to a local café for croissants and coffee. Returning to the hotel, I tried gain access to the garage to check my car in the hope that I would not be ‘spotted’. I was unsuccessful and Fabian insisted on guiding me to the garage. We subsequently packed the car and then left as quickly as we could.

In summary, this would be an attractive and convenient place to stay inside the town walls, but we found our hosts to be over-solicitous and over-bearing. Others will undoubtedly find the service attractive and welcoming, as can be seen from other reviews. Maybe we are just 'odd' but we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MADPhilOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews