We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Au Domisiladore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Au Domisiladore
Ranked #6 of 59 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in Carcassonne for 2 nights, it was a very lovely place and we had the room on the top floor with an amazing view of the La Cite! It was spacious and very modern. Great selection of breakfast! We had trouble with strike action of our flight so we arrived in Carcassonne fairly late- 11:30pm. Joel waited up for us to let us in which was very kind of him- we were very grateful. He was also very knowledgeable, pointed us to great food and great sights. we really enjoyed his hospitality. Would return in a heart beat!

Room Tip: The Jazz Room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachshyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    48
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
68
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This B&B is just amazing. We had the Jazz room on he top floor with breathtaking views over La Cité & the beautiful oasis which is Joel's garden. Great breakfast every morning in the garden room, fresh breads, different preserves every morning, cheeses, fruit, juices great coffee & an array of teas to choose from. Joel was a first class host, very charming & very helpful & kind with information about the area & transport etc. On the day, we were leaving for the airport we asked him to order a taxi for us, but instead he decided he would bring us, he was amazing. Overall a great holiday thanks in no small way to Joel & his wonderful home which is Au Domisiladore. Thank you so much Joel. Anne & Robert.

Room Tip: JAZZ ROOM, amazing views from both the front & back windows, but there are around 60 steps to cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Good service. Friendly host good breakfast. Large room on top floor with super view of the castle. 15-20 min walk to castle. Pkenty of parking locally Worth a visit for something different. Would stay again .

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Thank you Joel for ensuring a lovely stay. This little b&b is managed by the very helpful Joel, who also provides a nice breakfast should you require, and many helpful tips for the city. Parking is located directly outside, there is a lovely little garden, very peaceful. The rooms are all fairly different as far as we saw, and ours was basic but had everything that we needed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mich13uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have recently returned from 3 days at this B and B in Carcassonne and can only say that the photos on the website and the reviews are totally misleading!
You can see from other reviews that we have put on here that we are not nit-picking type of people but feel that we must agree with those people who have rated the property poor.
We were met by the manager Joel who took us up to the yellow room. We were totally dismayed at the state of it. Mismatched furniture which was badly damaged and years old. We don't mind old furniture if it has been cared for but this was beyond redemption. The bed seemed clean enough though so this was a brownie point! The en-suite bathroom had definitely seen far better days. None of the sanitary wear matched and the tiles were old and cracked and the pipework looked dangerous. There was plenty of hot water when we braved the shower cubicle. On our arrival Joel gave us two towels of indeterminate colour , one of which was frayed and threadbare. Again something we had to brave !
Downstairs there was a small kitchen area to use if you brought your own food in but , to be honest, we wouldn't have liked to use any of the jumble sale type crockery and cutlery available.
In the dining room next to this area there was a filthy old cloth in a sink there, very off-putting.
Breakfast was served in a green house in the courtyard garden. As mentioned by another reviewer, the chairs were very rickety and uncomfortable. Breakfast consisted of tiny slices of brown or white bread, cereal in a jar (no milk to serve with it), small pains au chocolat and croissants, hard boiled eggs, ham and some very dubious looking pieces of fruit. The coffee was good though which was a plus.
The house was not too clean and in our three days there our bins weren't emptied so were a bit smelly in the heat as you can imagine !
The house is about a 30 minute walk to the old city of Carcassonne and we were told by Joel that there is no bus service available. There are a few restaurants in the area , apart from the old city, and we can recommend Brasserie La Plantanes.
The house needs a lot of TLC. We have stayed in old houses of this type before and they have been wonderfully and sympathetically done up and have been stunning and this is what this house needs. Definitely some investment required. Carcassonne is a wonderful place to visit but we would recommend that you find somewhere else to stay. There are a lot of places around that would be much better. We were swayed by the good reviews on here but just cannot understand why they have been written !

Room Tip: Avoid the yellow room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Easily located house just on the outskirts of town away from the Medieval City, approx. 10mins walk to get right into the centre of town, a 10minute walk to the train station and about 15minutes to get to the bridge that leads to the Medieval City.

The Host, Joel is very friendly. He offered us excellent advice on places to eat, trips to go on (the train to Quillan only €1 each way!) and is usually around if you want help or advice.

The room we stayed in was lovely, The Red Room on the Second Floor (twin). The location is quiet as is the B&B generally as people are split over various floors.

Breakfast is great and I would definitely recommend especially as it's only €5! As much brioche, pain au chocolate, croissants, ham, cheese, bread, jam, yoghurt and fruit as you can manage. Oh and massive cups of coffee (or tea I presume) which was very tasty,

A nice back garden you can chill out in if you are hanging around and have time to relax.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had The Red Room on the Second Floor that looks over the front of the house. The road out the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Au Domisiladore is located approximately 10 mins walk from the train station. Everywhere of interest in Carcassonne is within a 30 minute easy walk. The building is an impressive old house in a primarily residential area, with high ceilings, spiral feature staircase and somewhat theatrical décor. We had a huge bedroom on the second floor which had views over the garden and greenhouse where breakfast is served in warmer days. Joel was chatty (in English) and made suggestions regarding restaurants in the area and offered advice regarding nearby villages and walks.

Our room was wonderful, the bed comfortable and the bathroom was bigger than some bedrooms we have stayed in, modern and not only had a bath, but a separate corner shower and windows with a view over the garden.

Breakfast was at a time to suit ourselves and in the dining room where there is a screened off kitchen area with a kettle and microwave should you wish. We were served yoghurt, fruit, ham cheese and bread washed down with juice, tea or coffee - which was replenished if requested.

Carcassonne has a lot of accommodation on offer, but Au Domisiladore deserves serious consideration. It was slightly tired and outdated, but nothing major, and overall it has a nice feel to it and we would revisit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siand33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
618 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
418 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Domisiladore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Domisiladore

Property: Au Domisiladore
Address: 19 boulevard Marcou, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of carcassonne , just 5 minutes to shop , 10 minutes by walk to the railway station , and 15 minutes by walk to the castle of carcassonne , and 15 by car to the airport ,5 bedrooms with shower and wc breakfast include in a house between to gardens on 3 level in carcassonne ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Au Domisiladore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing