We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything We Needed for Short Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Octroi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Octroi
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Bermuda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything We Needed for Short Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We only stayed in the hotel for one night as we were just passing through Carcassonne. We were immediately impressed by the welcome from reception and happy to be offered a safe place to park our car. The room and bathroom were clean and modern. We'd been traveling around Spain and France for 2 weeks and this shower had the best water pressure! The location is great - easy walking to the medieval city. We didn't have enough time to take advantage of the amenities at the sister hotel (restaurant, spa, etc.) but would have enjoyed that if staying longer - it is just around the corner. It seems other people found issue with the breakfast so it's worth mentioning I found it perfectly acceptable. The beverage selection was great as was the fresh bread and cheese and ham plate. Yogurt and pastries were also on offer. All in all I think this hotel is perfect for a short trip. It doesn't have the 'frills' of higher starred hotels but it doesn't have the higher price tag either. If you're looking for a comfortable place to rest after long days out having fun, this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IslandGal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    171
    78
    14
    15
See reviews for
114
181
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed her for 4 nights. Great location right below the fortress. A quick 5 minute walk will get you to the fortress. Located on the mail street in Carcassonne and was easy to find. Rooms are small but clean and the beds very comfortable. Did not have breakfast, so cannot comment on that. Staff friendly and very helpful. Would stay again for the location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanna661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
181 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel in August 2011.
It is very near to the Citè and you can reach it walking five minutes.
It is on a very big road with a lot of traffic but our room (that was on the street) was absolutely quite.
You can both use the public car park in front of the hotel or the private one behind it (we chose this solution).

The whole hotel has very modern furniture and near the reception there is the breakfast room.
People at the reception can speak French but also English and Spanish.
The main problem is that there is not the lifter but you can transport the luggage to the first floor using the back door.

The room was clean but very small and there was very few place for the luggage.
The bathroom was very clean and seemed to be new but it was absolutely small! Two people can move inside it with some difficulties!

However, in particular for the strategic position, it was a not expensive solution to spend some days in Carcassonne.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navigator78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Booked two rooms for one night stay while visiting Carcassonne. Reception was very welcome and supportive (offered 3-4 languages to speak on our choice), had overnight car park, lovely and full breakfast. Room is quite smallish, but you get exactly what is expected and even more, clean, really close to the castle. There were quite a lot of people in the hotel. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrey_moscow_russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

I stayed in a 'Deluxe' room, which was large and comfortable (once I'd hiked the temperature up a bit - controllable within the room, but had been left on a very cool temp during days of rain...). Bed was really comfortable, everything very clean, and staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.

But despite previous reviews, I made the mistake of paying for breakfast - ridiculously overpriced for a small pot of (good) local yoghurt, juice, tea and 3-day old mass-produced pastries - really not good enough. I'd recommend staying here, but you'll get a much better breakfast just over the road.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catcake87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Location in Carcassonne was very convenient for exploring both the City and the surrounding countryside. Although it was located on a busy road and we were in a road-facing room, the traffic noise didn't bother us. I booked a triple room as we like to have the luxury of an extra bed and although this reduced the amount of space in the room, there was still ample and space was certainly generous by French standards. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel was clean and modern and had a nice ambiance. We didn't use the leisure facilities nor did we have the breakfast, preferring instead to eat out every day. Parking was €15 per night at the hotel, but we found free on-street parking nearby, so keep this in mind if you have a car. All in all, the hotel is probably at the upper end of the two star segment and I would have no hesitation in recommending it for a stay in Carcassonne.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Instead of two rooms they put us in a suite with two rooms but the walls were thin, the door to the room didnt latch right the door to the patio to get to the room didnt open right and sometimes didnt work. The wireless signal was not strong enough to reach the suites so any email correspondence had to be done in the lobby or the stairwell. Overall not what i was expecting and not the quality i expected for the quite high price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuromaru1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Octroi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Octroi

Property: Hotel Octroi
Address: 143 rue Trivalle, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Octroi 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well situated at 300 meters from the Carcassonne medieval castle entrance. It offert you 23 contemporary bedrooms. AC ans private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Octroi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Octroi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing