We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the cyclists”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for the cyclists”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This hotel suited our needs perfectly. We cycled the canal du Midi from Toulouse to the Med. and back. Its location is great , only 100 metres from the canal and the owners were really helpful. Both spoke English well and were only too pleased to answer any questions we had. The rooms we had were adequate for our overnight stays, but in the hottest part of the summer we would advise paying extra for the air con. The breakfast was typically french which one would expect. If anything could be improved?. Well maybe a better selection of cereals and a stronger tea selection. All in all a sensible and convenient place to stay for the touring cyclist. The advantage of having a really safe place to leave your bike was a bonus.

Room Tip: we had rooms in the annexe so cannot comment about other room selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donuttaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    134
    74
    17
    9
See reviews for
54
160
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel while traveling through southeastern France by train. It was easy to walk to from the train station and the staff was wonderful. It's located beside a charming canal. My husband ran along it while I biked along side. I rented the bike from the hotel. They had a bunch of bikes and equipment. From what I could tell it seemed like a popular stop for people biking around the region. We stayed in a small room with an en suite shower but if my memory serves me right, the toilet was shared in the hallway. It was a cozy room. We were able to walk to the walled city about 1-2 miles away. I think March is probably a good time to go. There were very few tourists compared to stories we've heard.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enceladus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Not very good value for money, though the room was an ok size and clean. The shower holder was broken and kept falling down, and the room was noisy as it was right by the door in the annex. The location is good, right by the train station, but a good 15-20 minute walk to the old city. The room was very spartan, only one small towel each, and no extra bedding - all in all, disappointed with the stay.

Room Tip: Perhaps try and get a room in the main building and not in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitze87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

The new proprietor is welcoming, friendly and helpful. Value for money is ok. Personally, I prefer more comforts but I would certainly stay at The Astoria again if I had to be in central Carcassonne.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toulousian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

This is definitely no frills. It was small but clean. I was near the train line but we could not hear anything from our room. It was about a 20 minute walk from the medieval town of Carcassonne, and not one that you would want to do at night. It was a reasonable tariff of 64 euro per night including parking.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scootertt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#30 of 39 in Carcassonne
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#20 of 39 in Carcassonne
119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
#15 of 39 in Carcassonne
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
1.7 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
2.2 mi away
Hotel l'Etoile
Hotel l'Etoile
#26 of 39 in Carcassonne
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: 18 rue Tourtel, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astoria 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing