We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This little hotel tries to be between a hotel and a guest house. It would benefit from having a couple of machines to dispense coffee and drinks rather than wait for a hotel host to appear. Also prices for these commodities are a little steep. The room was a little small for a double room, also it faced the street and was quite noisy. However, it was very pleasant, clean and safe. The hosts were were friendly and helpful. Had it been a guest house it would have benefited from a small kettle and coffee/tea in the room as pricing the breakfast at €8 was disproportionate to this type of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank MartineK435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astoriacarcassonne, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
We are very glad you apreciated the comfort and cleanliness of our hôtel, and the guest house atmosphere. The coffee machine and the vending machine are at your disposal, and self-service. We also have kettles available on request.
What a pity you have not tested the breakfast that offers choice and variety of local products labeled "Cathar Country"
rolls and croissants, artisan, four varieties of honey, fresh fruit, cheese, ham, cereal, applesauce, yogurt, chocolate, jams, teas, coffee and juice. All at will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    135
    75
    19
    9
See reviews for
55
163
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This hotel is literally 2 blocks from the train station (across the river). Our room was typically small. The bathroom had a shower. The ceiling fan provided a pleasant wind on the warm night. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is about a 30 minute walk from the Fortress of Carcassone. There are several restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk. We stayed only 1 night in Carcassone and dined at Chez Fred (very good!). The couple running the hotel speak excellent English. There is no pool of fitness center. The breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATRICK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astoriacarcassonne, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
we are very glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and that our advises were useful to you. We attach great importance to the variety and quality of products of the breakfast, and we are delighted that you have apreciated.
thanks for your comment that can make us improve.
kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Very close to train station and the canal, which is perfect for arrival. Short walk into town centre for cafes, shops etc. It took us about 30 minutes to walk from hotel to the castle, but it was a nice walk, stopping for photos etc. We went there across the old bridge, and back across the new bridge, so we could get good photos.

The hotel itself is clean, has hairdryer, free wifi, and rooms are spacious. Owner spoke English and Spanish. Windows are good at keeping out noise, you wouldn't want to sleep with them open, as those trains passing are loud! We booked own shower, with shared toilet, which was fine (shared between 3 rooms), but weird thing was that there was no sink at all in the toilet room, so to wash your hands, you have to go back into your bedroom. I'd hate to think about all the bacteria on those door handles!

Only one pillow each, and not very big either, I used my T-shirt for extra support.

We did not have breakfast as we find that it seems expensive for what is on offer, but then I get that feeling with most small French hotels I've stayed in. For 5 Euros, you can get a full meal in a kebab shop etc! Or you could buy some croissants and juice from Monoprix for a couple of Euros.

Location and price – recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimmyWs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I love this little hotel. It has a warm feel. It is immaculately clean and It is very convenient to all public transportation. A 2 minute walk from the train station. Perfect location! The couple that run it are lovely and lucky for me they spoke english. :) It is quiet, quaint and reasonably priced. They have solid wifi which is very important to me. I have stayed here on 3 different occasions and I am sure I will return. There is a really good pizzeria around the corner (certainly not NY Italian food but fine none the less) good salads. So I highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrolan8717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyville, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Bonjour Marc, Severine and Valentina!
We were very pleased with this hotel and couldn't have asked for more! It is in a great location- a short walk from the train station and the sights of the city. The owners are very kind, friendly and helpful- to include recommending local restaurants and taking care of our rental car. Our room (number 4) was comfortable, well kept and clean. We would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly choose it if we return to Carcassonne!
Sheri and Scott from Indiana, U.S.A.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carcassonne
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We flew in to Carcassonne and took bus into town. (5 euro each). It drops you at La Gare, the train station. Astoria is a 5 minute walk from here, just over the canal. Aeroport bus ticket covers you for the rest of the day. Astoria were very kind and let us leave our luggage during the day. The bus stop upto Medieval City is 5 mins walk away, 1 euro each if you didn't use bus service from Airport. Room was clean, bed was comfy. Noisy neighbourhood though. I sleep through most things but i was awoken during both nights, train line nearby causing most noise. Our room was front of building overlooking street. Night 1 we were woken in the early hours by the main light in the room flashing on and off of its own accord. Scary ! Lay in bed deciding whether to get up and turn on the light to investigate(or rather get Wifey to do it) when the light came on on its own.! Probably faulty switch because after turning everything on and off we had no further probs. Little bit more attention to detail would be good, for instance you have to hold shower head in one hand when showering because there isn't a flexible holder on the wall, i would normally make do but this annoyed me enough to mention it. Breakfast next morning was very good, bit expensive at 8euro each. We rented bikes from hotel, 6euro each per half day, well worth it. Hotel owners very helpful, and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank SimonBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012 via mobile

Our family of 3 stayed here for 1 night, and we were very happy. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms clean and tidy. Very helpful advice of locations to eat. Free car parking. We would stay here again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astoriacarcassonne, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
We are very glad you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for your kindness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#22 of 39 in Carcassonne
125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
#18 of 39 in Carcassonne
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#29 of 39 in Carcassonne
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
1.7 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
2.2 mi away
Hotel l'Etoile
Hotel l'Etoile
#27 of 39 in Carcassonne
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: 18 rue Tourtel, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Astoria 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing