We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful owners”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We were made most welcome. Our room was clean, quiet and cool and looked onto a side street that was not noisy. We had a good night's sleep. We had forgotten to print off our boarding passes and the owner was very helpful in doing this for us. He made us feel it was no bother to him! Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Overall a very good value hotel. Caroline and Richard

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astoriacarcassonne, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Caroline and Richard,

We are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay, and apreciated the breakfast. Also delighted to help you for the boarding pass.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

One runs out of superlative adjectives when it comes to trying to craft a description and a review of Séverine and Marc's splendid and cozy establishment cushioned right in the heart of beautiful, charming Carcassonne. Literally: there are too many fantastic things to say. Both Séverine and Marc went above and beyond what should be expected of a hotel management team when it comes to taking care of and looking after my wife and I and making sure our brief stay was as perfect and comfortable as possible, even going so far as storing some of our extra luggage in their back office because it would have been too arduous to lug it up the stairs, even going a little bit further in their kindness and welcoming spirit and allowing us to keep all of our bags in that same personal office after we checked out the next day so that my wife and I could do a little exploratory work throughout Carcassone and the Cité. Séverine and Marc's patience and openheartedness with our peculiar requests and supplications made our stay at L'Hôtel Astoria more memorable than any other hotel I can even remember.

The hotel itself was wonderful, with a nice spacious room and a comfortable bed to rest our heads with a refreshingly wide window adorned with functional wooden shutters that open up and bring in a terrific breeze when warm. Clean and sleek and easy on the eyes with rooms featuring flat-screen televisions (not that you have any business watching television in such a fun and fascinating little piece of French and Cathar history as Carcassonne, but still) and clean bathrooms and just a general overall ambience radiating from both the room and the hotel of an open-arms invitation to come in and settle down for a while; there's not a hearth or a fireplace with a roaring blast going, but it definitely feels that way. They offer a pretty tasty breakfast for around 8 euro that features a gamut of gastro options ranging from cheese, eggs, bread, coffee, cereal, croissants, etcetera and also have some local wine for sale downstairs in the lobby, all of which is presided over and carefully tended by either Séverine or Marc's attentive, warm, enthusiastic presence. Without a doubt, I easily felt at home and cared-for and appreciated as a guest at L'hôtel Astoria. In point of fact, I felt so at home and appreciated that I booked another stay with them right before I left because I knew my too-brief stay just wasn't enough, and we're looking forward to seeing everything again and experiencing such an incredible stay. Book this place immediately; regrets here are impossible.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connor d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astoriacarcassonne, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

hello Connor,
Yes it is true, you had a lot of luggage to store!! but it is always a pleasure for us to provide some help.
Séverine and I where very happy you had a great stay.
Looking foward to seeing you again.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We wanted a convenient place to lay our heads during a three night stay to visit Carcassonne; the hotel was clean and welcoming, the room was perfectly acceptable, the location good, and the patron and his wife could not be more helpful and kind. Altogether, an enjoyable place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Appreciative_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astoriacarcassonne, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Séverine and I, are very happy that you spent a pleasant stay among us and you apreciated our hotel
Hope to see you again
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This great little hotel is an easy walk from the train station and to the canal cruises.It is a nice 25 minute walk to the walled medieval castle. When you walk over the bridge look down for the beaver-like animals swimming with the ducks. There are lots of wonderful houses and bakeries etc along the way.The hotel staff are very helpful.The trains go past nearby but I could still have a good sleep.

Room Tip: I had a shower in my room but shared a toilet very close by and that was no problem at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muffetoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astoriacarcassonne, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

We are very glad you had a pleasant stay among us, and apreciated this beautiful city of Carcassonne.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

Average hotel but wonderful staff. English spoken well by the owner. The staf was pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. I was traveling with elderly parents so the lack of an elevator made it a bit difficult for them to make the two flights of stairs. It was a last minute reservation, and I forgot to ask about the location of the room or an elevator. There was not an air conditioner. It is close to the train station. We had a car and they did provide parking. Also, there is a wonderful
Italian restaurant l'italia less than a block away.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astoriacarcassonne, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

hello,

Yes it was a last minute reservation and it was not possible to give you a room one the ground floor with air conditionning. At this date the Hotel was complete. We would have been very happy to
give you another room. Apart from that, we are glad you had a good time and that you enjoyed the wine "Blanquette de Limoux" in your room.
kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Easy 5 min walk from train station - but check map first to avoid going round block twice. Owners very friendly and welcoming. We were in a twin room in the annex. Room was clean with all essentials. We had breakfast twice. Eight euros is quite a good deal - the lowest price that we paid in two weeks of French hotels - and there was a good selection of items to eat.
This is a good location for train travellers who want to be able to drop off their luggage quickly then walk unencumbered. As per other reviews it is about a twenty - thirty minute walk through the lower town, across the river and up the hill to the Cite. There is a bus Mon -Sat but only the tourist mini-train on Sunday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Very clean and comfortable. The couple managing the hotel were very pleasant and helpful with
suggestions. Perfect location. Within walking distance to train station. They have parking. But need to reserve a spot before arrival. I would stay here again. The breakfast offered was a little steep but was always very good and the coffee machine was awesome. Excellent cappuccinos. Worth the extra euros. They will also pack you a lunch to go. Good place to stay.

Room Tip: They have rooms with out bathrooms. Make sure you reserve the right room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hughesgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Hello,
thanks for this nice review.
we are very glad you apreciated the advantages and services we offer.
See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#20 of 39 in Carcassonne
138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
1.7 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel l'Etoile
Hotel l'Etoile
#27 of 39 in Carcassonne
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#29 of 39 in Carcassonne
139 reviews
1.7 mi away
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
#19 of 39 in Carcassonne
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: 18 rue Tourtel, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range: £34 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Astoria 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing