We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy we chose this lovely, friendly family-run hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very happy we chose this lovely, friendly family-run hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is a small family-run hotel and the proprieters Marc and Severine are the most charming and helpful you could wish for. I certainly have never stayed anywhere were the staff were even half as friendly as at the Astoria. We stayed in the annexe in a simply-equiped room (tv, fan, heating, hairdrier, wifi) with ensuite shower/toilet room. Everywhere is newly painted, functional, and super clean. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and of good quality. The hotel location could not be better: just a few hundred metres from the aeroport bus stop (the bus fare is just 5 Euros) and train station. The hotel is just one block from the Canal du Midi, two blocks from nearest square with its taxis, bars and restaurants (we had an excellent salmon dish and local rose wine at La Pergola restaurant on the corner of this square), five blocks from the main town square and seven blocks from the bridge leading to the castle. Oh, and the Astoria is very reasonably priced. Brilliant! If you want a short city break put this on your list. There are some really useful vids on YouTube about Carcassonne. Bon Voyage! [Peter and Martine, Southport, UK].

Absolutely nothing to dislike.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you Martine and Peter.
It was a real pleasure for us to welcom you, and we are very happy that you enjoyed our Hotel and our magnificent city of Carcassonne.
see you soon.
Séverine and Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    132
    72
    15
    9
See reviews for
51
158
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We didn't even have a reservation. I just showed up bc it was close to the train station. In a small street a bit away from the busy streets. Outside didn't look like much. Stayed in the annex. Room was very clean with modern furniture. Room size average for Europe. Private bath with AC. Could hear the trains go by but it didn't bother us much. Bed was comfy. Wifi didn't work in the room well. Had to go into the hall or stand in the bathroom. Staff was English speaking, helpful and very friendly. Wouldn't have a problem staying again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahyiweewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
197 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel is perfect. It is 5 minute walk from the train station right across the Canal Midi. There are signs on the road leading you from the train station. The staff/owners were very helpful and friendly. My room was in the annex of the hotel and right on the road. I thought this might be a problem but it really wasn't. I slept very well. I could hear cars and people however the street is quiet at night. The beds are comfortable and the rooms very clean. The hotel is about a 25 minute walk to the walled city and there are lots of cafes along the way. I stayed in the city until well after dark and had no concerns walking home by myself. The hotel serves a breakfast for 8€ which was quite good. Lots of variety - hard boiled eggs, yogurt, baguette, croissant, Nutella, cheeze, meats, coffee, tea, juice. The location for breakfast is not the prettiest as it is in the basement but really who cares. I would definitely recommend this location for anyone visiting Carcassonne it is not the fanciest of places but it is very well managed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaboda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel at the price point. The rooms are comfortable, if slightly small and most importantly, very clean ( given the price this can be an issue elsewhere). The patrons are very friendly and helpful. They speak excelent english (bonus as my french goes as far as how much and where is!). The hotel is located 3 minutes walk from the train station, where the excelent airport shuttlebus drops off, down a quiet side street. They send you a map by way of a PDF if you book on line, this is not however really necessary, as there as red sign posts directing you from the train station.The main street of the town is 3 minutes away also. You follow this to get to the medieval city about 25 minutes walk away. The good point of this is that you pass the cafes and restaurants on the way there and back. The way back is down hill ! Over all the only minor criticism I could make is that the showers have curtains not enclosures, which the power of the showers can overcome onto the bathroom floor, slightly. Not exactly a big problem. So highly recomended.

Room Tip: We chose a superior room in the annex based on other reviews on here. Given the limited extra cost t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thanks for this kind review. We are delighted you had a great stay in our Hotel, and it was also a pleasur for us to welcom you.
Thanks also for the minor criticism, wich will help us to improve the comfort.
Kind regards,
Séverine and Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Good price, good breakfast, friendly hosts. The room was clean and cute. If you are traveling by train the location is extremely convenient.... though be warned if you are arriving very early in the morning you may not be able to drop off your bags right away as reception does not open until 7 I believe.

My only complaint is that the bed slats on one of the two beds in our room were in need of replacement... they bowed significantly and made for an awkward night sleep.

Still a good deal for the money!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crechets, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great hotel for a quick stopover in Carcassonne. We stayed in a family room in an annexe with our three children. It was very clean and one of the best night sleeps I have had in a hotel and this is a budget hotel. Great location for The Cite just 10mins on foot, our kids did not complain about the walking. Breakfast was excellent, lovely bread and local honey, it was just very busy in the breakfast room so had to wait a while. Hosts charming, they looked after my son`s b day cake to stop it melting whilst we out in The Cite and let us keep our car for one more day with no extra charge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoopBagneresDeLuchon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for this kind review. We really apreciated to welcome you and are very glad that you had a pleasant stay.
Severine and Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Room was very quiet and clean. We were on the second floor which has a nice breeze. Weather was very hot yet the hotel had a fan we could use.
Slow Internet access.
Pleasant breakfast.
Easy walk to canal and historic city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonkeyNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#31 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#22 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
0.3 mi away
Au Royal Hotel
Au Royal Hotel
#36 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.7 mi away
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
#14 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: 18 rue Tourtel, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astoria 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing