We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value & very welcoming hosts”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This was the cheapest hotel we have stayed on our driving holiday around France. Even so, the staff at the hotel have been the friendliest and most helpful of our trip.

The rooms were very clean and perfectly adequate. We would definitely stay here again.

If you have the time, try tenting bikes from the hotel for €6 each and cycling down the canal to a nearby town. We really enjoyed it!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Yes we have a very good starting point to discover the canal du midi with our bikes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hosts went out of their way to be helpful in every way including speaking in English to us. Upon asking, we were given a very useful rundown of key sites to see and a great restaurant suggested for dinner which they then booked for us. Our car was able to be secured in a lock up garage overnight. Rooms were fairly basic. Breakfast was simple but very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Only one wi-fi device per room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pernel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for leaving this nice review on Hotel Astoria.
We are very satisfied you had a great stay, and that you appreciated all our recommendations.
We are going to change and improve our wifi system, on 1rst august 2014. All devices will be able to connect with high performance.
Take care,
Séverine and Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The owners, Marc and Severaine, are extremely welcoming and helpful - always a smile and ready for a conversation. We stayed for 4 nights, exploring the Cite and riding on the Midi canal trails. Our bicycles were kept in a locked garage. The room was basic, yet comfortable. Breakfast was substantial, and it was enjoyable to see other guests, many of whom were also cycling.Situated on the edge of the new town, it is an easy walk to the Cite.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for this kind review. We are happy you enjoyed theses 4 days in our Hotel, and also our local breakfast buffet.
Séverine and Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is close to station, easy to walk & well sign posted.My room was small, but adequate and very clean. The owner, Marc was very friendly and helpful. Hotel is about 20 minute walk to old city. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 162shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you Shirley.
We were very please to welcom you in our Hotel and happy you enjoyed the guided tours we recommended.
Take care,
Séverine and Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

For some reason many hotel's in France of this standard have shower curtains which don't make for a good shower, but that was a small issue. Marc and his wife were very accommodating and the breakfast was a fill your boots style buffet which is useful if you're about to cycle for a full day on the canal du midi. The room was clean and spacious enough for a two night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi Chris, We were happy to see you again after your 10 day trip on the canal du midi. Thank you for complimenting the breakfast. We also have bike rentals for 10€/ day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had booked the Astoria on the back of all the very positive reviews on Tripadvisor, plus the owners spoke English and the hotel was a very easy walk from the station. We knew when we booked that we had two different rooms for the two nights but this was not a problem.

We were expecting a 2* hotel but for the first night our room with facilities was in the annexe. We found it very basic with the ensuite quite cramped. Yes a good view of the back yard and garages plus the trains going past at regular intervals. Unfortunately the loo seat was broken and loose and the cleaner had missed something under the seat. It was easy to fix and clean ourselves so i didn't bother getting the owner back. Not a promising start.

Wifi worked well, we had a good sleep and the trains didn't seem to bother us. Only one group of people came into the annexe late and due to the nature of the annexe it was quite loud. In the morning the shower wouldn't stay up despite my efforts to fix it so I mentioned this to the owner. Due to the hotel being full when we came down to breakfast we were asked to sit in reception with a coffee for a while until a table was ready. When we ate breakfast I was a little put off as it didn't seem as though there was usually anything to cover the bread when you had to cut yourself a slice. The thought of everybody else holding the bread I was going to eat put me off somewhat. I was then rather choosy about what I ate.

Our next room was in the main building and felt a little more spacious, despite being slightly cheaper probably because there was no aircon. I imagine if we had been in that room for two nights I would have written a completely different review.

The owners were very friendly and helpful, but i feel we were unlucky on this visit. if you choose the Astoria I hope things go better for you.

Room Tip: Avoid the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for leaving a review. We are very sorry for these unexpected problems.
Yes, we had a large groupe on that day, and they were quite noisy. Unfortunatly, we can't do much about this if other people dont respect the sleep of other customers when they come back late.
Yes the loo seat was loose and we changed it the next day. We also changed the shower wich was broken.
When you decided to come for breakfast, all the noisy group was there and you had to wait 5mn. We offered you coffee to thank you for your patience.
We do the maximum to be helpfull and satisfy all our customers,
Sorry again, and happy that the next day was better.
Séverine and Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Really lovely experience at the Astoria. Hosts were great and the room was clean and bright. This is a good value for money hotel and served excellently as we cycled along the Canal du Midi. Good shower and not an issue that we did not have an ensuite toilet. We were aware of this before we went so was absolutely fine. Whilst there is no air conditioning, there is a ceiling fan which proved up to the job. The breakfast was 8 euros, which whilst was expensive compared to other places we stayed on our trip, was in fact the best breakfast we had. Unlimited hot and cold drinks, fresh fruit, yoghurt, fresh bread, cheese and meats. Also had croissants etc. This is also a great location, right near the train station and the Canal du midi. The medievil city is only a 10 minute bike ride away. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliontheisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for this kind review. We are happy you enjoyed the location of the lovely Hotel Astoria, and also the unlimited breakfast and all the choice.
Severine and Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#20 of 39 in Carcassonne
138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
1.7 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel l'Etoile
Hotel l'Etoile
#27 of 39 in Carcassonne
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#29 of 39 in Carcassonne
139 reviews
1.7 mi away
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
#19 of 39 in Carcassonne
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: 18 rue Tourtel, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range: £34 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Astoria 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing