We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cerise Carcassonne Sud
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed at the Cerise via Newmarket Holidays. Lovely apartment, roomy and comfortable. Well equiped kitchen. The apartment was spotlessly clean and well maintained. We had our towels changed daily along with it being cleaned. Quiet at night. Only five minutes walk from the citadel. Two boulangeries within a few minutes walk. Fifteen minutes to a hypermarket. Breakfast was fresh bread and pastries, ham, cheese, cereal, yoghourt, preserves & honey. Choice of beverages and fruit juice. English speaking staff all very pleasant and helpful. I would fully recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
There are newer reviews for Cerise Carcassonne Sud
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

In most cases, arriving to a hotel in France at 2:30 PM, you have a problem...!!! In the small cities you will find a note telling you the reception hours ( after 4:00 PM ) or a phone number to call and then ..... you get the same message. At Cerise it was different. The receptionist kindly opened the office door, checked what room is ready and after 10 minutes we enter our room.
Very large rooms, clean and well equipped. The breakfast was OK and across the street there is a store and a bakery to buy products for meals in the room. There is a pool in the hotel, other guest said it is OK. The hotel is close to the Old City.
Bottom line- excellent place to stay for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7625Gabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stayed here from September 28 to October 5 this year (2013). I had looked at a number of hotels in Carcassonne and this one appeared to be just what I was looking for. I was not disappointed. Everything was as claimed on the website. The apartment was well equipped, spotlessly clean and very comfortably furnished. La Cite is, at most, a 10 minute walk away, la Basse Ville 20 to 25 minutes walk away. I did not have breakfast here so cannot comment about the restaurant. The bakery over the road is excellent. It opened at 7 a.m. and closed at 8.30 p.m. and sold wonderful breads, pastries and savouries. There is a well stocked convenience store about 3 minutes walk away. Overall, this is an excellent place to stay. I must make particular mention of the staff who were unfailingly courteous and helpful, especially the charming young woman on reception whose name is, I think, Eloise. I thoroughly recommend Cerise Carcassonne.

Room Tip: In high summer a north facing room might be a good idea.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dixon94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We booked the Cerise because its apartment-style rooms could accommodate our group of three friends (twin plus sofa-bed) and it is close to the walls of the old city. It worked perfectly well in those respects - quite easy to find just off main road in from east, accessible without going through main city if you use the ring road. (Could announce itself more clearly - watch for flags outside Inter Hotel next door!) Ten minutes or less walk to gates of Cite. Rather odd site - large central parking area, two modern blocks either side and a rather shabby older building housing the reception in the corner (not very well identified). Very pleasant and helpful receptionist. Whatever you do, don't lose the gate code she will give you! The gates are shut after 8.30 pm.
The main part has a rather characterless, institutional feel. Rooms are reasonably spacious, if functional. Ours had a mini kitchen - two plate hob, microwave, coffeemaker, kettle, fridge, dishwasher, sink - so you could cook for yourself if necessary. (Small store 6/7 mins walk towards city on man road; boulangerie opposite) Washing up materials provided but coffee addicts would be advised to take filter papers - surely the hotel could provide a few of these?The dining table and chairs had to be shunted about to get into all cupboards.There's a balcony with seating.
The bathroom had good supply of towels and toiletries but no shower curtain so the place was awash after any use - strange! The separate toilet's extractor fan didn't work reliably.
Bedroom double glazing seemed quite effective, which matters on a site close to a main road.
There is a pool, available until 7pm but we didn't see it.
So, the Cerise did its job for us. I wouldn't recommend it for special breaks, romantic weekends etc. The budget conscious might find the higher cost than, say, Ibis Budget counterbalanced by the reasonable self-catering facilities (plus beer from the fridge on the balcony ...).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkingphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Located 5 mins from La Cite, this is a standard Aparthotel. Plenty of space in a one-bedroom apartment (beware lack of drawer space in room 126 as there is a water-tank in the wardrobe !) and well equipped
Not the prettiest of buildings but good value for money and secure. Rooms kept clean and tidy and "kitchenette" well appointed.
Breakfast is standard Continental Breakfast. Not much on display, but continually restocked with fresh items. Smallish breakfast room can get very crowded when Hotel full. Best go after 0815 when additional staff there to clear tables and restock etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrucieBEssexBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Felt a little apprehensive after reading some of the earlier comments as we were booked here for 5 nights by our UK holiday company. However, we were pleasantly surprised. We had a one bedroomed apartment (with, if needed, an additional bed settee in the lounge) - consisting bedroom, large lounge/kitchenette (fully equipped with dining table, 4 chairs, tv, coffee table, microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker, electric kettle and two electric hot plates), balcony with plastic table and chairs, bathroom with shower (and shower curtain!), hairdryer and a separate toilet. It was very clean and the towels and bedding were changed each day. Breakfast was adequate and frequently 'topped up' but often overcrowded and, please, please, fresh fruit salad, not tinned! But the hotel was well located just a short walk from the Citadel, 2/3 minutes from a boulangerie, plus hypermarkets within a longer walking distance. The staff were pleasant and helpful - also although we didn't use them, there was a swimming pool, laundry and small gym. Large car park with lots of passing, short stay visitors and some wonderful Horse Chestnut trees - lots of conkers which sadly we couldn't bring home! The gardens could be tidied up - but otherwise that and the fruit salad were the only 'down' points.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed at the Cerise with a Newmarket coach group. Really pleased with the apartment, it was well equipped, even a dishwasher plus tablet ready to use!
A nice size balcony with table and chairs, overlooking a quiet road. Lots of secure parking.

The bathroom was great ( we had a shower curtain but unfortunately the shower head didn't work) and the copious amount of hot water always available after a long day walking was well received.
The pool was small but a delight to use. Everything was spotlessly clean. We stayed 5 days and had a maid every day changing towels and bedding.
Now to the only down.....Breakfast.
Ours was included in our holiday package , but at the stated price of 9 euros, not good.
I realise as a party we all turned up at much the same time, so often a lack of seating.

The food was there, in small amounts, and had to be frantically refilled by the harassed staff.
We had to jump up and down from the table to get the latest offering. Not a peaceful start to the day.
In conclusion, a nice location only 5 mins walk to La Cite. A bakery over the road, and hypermarkets 15 mins walk. Ideal for touring or short break, but beware breakfast time if a coach party is in...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank labrats7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
0.3 mi away
Hotel Octroi
Hotel Octroi
#17 of 39 in Carcassonne
418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerise Carcassonne Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerise Carcassonne Sud

Address: 1 Rue Darius Milhaud, 11890 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range: £49 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerise Carcassonne Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Aude department, the CERISE RESIDENCE Carcassonne Sud is situated in an exceptional location 10 minutes by foot from the Medieval City, a World Heritage Site. Its 76 apartments are spread over two buildings set in vast landscaped gardens. The former mansion house which has preserved the charm of old buildings houses the reception and the breakfast rom. For leisure, the residence offers access to its indoor heated swimming pool, a hammam and a fitness room You can take your meal in one of our restaurants partner, within walking distance, or to make you deliver your meal in room (more information at the reception) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cerise Carcassonne Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residhotel Le Clos De La Cite Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing