We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loads of space but average accommodation and amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cerise Carcassonne Sud
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loads of space but average accommodation and amenities”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights, it's very close to the old city and has everything around it that you need. The best bakery is down the road on the right! The accommodation is basic and house keeping is non existent. The pool is very small and the gym is always locked so don't go here for those amenities. The staff were helpful and kind in ways. Don't pay anymore than you would for a standard hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CERISEbyExhore, Directeur général at Cerise Carcassonne Sud, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Laura D,

Thank you for taking time to leave a review on TripAdvisor.
Regarding the gym, please take note that it is available from 8am to 12am and from 4pm to 8pm ; simply ask to open it at the front desk when you are equipped with your gym clothes.
This is explained in three languages (French, English and Spanish) on the front door but maybe it is not sufficient. We will work on it to make it clearer.

Best regards

Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    311
    200
    53
    28
See reviews for
331
272
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We spent a couple nights here and thought it was a really nice hotel. Although it was a little hard to find at first because of poor signage, we actually found the location to be perfect otherwise since it was quiet and just a short walk from the old Medieval City. The room had two spacious bedrooms (for 2 adults and 2 teens) and a large bathroom with a tub and shower as well as a small kitchenette and living room. The room was very clean, although it didn't get cleaned during the day when we were out and we had to take out the garbage at the end of our stay. Room was very well air conditioned with an adjustable thermostat inside the room. Staff were friendly, helpful and multilingual, although the reception office was a little hard to find and not well marked. Breakfast was a little disappointing because the buffet ran out of food, but what food we did get was fine (the standard pastries, cereral, toast, yogurt, coffee, etc.) The pool was well maintained and refreshing albeit small and crowded and shallow (good for little kids). Overall a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptogermany2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was a seriously underwhelming hotel experience so we were grateful to have booked for only one night. Finding the hotel was not simple as its external signage was very poor even though it is located on a busy main road into town. We arrived late Sunday afternoon to find a long queue at a rather shabby reception area - located in the only building of any quality on the site. The car park in the centre of the development seems to be the focal point when a garden area or outdoor pool would have been so much more enticing. This is a characterless low quality establishment with little to offer apart from a good location about 10 minutes away from the World Heritage site with its fantastic castle and ramparts. Our room was sizeable enough but spartan, badly laid out and in urgent need of re-decoration. That said, there was also a strong smell of detergent as we entered our room! The tiny on-site dining area was so basic and unattractive that we quickly adjourned to a nice bar just within the city walls for breakfast. Although wi-fi was promised, it proved totally inaccessible and as the reception was closed for the night there was no one to get help from. Conclusion: one night is enough and there are better places to be found even closer to La Cite Medievale.

Room Tip: My best advice is to try a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CERISEbyExhore, Directeur général at Cerise Carcassonne Sud, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor.
Your comments help to continue to improve our services to serve you better.
We are so sorry to hear of your disappointment about your stay in our residence.
It is true that our signage is pretty poor, we are working on this for months and waiting for permits from the municipality, which puts a lot of time.
It is also true that some apartments are very spacious but sparsely decorated, causing a feeling of emptiness. We are conscious of having to work on this and hopefully soon the finances necessary to address this point.
Sorry for the wait at the reception, sometimes when everyone arrives at the same time, this causes a slowdown in the home.
The indoor pool is one of our strengths as it is used throughout the year.
We are surprised that you could not connect to Wifi because we have no problem with that.
Please excuse us again for any inconvenience encountered, know that our team has been very responsive to your comments

Best regards

A DUSSURGEY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carcassonne hotels

Loddington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This budget hotel has a number of positive attributes, the facilities being relatively new, it's near to the Medieval Cite and has multi-lingual staff. The air-conditioning worked well and all the basic facilities were clean. Against this, the one time we took breakfast (@ 9 euros each) the food was very ordinary and the organisation was chaotic with constant shortages of food, drink and crockery ; the staff rushed about but just could not cope. The nearest supermarket was quite a walk away. There may be a management problem as we found 15 items missing from the inventory and the shortage of clothes hangers reported on our first day was not rectified. Also, the microwave was broken, and the bedside lamp bulb had blown. Reception refused point blank to help order a meal to be delivered but did organise our taxi to the airport and allowed us to stay in reception, closed at the time, till it came.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrinklies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CERISEbyExhore, Directeur général at Cerise Carcassonne Sud, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Sir and Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor.
Your comments help to continue to improve our services to serve you better
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with some of the points.
We actually remember you and your visit to the residence
For breakfasts, unfortunately, there was a group that did not meet its schedule of passage that must be 7 am; there has been a huge rush unplanned, which resulted in what you describe correctly. This case is of course exceptional, we apologize and we will certainly improve compliance schedules group next time to avoid disrupting the breakfasts individual.
The nearest supermarket is 5 minutes walk.
We are surprised to learn that there were large gaps in the inventory because they are checked daily. And if something is missing, we react as quickly as possible. We take into account your comments and we will be very careful on that point.
It happens regularly that the bulbs burn out, we change them as soon as our client mentionne it.
Regarding bookings for the restaurant, we help our clients with great pleasure, though sometimes we are overwhelmed at the reception and we just recommend restaurants and let time customers to choose the restaurant and to book by themselves.

Please excuse us again for any inconvenience encountered, know that our team has been very responsive to your comments Thank you for the positivity of some of your comments, is our greatest reward because we have at heart to make you a good stay.

Best regards

A DUSSURGEY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the Cerise for five nights, we were on a Newmarket holiday with coach excursions. The apartment was quite spacious for two adults. It had a well equipped kitchen area with microwave, coffee machine and a dishwasher. The bedroom was large with huge wardrobes and a showeroom. However, the toilet was off the hall way and had no hand washing facility, which was very strange because you had to hand wash in the kitchen sink or go through the bedroom to the showeroom. The apartment was clean and was serviced as part of our package. The location was quiet and although we were over the pool we were not disturbed. The balcony had plenty of room for the table and chairs, we overlooked houses and gardens. The breakfast was also part of our package, there was a choice of cereal, fruit salad, yoghurts and cheeses. Croissants, toast and hot drinks were available. The breakfast room was very pleasant and was a room in an old house next to the reception area. I liked the enamelled metal tiles on the ceiling. The best thing about the Cerise is its proximity to the medieval citadel, a short walk up the backstreets brought you to the first amazing view. We enjoyed our stay and felt relaxed, safe and secure.

Room Tip: There are plenty of car parking facilities and a busy road on one side. We had an apartment at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juiz de Fora - MG
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A sparthan aparthotel located fairly close (walking distance if you don't mind going uphill) to the old village of Carcassonne. Spatious and clean facilities with limited staff and reception availability.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the view, the apartments on the back sides are quieter and give you more privi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mário Sérgio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here recently for 2 nights with our 2 kids. We had a 2 bed apartment which was a good size with a little kitchenette. The decor is functional but clean. It also has free wifi for 2 devices per room. It's is a short walk from the castle and there are plenty of parking spaces. They do a buffet breakfast but we didn't take it as there is a boulangerie very close. It's not the sort of place you would want to hang out in for a long time but it's perfectly good as a convenient base for visiting Carcassone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Octroi
Hotel Octroi
#18 of 39 in Carcassonne
402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
0.5 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerise Carcassonne Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerise Carcassonne Sud

Property: Cerise Carcassonne Sud
Address: 1 Rue Darius Milhaud, 11890 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerise Carcassonne Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Aude department, the CERISE RESIDENCE Carcassonne Sud is situated in an exceptional location 10 minutes by foot from the Medieval City, a World Heritage Site. Its 76 apartments are spread over two buildings set in vast landscaped gardens. The former mansion house which has preserved the charm of old buildings houses the reception and the breakfast rom. For leisure, the residence offers access to its indoor heated swimming pool, a hammam and a fitness room You can take your meal in one of our restaurants partner, within walking distance, or to make you deliver your meal in room (more information at the reception) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cerise Carcassonne Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residhotel Le Clos De La Cite Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing