We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel.Good place to chill out”
Review of Sidsmums

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sidsmums
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was cycling from Bordeaux to Sete and stayed here one night.It had everything I needed even a hammock to lie on in the Garden.The hosts were very friendly and Peter made a lovely dinner on Sunday night which will earn him the new Fait a maison sign on his menus as everything is cooked from fresh . Breakfast was the best ever.My cycling guide says the fireworks on Bastille Day are not to be missed and something you should see before you die so don't be surprised if you get me booking again next Summer

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank dynosirfon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great location perfect distance from Carcasonne and surrounded by lovely countryside. Even without a car getting around was no problem with a 1 euro bus and train and Peter and Tracy couldn't have been more helpful giving us lifts to fit around our timetable. Lots to do and see around the area with Carcasonne perfect cycling distance away. Great accomodation with a lovely atmosphere and really friendly hosts! We hope to be back soon with the rest of the family!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessieeevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Sidmums is nothing like I've stayed at before!
After a long train trip with a heavy backpack weighing me down, how lovely it was to be picked up from the station by Tracy and to then be offered a beer on arrival by Peter. This couple knows how to treat their guests well! The cabins are very clean and comfortable and the bathrooms are extremely well kept. The kitchen is user friendly for making meals and the outdoor furnishing makes for a very comfortable and close to nature experience. The bike was great to go grocery shopping and exploring with also. On one of the days, Tracy and Peter were kind enough to take myself and the guys to a beautiful market as well as Rennes-le-Château. A great day!

Tracy and Peter, thank you for making my stay one I'll never forget! I'm so so grateful!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey2756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Tracey and Peter - thank you so much for the absolutely wonderful retreat weekend. The location was superb and as described - remote with good transport connections. Picking us up and greeting us with a beer was first class. The bike loan was much appreciated as were the spotless bathrooms and kitchen. Your company was very welcome and the atmosphere in general was of joy, relaxation and happiness. We WILL be back!!! Thank you - Shauna and Lydia June 2014.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

An overnight stay before flying home. As usual, a wonderful welcoming atmosphere, from our hosts, Peter and Tracy, and Fergus. Our room was spotlessly clean and the bed, very comfy, giving me one of the best night's rest of my trip. It's a great place to relax. Wish I could have stayed longer. Will do next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 606Jane1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracySidsmums, Owner at Sidsmums, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thanks for repeat custom and a lovely review. Hope to see you again soon - or at least next ski season:) A bientot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

As is known, one should be economical and careful with the use of superlatives. Be that as it may, in writing a review of Sidsmums, I’d preferably bandy them about. It is hardly likely to find a heartier, more affectionately arranged and neater accommodation around Carcassonne. Quite rightly, the guests feel comfortably like in a second home! I can’t wait to stay there again..

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracySidsmums, Owner at Sidsmums, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Sidsmums Backpackers Hostel. Enjoy your travels and the rest of 2014. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I was biking through France when a robber stole my bike. After a desperate six hour Internet search (All of Toulouse was packed solid), I found this place.
We could say it turned out to be the dawn after a quick but cold night. I now consider it my favorite hostel in all or Europe.
If you are looking to party, get p@ss drunk and melt your credit card for fun, don´t stay here. If however, you´re looking for a clean, well-cared for, sanctuary among trees, cats and English folk, I highly recommend you hop on board!

Room Tip: Personally I preferred the wood cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracySidsmums, Owner at Sidsmums, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Great to here you enjoyed your stay at Sidsmums Backpackers Hostel Carcassonne. Good luck with your forward plans and travels and hope to see you again soon. Thanks for taking the time and effort to review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
6 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#24 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
336 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
520 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La C...
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,036 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel l'Etoile
Hotel l'Etoile
#28 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
129 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidsmums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidsmums

Address: 11 Chemin de la Croix d'Achille | Preixan, 11250 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: £43 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SIDSMUMS is a small, family run backpackers situated in the quiet foothills of the Pyrenees and surrounded by the vineyards and forests of the Malapere region. This is a place to relax and recharge. Meet new friends and enjoy the quiet countryside, or use our home as a base to further explore Cathar country. 10 kms Carcassonne, la Cite, Salvaza international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sidsmums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing