We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cassoulet”
Review of La Rotonde

La Rotonde
Ranked #166 of 333 Restaurants in Carcassonne
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Ipswich
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent cassoulet”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We visited this restaurant at lunchtime, on an uncharacteristically rainy day and wanted something heartening to eat. So we chose the cassoulet - not the first choice in July, perhaps, but it was first rate: a confit leg of duck; a generous piece of sausage, and delicious beans with a tang of stew and bits of carrots and other vegetables. An old dear stopped to tell us how much better it was to eat cassoulet here than in one of the restaurants where it would not be properly made: she was not popular with the waiting staff, but we felt she had a point. For local food, honestly cooked and good value to boot, you could do far worse than visit La Rotonde, which is also very conveniently situated for the station, or the many canal trips.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    55
    51
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a total pleasure to eat here”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I head for La Rotonde every time I'm in Carcassonne - so, four or five times a year for a few days' treat each time.
I'm treated like royalty; it's a delight to be greeted by the Owner and to be served by Gilles and Olivier [my servants in waiting!].

I tend to go for a set-price meal, and have to be careful not to be too tempted by the ad lib Hors d'Oeuvre buffet! - there's always a tasty fish soup/bisque instead [or in addition to the H/d'O for a small supplement, if you're having a set-price meal].
For mains, you'll not be disappointed by the Cassoulet [if you're really hungry], the mussels, or any of the "dishes of the day".

Save room for the ad lib Desserts Buffet [incl. cheese].
The chocolate mousse and the prunes in wine are not to be missed.

I must drop in some time purely to have their delicious-looking paella, served all day.
Sorry to be back in UK today, thinking "this time yesterday, ....."

I've attached a couple of photos to show the warmth of the greeting they always afford to my 90-yr-old Mum - who's also a BIG fan!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank francophone_anglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Something for everyone but lacking in quality”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This restaurant is in a good location and offers buffet starters and desserts which means that you will find something that you like. However, by giving you such a choice they compromise the quality of the food. Lunch set menu at €15.40.
I was immediately served with a complimentary glass of sangria (an odd choice for a French restaurant) and a large bread roll.
The buffet of starters included lovely fresh salads, cold meats and hot fish soup, but there was also tinned tuna and sweetcorn, and tiny prawns.
I chose a main course of Pintade, which the waiter told me was a small chicken and I later discovered was actually guinea fowl. It was nicely cooked and served with creamy dauphenoise potatoes but the veg of celery and carrots was terrribly overcooked.
The dessert buffet was also a mix of qualities and styles (I think they try to cater for all nationalities). Yoghurts in their plastic pots, tinned prunes and apple puree, tarte tatin and a rich chocolate tart, chocolate mousse, floating islands and an assortment of cheeses, some still in their wrappers.
Anyway, the service was efficient and I never felt rushed. It's a good place to people watch too as everyone passes from the station into the Bastide.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nomadic_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Centrally located close to the railway station, proving friendly service with good food which is reasonably priced

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank justSKIing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiscasset, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Friendly, competent, open Sundays”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Across the street from the train station and the Hotel Terminus, this tidy classic brasserie is open all the time, according to its sign, and popular with locals as well as visitors passing through town via rail. Given that most restaurants in Carcassonne are closed Sunday, it definitely fills a niche. The full menu isn't served all day, but there is always something available to eat and drink. One standard menu item is paella, which is adequate--likewise, the croque monsieur (toasted ham and cheese sandwich). The frites are very good, and the sangria is outstanding. We ate here twice during our month in Carcassonne, both times on Sunday. Most recently our bill for croque monsieur, paella, a sangria, and a draft beer was 25 euros. Service was prompt and friendly. Our waiter spoke English, which not everyone does in touristy Carcassonne.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rotonde also viewed

Carcassonne, Aude
Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to La Rotonde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing