We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gites Sous les Courtines
Nearby Hotels
Hotel du Chateau(Carcassonne Center)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel du Pont Vieux(Carcassonne Center)
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite(Carcassonne Center)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon(Carcassonne Center)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Montmorency(Carcassonne Center)
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aragon(Carcassonne Center)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Octroi(Carcassonne Center)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
70
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsle grand canissouwasher dryeron arrivalshort walkself cateringliving roomold townnight stayperfect locationpadrefloodlitgardenhostwallsgatecastlecarcassonne
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Outstanding quality, service, and position. Four adults stayed for one week in Grand Canissou , and enjoyed every minute. Christiane met us on arrival guided us into the garage and provided an extensive introduction to the gite, and the surrounding area - sites of interest, restaurants, supermarkets etc all covered She provided a superb "welcome pack" which included wine, bread, selection of teas, delicious nespresso coffee, honey, jams, and a jar of the famous cassoulet. We were blessed with outstanding weather which gave us the opportunity for great BBQs in the garden gazing at the lit magnificent Cite walls. The accommodation was spacious, clean, beautifully furnished and equipped. We could not have asked for more. We lost satellite TV connection one evening, but Cristiane and her husband came around within 15 minutes and sorted out the problem with the service provider.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1944Magoo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We, a 2-adults and 3 children (aged 5,7,11) family from Denmark, stayed here the week after Easter 2011. After a 3 hour drive from Barcelona, we arrived late in the evening at 11pm. Christiane helped us locate the house and gave us the best possible welcome despite the late hour. In the kitchen, we found a variety of local food, a bottle of red wine and - as the very best you could wish for after such a late arrival - morning cereals, coffee, tea, bread, butter etc!!! Not to forget the basics for self-catering: salt, pepper, soap for dishes, oil, vinegar, sugar - even a Nespresso coffee machine with capsules. Throughout our stay, Christiane was extremely helpful. Both the house (Le Grand Canissou) and the garden are meticulously kept and really, really inviting. Furthermore, the spectacular setting at the foot of the Cite ramparts is only to be dreamed of. We left with heavy hearts, wishing we had booked a couple of more days :-)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HSCHRIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed at Sous Les Courtines for three nights and were simply swept away by the interior, the terrassed gardens, and the marvelous views of La Cite from the gardens. We arrived in Carcassonne after sunset and immediately got lost. But in no time our host, Christiane Clotis, met us in her car and guided us to her villa. After we tucked our car away in the garage on premises, Ms. Clotis gave us a very useful overview of places to see and restaurants in La Cite, and showed us around what would be our home for the next 3 days. The interior was immaculate and brightly lit day (from the sun) and night, spacious, comfortable and just perfect for me, my mother and my 2 children. We all enjoyed a fine dinner only a short walk into the old part of town, and the next few mornings took our hot chocolate and tea outside in the beautifully landscaped and private gardens. The view is as described - and more. The location perfect - had we stayed in La Cite, we all agreed we would have missed out on the spectacular views of the majestic walled town, and the romantic walks into the old city in the evenings for dinner. We loved our stay in Carcassonne in this very special gite! One last note - our host truly defines the term - she alerted me immediately about the laptop that I had left behind, and kindly packaged it up and mailed it safely home for me. Her service was over the top incredible, as is her gite. A 5+ star establishment!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flytyerswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We stayed at Sous les Courtines for three nights and our host Christiane, is surely the most generous you could find. She even drove us to the station on departure as we had an early train to Barcelona and had to drop the car off the night before. The gite itself is in a fantastic location right by the walls of the old Cite and the little patio garden at the rear has a wonderful view of the ramparts especially at night. The gite we stayed in, "mi padre", is very well furnished and designed - very modern decor with lovely bathrooms and plenty of space for a family. There is room for a car if you book the garage ahead. Christiane had thoughtfully fitted out the gite with some food basics, the standard cleaning materials and a welcome basket as well! This gite is great value in our opinion and we would recommend it. Carcassonne is a great spot to use as a base to explore the far south of France and the Cite itself is well worth a day to look around.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank not_yet_world_weary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

This is a great place to stay, the apartment is well appointed and Christiane was so helpful and friendly. It is very clean, very close to the medieval city, the wall of which you can see from the garden.
Chritiane took time to talk us about what is worth seeing and great restaurants in the area.
We stayed there for seven nights and would definately recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indi255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews