We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than the reviews...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gites Sous les Courtines
Hertfordshire England
Level Contributor
131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Even better than the reviews...”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I had read the fantastic reviews and it was still even better than expected. Christiane is so friendly and efficient in taking the booking. Then she met us at the airport and took a brief drive through the town so that we got our bearings. Back at the gite (Mipadre) she showed us around so that we understood everything, and marked some places to eat on the map. On departure she took us back to the airport and was keen to know what we had done to help her inform future guests. The gite reflects her attitude and care: it is spotless and so well organised, it was so easy to settle in and enjoy our stay, With two bedrooms and two bathrooms, the gite was perfect for us - a couple and teenage daughter. It should have more than five stars! We would love to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

So much has been said already about this beautiful gite that it's hard to improve upon previous reviews. Immaculately laid out, amazing location and to top it all the nicest and most welcoming host you could meet. Christiane is so kind and caring, she gives a truly wonderful service and both she and her husband Jean do all they can to make you feel at home. We stayed in le grand canissou and were not disappointed in any way. We had a baby of 15 months with us but the enclosed garden, proximity to the old and new town and the knowledge that Christiane was only a phonecall away if we needed her(thankfully we didn't) made everything easy...and that is the secret of a great holiday. We hope to be back very soon and cannot recommend this gite and owner highly enough. Merci beaucoup encore une fois Christiane.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Recently stayed in smaller of gites Mipadre with two friends. Beautiful modern, stylish and spacious gite. Location is excellent just a few minutes walk to up to le cite. The gardens are beautiful with amazing views. Christiane was friendly, helpful and informative and was happy to collect and take us back to the airport. We found it great value for money considering the high standard of accomodation and location. I would recommend this accomodation to anyone visiting Carcassone and wound love to stay again some time in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We recently stayed in gite Mipadre and had a wonderful time. We were greeted with a bottle of wine, enough food for several breakfasts, and much information about Carcassonne and the areas nearby. Christiane even helped us make reservations for dinner in le Cite. We would love to return someday, definitely for a longer time to enjoy the gite and the garden. The gite was in the perfect location to enjoy the old and new parts of Carcassonne...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at Gites Sous les Courtines last May for a week - the weather was changeable but the gite was superb. Christiane was so hospitable, so helpful, we felt we were her personal guests and nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was very spacious and comfortable; a food basket and lots of little extras in the kitchen and bathrooms added to our contentment; and the terraced gardens were beautiful - you can choose where to relax depending on your mood. The gite has incredible views of the Cite as it is situated at the foot of the towering ramparts - it takes only 10/15mins to walk into the old Cite. Carcassone Town is about 20 mins walk away over the river - we discovered The Celt, an Irish pub in the middle of this French town, and had a very enjoyable evening there! We will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

My family and I have just had 3 nights at Christiane's gite 'Canissou', and we were sad to leave.

This is superb accomodation with an enviable location. Not only is the gite perfect, the garden is wonderful and steps up the hillside providing the most incredible views of Carcassonne.

It cost a little more than some of the other options I looked at, but the extras you receive more than make up for this:

- Christiane provided a free transfer each way from the train station
- the gite is stocked with a generous supply of groceries to get you through the first 24 hours
- the gite is equipped with all the basics in regards to soap, dishwasher tablets, laundry liquid etc
- there are bikes provided for your use

The apartment is fitted out with very high quality appliances throughout, and the beds are extremely comfortable.

Most importantly, Christiane is a kind, considerate, gracious and helpful hostess. She assisted us on a Sunday by finding a pharmacy that was open, drove us there and translated for us so that we could get the medication we needed to treat our child who had an allergic reaction.

I would not hesitate to recommend Gites Sous les Courtines, and I hope we have the opportunity to stay again in the future.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumneedsaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chirac
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed with Christiane in mid September for 4 nights for our wedding anniversary, and what a special place it is. its one of those places that you dont think you will ever find in France - the French apartment of your dreams! I wasnt sure about the spa bath in the main bathroom - but after a 25 km cycle ride along the Canal Du Midi, my knees really welcomed it - the light effects were fun! We also stayed in the larger gite - there were people in the other smaller gite but the garden is so cleverly designed its very private. Everything works perfectly - the attention to detail is amazing. its like your own personal boutique hotel! The garden is full of bushes of rosemary and bay if you fancy cooking - which we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionChirac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gites Sous les Courtines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gites Sous les Courtines

Property: Gites Sous les Courtines
Address: 12 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The gite Grand Canissou and the gite Mipadre are at the foot of Medieval Cité and benefit from an exceptional panoramic view and a magnificent garden. The situation gives direct pedestrian access to the walled town, to nearby shops, to the lower town (Bastide Saint Louis) to the banks of the river Aude and to the Canal du Midi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing