We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something different” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine de Marseillens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domaine de Marseillens
Ranked #6 of 58 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We visited Carcassonne with our 3 kids and needed a place to stay over night. Domaine de Marseillens was certainly more authentic experience than typical hotel stay - one huge room (no need to get 2 separate adjoining rooms), small pool and cosy garden at the back.

Especially breakfast was great and really made our stay more personable. We shared a large table with a lovely British couple, had interesting conversations with the owners and enjoyed good breakfast.

Happy to recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay over night in Carcassonne.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    32
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
109
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

If you like quirky, this is great - my wife loved the room, which (I am told) had an African feel to it.... You hang your clothes in an old trunk standing upright, and there's all sorts of other stuff like a set of horns on the radiator, an old globe, etc., etc. Fine if you like that sort of thing. On the downside, the bed was narrow and a bit creaky, the bathroom was separated from the bedroom with a flimsy curtain, so privacy was at a premium, and the shower, although consistent enough temperature-wise, was a bit weedy - I like a good strong power shower!

Another disappointment was the breakfast. Having read the reviews, we were expecting something special. Nope. Just bread, cheese, cold meats, fruit, some really tough sausage and nothing hot, although the croissants were superb. Against that, our hosts, Muryel and Serge, were gracious and welcoming - Muryel continuously protested her poor English, but she obviously enjoyed practising it and it was absolutely fine!

We stayed for four nights at a cost of 109 euros per night for the room in mid-October. I regard this as expensive for the facilities we had.

As a location for visiting Carcassonne (which was our primary objective) it was fine, although you had to drive into Carcassonne - there is no way you can walk it.

Carcassonne itself is stunning - nothing like it anywhere else on Earth. The surrounding area is also really interesting, so if you like quirky and French, this is a good place to base your stay on. If you like comfort, a decent shower and a good breakfast, maybe not so good!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed one night here in September and wished we could transport this property to other regions and stay again and again.

The building itself is a spectacular old homestead and it's beautifully decorated and styled Serge and Muryiel have done a great job in this respect. We ended up in a huge room that would've slept 4 or 5 people which was immaculately clean and styled. The bathroom was a large alcove separated by curtains with a large bathtub - again all lovely stylish finishes. The bath did have a hand shower if that matters to you.

Breakfast was a great spread of fresh baked goods, meats and cheeses, coffee and fresh juices all served with a smile and great conversation by muryiel who spoke english very well even if she didn't think so!

We had never stayed at a B & B style property so this was a fantastic introduction to them, I'm sure they are not all as fabulous though.

Location was lovely, a quiet street about a 5 min drive from parking for the castle in Carcassonne so with a car very easy to access.

We would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haymont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and Muriel and Serge were a delight. Lovely hosts who made huge effort with all their guests. We enjoyed sharing breakfast with different people from different parts of the world each morning and Muriel and Serge somehow facilitated interesting and friendly conversation despite the mix of languages - amazing!
The house is really lovely, tasteful and comfortable and we had a lovely private garden for the end of the day sunshine and glass of wine. We enjoyed Carcassone, the ancient city and the new (13th century) city. It has an interesting history which is worth reading about. We didn't hire a car so either walked the 2 miles in/ out of the city or took the number 1 bus ( from the new city bus station) they were approximately every 1/2 hour and just 1 euro. Getting from the airport was the only difficult bit and really has to be done by taxi. We would love to visit again to use Domaine de Marseillens as a base and travel around more. Thank you to Muriel and Serge for a memorable short break.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howarths2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helsby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Myself, my wife and our 18 year old daughter and 16 year old son stayed for 6 nights in July in the huge family room pictured. Serge and Muryel really looked after us whilst we were there and my son in particular enjoyed practicing his french at breakfast which Muryel was very good at encouraging and helping.
The large room was very comfortable, and whilst there is no air-con , by utilising the wooden window shutters during the day the room can be kept fairly cool. It was hot weather during our stay in July! and so the lovely pool area was a major plus point and we used it every day.
Carcassonne City is a beautiful place and only a 5-10 min. taxi ride.However the taxi fare varied between 15 and 20 euros each way so it is worth considering a hire car. We had a car for our last 4 days and then drove to Barcelona which is just over 3 hours drive. This created a great 2 centre holiday which worked very well.
I would recommend anyone to go and pay a visit to Carcassonne , and stay at Domaine de Marseillens with Serge and Muryel!
P.S. The wine was excellent Serge. Thank you!! from King Duncan!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank duncanHelsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Serge and Muryel are the perfect hosts, very welcoming and accommodating. The guest house is a beautiful old winery less than 5 minutes drive from the medieval town of Carcassonne, also very close to the gorgeous Lake. We will definitely be back - superb breakfasts too!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Just returned from a fantastic four night stay at Domaine de Marseillens. We adored this place - Muryl and Serge were so helpful and friendly and couldnt go out of their way enough for us. By the time we had left we felt like we had been staying with very close friends rather than at a B & B. We had the safari room and it was lovely. The bed was comfy and the room really airy. This room only had a shower but it was a lovely shower and we were very grateful after the days walking we had done. We were very lucky with the weather in May and spent each afternoon by the pool (and even in the pool) some days as temperatures reached 30. The breakfast was amazing, and as we were the only English it was very entertaining. We speak a little french but it improved massively in the four days as few of the other guests spoke English which was very entertaining and everyone was very friendly. The food was so fresh and tasty and they really do look after you. We didnt hire a car for our stay as we wanted to do a lot of walking. There is a lake 1km away which is beautiful and there is a 5km walk round the lake. We went to Carcassonne each night for a meal, and although the choice of food doesnt vary greatly restruarant to restaurant it is all very lovely and excellent value for money. There is a bus stop 2 mins up the road from the B&B which takes you into the new part of the City for 1 Euro each and we got a taxi back which varied in price from 12 Euros to 20 euros per trip. On the last day we took a taxi from the B&B to the airport which cost 22 Euros and took 15 mins.

All in all, a fantastic break - Carcassonne itself is lovely but you probably exhaust the sites in the City in a couple of days so any longer than 4 days would need a car to go furhter afield. The accomodation was fantastic and the hosts so helpful and friendly that we will certainly be going back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Marseillens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Marseillens

Property: Domaine de Marseillens
Address: 260 route de la Cavayere | Mont Legun, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Marseillens 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 2 minutes from the legendary "Cite de Carassone" and next to the "Canal du midi" and the La Cavayere's lake. The Domaine de Marseillens used to be a winerie and kept its original features.Muryel et Serge will welcome you with a smile and provide efficient service for business trip and private stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Domaine de Marseillens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing