We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED Wendy's tour of the Languedoc-Roussillon region!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vin en Vacances - Day Tours

Vin en Vacances - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vin en Vacances is a vineyard tour company run by Wendy Gedney, an English woman with a passion for this wonderful area and its wines. Wendy is a wine teacher and during the tours not only will you have a thoroughly enjoyable day, you will also learn a great deal about wine and tasting. Her aim is to provide you with an experience that you can’t easily create for yourself and during the day you will explore the regions, meet some of the most interesting vignerons, taste their wines and enjoy a superb lunch. Wendy's tours always include other fabulous things such as a visit to a goat farm, a pretty village or olive oil tasting.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“LOVED Wendy's tour of the Languedoc-Roussillon region!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Wendy gave such a great and unique wine tour that my boyfriend and I enjoyed very much! We were staying in Carcassonne for 3 days and our primary goal was to go on a wine tour in the area. We both felt that Wendy gave a very personal, educational, and memorable experience.

We were staying at Hotel de la Cite in Carcassonne, and Wendy picked us up in the morning right at the gate. While driving to each stop, Wendy told us all about her experience with wine and the Languedoc region of France. All of the scenery along the way was gorgeous!

We had a few tastings, then went to a very charming little restaurant for lunch. Wendy even arranged for me to have a vegetarian meal (not always easy in France!) which was fantastic. My boyfriend had the traditional local dish of Cassoulet, which he is still talking about.

After a few more wine tastings, we stopped in the tiny Medieval town of Minerve and had a short walk through their winding town and bridges. The views were breathtaking! We also stopped at a local farmers market where I bought the best strawberries I've ever eaten.

Wendy gave us great advice on wine pairings and even recommended a wonderful wine store near our hotel (we went the next day!). Another thing I loved about Wendy's tour was the diversity. As I explained above, we made a few other stops in addition to the wineries, which both my boyfriend and I appreciated; it really added to the specialness of the day.

Everyone we met on the tour was extremely friendly and we had a wonderful time. I knew next to nothing about wine before the tour, and I learned so much! We would definitely do another one of Wendy's tours if we're in the area again.

Wendy - thanks again for such a memorable day!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Viva la Vin en Vacances”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

As a wine region the Languedoc is in its teenage growth spurt, producing better and more interesting wines each year. Along with her husband, Wendy Gedney, the principal of Vin en Vacances, recognized in 1990 the region's potential, and she eventually made a career of sharing her secret with the world. Wendy's formal training in all aspects of the various appellations is augmented by her on-the-ground experience in the vineyards and villages of this part of France. A native of England, she now lives in the Languedoc.

As a family of 6, including a 9-month-old, we took a private tour with Wendy. The focus was on wine, which was appropriate given its economic role in the area, but we also visited the town of Minerve and a goat farm. For lunch we had a marvelous cassoulet in Saint-Jean-de-Minervois. The two wineries were Combebelle and Clos du Gravillas. Wendy's enthusiasm and very extensive knowledge of the region's wines held us spellbound. Well, except for the baby, who inexplicably began to get feverish and cranky. Without a second thought, Wendy cheerfully drove us back to our lodging, where we left the baby and his mother, and then we resumed the tour.

We were all impressed with Wendy's command of her subject. Although she enjoys showing off the Languedoc to ordinary tourists like us, she is also in demand for tours and short courses for sommeliers and other wine professionals. And she leads tours for Rick Steves. Perhaps the most telling credential is the respect that the local wine community accords her. During our tour we saw more than one winemaker make a point of introducing himself to her.

The tourism sector often provides homogeneous service to masses of people. We found it refreshing to experience a personalized tour by a very pleasant and knowledgeable individual who loves her subject and taught us to love it too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AbilenePeregrinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Like a short course in Languedoc-Rousillion wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Wendy Gedney is a treasure trove of information and lore about the wines of the Languedoc-Rousillion. My husband and I joined her along with 5 others on a rainy spring day in the Minervois region, and found ourselves enthralled the entire time. We visited two very different wineries, both small and run by creative and careful winemakers whose wines were delightful. Lunch was a delicious cassoulet at a charming auberge complete with 3 different wines. Driving from one venue to another, Wendy educated us to the history, style and grape varieties of the region, expanding on the well researched information contained in her valuable book on the wines of the Languedoc.
We hope to join her again for tours of other regions in the area... Great wine, great food and great company. What more could we ask? Wendy is the BEST!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NANCY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olonzac, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another great day out - book now!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is our second tour with Wendy (although we have had other wine tastings with her) & again all we can say is you need to book a tour when next in this region!

We run a B & B in Languedoc & like to check out local activities so we can genuinely recommend them to our guests and Wendy never fails to impress.

Her knowledge about the Languedoc-Rousillon wine and wine culture is amazing & always explained in a way that is not overwhelming for a novice but equally not boring for someone with more wine experience.

We love that Wendy is always on the look out for the unusual and totally supports the hardworking independent wine makers of the region…with as much passion as they have.

Thanks again Wendy for a great day out (where even a little bit of rain didn't dampen our spirits!).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sainte-Helene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun evening in great company!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I booked Wendy from Vin en Vacances to visit our holiday home in Villeneuve Minervois for an early evening wine tasting - a surprise for my small family group of four. We were all interested in learning about wine and I thought that a tasting at home would mean we would not have to stagger far at the end of the night. The booking exceeded my expectations.

Wendy arrived promptly on our chosen evening bearing a selection of wines of the region and we sat around our kitchen table in front of our log burning stove feeling very relaxed. Wendy had chosen for us both reds and whites all differing in taste and style. We learnt about the main elements of wine, how it is made and how to match wines with food. We were introduced to the wines of the region and persuaded that the French climate probably does produce the best wine in the world!

Best of all, we were given a lesson in wine tasting technique which was hilarious for everyone. All that swirling, sniffing, sipping and rolling around the mouth really does bring out the best of the wine, so by the end of the evening we were beginning to feel like experts - as well as, by bottle number six, becoming gently sloshed.

This tasting was a highlight of our trip and we didn’t stop talking about it for the rest of our holiday. The evening was educational, interesting and fun. Wendy, in particular, was knowledgeable as well as great company. I would urge you to try this great night in.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vin en Vacances - Day Tours also viewed

 
Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to Vin en Vacances - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing