We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing Day Trip with Carlos

We did a one day Cathar and Templar tour with Carlos and had a magnificent time. He was extremely... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Alison S
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
A great wine day

My wife and I were visiting some friends in Servian, a small town in the Languedoc and we all... read more

Reviewed 28 December 2018
Les L
,
Vancouver, Canada
Read all 555 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Carcassonne Center
from US$33.35
More Info
from US$158.68
More Info
from US$189.72
More Info
from US$10.35
More Info
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveller rating
535
19
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
19
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews domaine gayda olive oil delicious lunch goat cheese farm day tour picnic lunch vast knowledge private tour grape varieties french countryside beautiful village small group highly recommend this tour local area canal du midi cathar castles wonderful tour
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 555 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2014

My wife Gail and I and Gail's parents, Alex and Janice went on one of Wendy's tours back in June. Wendy picked us up from our Gite in Carcassonne and already on the bus were 2 other couples we were travelling together 3 expats from uk and an Australian who were all lovely company and great fun. We all introduced ourselves and were asked to tell what types of wine we liked etc. The first stop was a languedoc vineyard la domaine I think from memory, where we did a tour and then had a tasting session and lunch which were both excellent. After lunch we went on to limoux where we tried their famous sparkly wines, the supposed precursor to champagne which Dom perignon is rumoured to have stolen the very idea from the monks at the monestry. Excellent day and really good value for money, highly recommended and we'll definitely do another when back in the area.

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank Saintoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2014

We booked this tour in September at the last minute just before we left for Carcassone and it turned out to be a fantastic day. Kate met us at our hotel and with 6 other very jolly people (who got jollier as the day wore on) we visited wineries around Carcassone. Kate was a great enthusiast and was full of information but had real skill in not over burdening us with data. At the first vineyard we went through individual grape varieties before going onto blends which was a real eye opener. Lunch was out in the sun at the winery before seeing some of the sights on the way to the co-operative in Limoux. It was a full day and we got back in the early evening having had a great day out which we ill repeat when we come to this area next summer. We have just come back from New Zealand where we went on two wine tours which emphasised just how good this team are since our recent guides just drove us round the vineyards and left it to the salesmen to tell us about the wines. If you go to Carcassone this is a trip not to miss.

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2014

Our guide, Kate, was extremely knowledgeable about wines. Not in a manner of telling us what a "good" wine was, but explaining how to best get to the taste/smell of a wine, and how to then find wines that are to your taste. She was also friendly, fun, punctual, and informative about local cuisine, history, and culture. It was a great day.

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2014

Wendy ,Kate and their team guided 30 of us around the region tasting wines, tasting food and then eating wonderful meals ! The organisation was 1st class and even though we have done quite a lot of these tours now in different countries we all felt that this one was very special.
We would highly recommend Vin en Vacances !

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank Suzanneiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2014

My partner and I have a rental property in the same village as Wendy and after a year of painting and hard work we finally had the time to join a tour. We arrived at the pick up point at 9.30am with our 4 friends who were there to join us for my birthday celebration. None of us could think about wine at that time of the morning and thought we could all sneak in a small snooze on the way to the first vineyard. How very wrong we were!! From the minute we set off Wendy engaged the whole group and we were commpletely transfixed by Wendy's level of knowledge - even the wine snobs amongst us learnt something new. I would thoroughly recommend this day out - it's superb value and you get to visit some wonderful boutique vineyards that you would never come across on your own. Lunch was great (the best cassoulet I have ever tasted) and we also visited some of the lovely villages in the languedoc region. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Wendy for a wonderful day out.

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank Lawsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews