We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parfait au Carcassonne”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Posada del Castillo B&B
Ranked #7 of 58 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Parfait au Carcassonne”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

After visiting Marseille, Avignon and Beziers with varying levels of service and lodgings, we spent 4 days experiencing superlative accommodation and service with Enrique e Lola at La Posada Del Castillo. The Posada and its owners vastly exceeded our expectation from tripadvisor. The location and views of the medieval cite' are second to none. The attention to detail by Enrique and Lola in respect of food, cleanliness, decoration and advice on places of interest, transport, where to dine is perfect. Enrique's knowledge of the history of Carcassonne and the entire region and his willingness to share and discuss with the guests is encyclopaedic.
In all we could not rate their beautiful home that they share with all their guests and their company as anything less than perfection.
Should we return to France, there is nowhere else we would wish to stay.
We believe in our short stay that we made two very good friends who always will be welcome as guests in our home city in Brazil.

Room Tip: We stayed in Violet le Duc with views of the city walls and absolute quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Bonjour de La Posada !
Nós mantemo-nos lembrar por muito tempo de sua estadia conosco. Seu humor e seu riso substituído algum dia o sol estava fora. Todas as manhãs, tomar o nosso guaraná e presto atenção a dose!
In a few weeks we begin to plan our "Winter Trip Tour" and we are looking at a lot of informations about Brazil !!
We wish you All the Best you want, you need, you love for this new life !!!
Un abrazo de Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
188
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamble, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had a great 2 nights staying at La Posada. Enrique went out of his way to help us with restaurant recommendations and also things to do during our stay. We would have easily given this place a top star rating anyway but the fact that at breakfast one morning Enrique produced my blackberry (which I must have absentmindedly left in the restaurant he had recommended the night before) only added to the top rate customer service you will receive if you book this accommodation. We cannot rate this place highly enough.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thanks a lot for all your compliments . We try to do better next time ! (As find your Ipad !!) . We hope see you again on the Cathar Country and send you our best "souvenirs". Très cordialement
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

What a warm welcome from Enrique and Lola to what must be the best B&B in Carcassonne. Fabulous location and our hosts couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay. We arrived not knowing Enrique and Lola, we left 3 days later as friends. We can't wait to return - they gave us so many ideas of where to visit next time. Sitting on the terrace is a little piece of heaven. Breakfast was perfect and they were so helpful with restaurant reservations. The rooms were beautifully furnished with such care and attention. Gorgeous towels too. Thank you both, Enrique and Lola!

Room Tip: Next time we'll choose a different room, one at the back of the house, just so we can try all 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Where_to_nextUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Hello !
Someone have to create tripadvisor for owners because you are great and friendly guests. We have still a lot of ideas and places to recommend for your next trip. We appreciate all our discussions too. You've really visit a lot of things and must to see in Carcassonne. Next time the way is.....Pyrénées and Upper Valley !
(Thanks for the towels.....they are all in organic coton and fairtrade and you see that..)
I'll never forget the story of rare meat :-)
We send you our best memories and wish you All the Best !
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I spent here two amazing days thanks to Enrique and Lola, their advices and the unrivalled hospitality of their house.
Extremely close to the city walls (less than 2 minutes walk), this amazing posada is nested just outside the old city walls and offers unrivalled views of the walls at night.

Enrique and Lola are the best. They welcome you in the nicest way and are generous with advices, suggestions and anything you may need.

This is the place to stay when visiting Carcassone.
Thank you, Enrique and Lola

Paola & Paolo
Milan - Italy

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Google Translation
Ciao da Carcassonne !
Siamo sinceramente lieti che il vostro soggiorno a La Posada vi hanno lasciato un buon ricordo del vostro soggiorno nella terra dei Catari.
We keep in our memories our discussions and stories about all the things to see or to visit.
Nous espérons trè sincèrement que nos routes se croiseront de nouveau .
Nous vous souhaitons le meilleur et une belle fin d'année.
Très cordialement
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at La Posada del Castillo at the tail end of our honeymoon. Upon arrival we were welcomed by Enrique who helped us with our luggage. His high level of service never dropped and he was always available to discuss local sightseeing and recommend good restaurants. He had lots of good ideas for excursions and had we stayed longer I am sure we would have explored further.
Our room was simple but stylish with an excellent.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with being serenaded by Mark Knopfler while chatting to Enrique in the B&B courtyard being the highlight.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimLuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Hello !
What a good "souvenir" this night on the terrace with Mark Knopfler playing guitar somewhere around. We call it "magical moments" and this was one of them.
We love this special moments during the Summer Festival when we have special guests and we can hear some good music by the Medieval City.
We wish you All the Best and send you our best memories.
Kind regards
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have used tripadvisor on numerous occasions but this is the first time I have actually wanted to leave a review. This is undoubtedly due to the incredible time we had here. Lola and Enrique are amazing and nothing is too much trouble. The 2 nights we spent there were definitely the highlight of our trip. It is very rare we want to re-stay somewhere but we can not wait to return. From collecting us at the train station, to extensive knowledge of everything to do in the area, to booking restaurants for us (which were fantastic) Lola and Enrique are two of the most special people we have ever met! The location is perfect and the rooms and terrace are beautiful. This place is truly wonderful.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank juliet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Wowww !! What a review!! Be sure that we don't forget you here at La Posada. Gilad is still sending us photos from "El Camino de Santiago". We really appreciate your "zen attitude" and your "way of life". We really hope to meet you again.
All the Best !
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent 4 nights at La Posada recently and had a very pleasant stay indeed. The location is excellent, just outside the main medieval castle with free parking right outside, and a beautiful terrace with superb views and a very relaxing atmosphere. Probably La Posada’s strongest points are the owners Enrique & Lola, in particular Enrique’s level of service – full of helpful advice on where to visit, where to eat, arranging bookings and getting us nice tables in restaurants, and being all-round very pleasant company. First class. The place itself has only four rooms so is quiet and intimate. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated with historical, eccentric touches, although as a B&B rather than a hotel, there was no daily cleaning of the room – one of the very few reminders that you’re in someone’s home rather than in a boutique hotel. Breakfast, although by no means extensive, was nice, with the added touch of giving us anything we hadn’t finished in a bag for the day together with a bottle of water. The flexibility to allow us to eat late (nudging on towards lunchtime on occasions) was much appreciated, and again is indicative of the excellent service at La Posada. A very pleasant base for exploring Carcassonne and Cathar Country, and the benefit of Enrique’s insights into the area make a massive difference to the quality of the trip. A great find and well recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quintopino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi there from La Posada !
Thanks for your review about your stay here. For us it was a pleasure to receive you during our "summer break" (that's the reason of a late breakfast :-) at twelve !). The cleaning of the room is not automatic because we let our guests choose if they want it or not. For discretion reasons we don't enter their rooms during their stay excepted if they want or need it. We really want that you feel like at home when you arrive in our house. We think you have totally understand the "concept" of La Posada "A room far from home and receive and treated like friends traveling". Thanks for all the tips you give us to visit , particulary Perratallada we love it.
Kind regards and All the Best
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Castillo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Castillo B&B

Property: La Posada del Castillo B&B
Address: 60 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find this hidden gem tucked away in the picturesque quarter known as La Barbacane and it is here that visitors from all around the world choose to stay in the heart of Cathar country. Built on the site of the former barbican of the medieval City and at the very foot of the ramparts, both the City and the Bastide Saint Louis are easily accessible on foot. At the Posada del Castillo B&B , we are in a classified historical monuments' area so, although we do not have a swimming pool, we do have Carcassonne's Lake Cavayere 5 minutes away as well as the Mediterranean, mountain lakes, rivers and streams in close proximity. Although, being in a town and next to the Chapel of Saint Gimer, we do not have large grounds or parklands, we do have a cosy terrace and a private garden which offer our guests a truly unique view of the Cite. Indeed, the medieval walls, the Porte d'Aude and the Chateau Comtal are less than 100m away. It is the Porte d'Aude which evokes Carcassone world wide and it is this gate which is featured on all of the postcards and used as a backdrop in films and historical productions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing