We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value Priced with Excellent Location”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne Center
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We chose this hotel based on its proximity to the rail station. The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from Gare Carcassone and about 15 minutes from the medieval cite. The owners are very accommodating and helpful. We overlooked their check-in deadline (20h00) and they called to check where we were at 20h10...( our train was 30 minutes late). They offered a fantastic restaurant recommendation in the Cite which we enjoyed very much. The Saturday morning market was set up less than a block away. The room comfortably slept 4 of us. The room was very clean; bathroom also clean with plenty of towels and great water pressure in the shower. The aesthetics of the hotel are a bit tired, but for a clean, well-located and friendly spot to lay your head, you can not beat this.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thewelltraveledgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

I stayed 4 nights in a twin room with my daughter and paid €236 Plus €8 each for continental breakfast, fresh croissants and good coffee. On they way out of UK I 'lost' my pain medication in the x ray unit at Stansted a French friend rang the hotel and explained that I needed to see an English doctor that day, the owner took me to the Surgery next door to the hotel explained my predicament and got me an appointment, the Dr was thorough and spoke impeccable English he gave me a thorough check up and wrote me up for my Morphine, the hotel explained where to get it from in town. Most excellent service xxxxxx

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terrymurphy6945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is a basic but clean hotel right next to a good restaurant. The owners seem to have been doing it up themselves so some areas are unfinished and our room had been adapted to build in an en-suite. It is let's say, a little quirky. There are air conditioning controls but they seemed to be just for show. The breakfast was very basic. The cost was 76.70 euros which is more expensive than the budget Etap Hotel chain. It is a few minutes walk from 'La Cite' but on a main road.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ge0rgiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I really liked this hotel. 5 of us stayed here in 3 seperate rooms. It's within walking distance of everything you need. The owners are very friendly, accomadating and as stated have limited English, but more can speak more english than I do French.
Great location
Clean
We never ate in the hotel
Can't fault it for the price

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clloydie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel is a typical low end hotel in Europe. Nothing special, but nothing really wrong with it. The beds were comfortable, and it was clean enough. The air conditioning was barely adequate, the "controls" were a sham. Breakfast was way over priced, opt for one of the lovely bakeries nearby. The owners were friendly, but their English was limited.

Room Tip: Don't buy the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The hote is located within walking distance from the train station and the medival castle. We arrived late and the owner left a note for us at the front door with instructions on how to get in. The owners are super friendly and gave us directions on how to get around. They even let us borrow an umbrella. The only downside was the room faced to main street so it gets noise from the traffic.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank newchronos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Why is it that all French Hotels of a certain age have sloping floors? This one was no different, it does add character to a perfectly adequate, clean hotel right on the edge of the town centre and about 15-20 mminutes from the Cite Medievale. The room had been decorated and further renovation/investment was underway in the shape of a/c to add to comfort in high summer. Although the rooms face out onto the main road, we found it quite quiet and easy to park at night. Breakfast was OK and plenty of it too.
We looked cat several places including Logis de France before choosing this one and would have no hesitation staying here again. Room rates were also acceptable. Car parking is on the street outside.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Truediamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#25 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
336 reviews
0 mi away
Au Royal Hotel
Au Royal Hotel
#38 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
#31 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kyriad Carcassonne La Cite
Hotel Kyriad Carcassonne La Cite
#26 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
336 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel l'Etoile
Hotel l'Etoile
#28 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 27 boulevard Jean Jaures, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: £48 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing