We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Value Hotel in Good Location”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I found this hotel via the tourist office. I call it quirky because it has lots of little staircases and hallways leading around corners to reach the rooms. The decor is bright and eclectic. The price was right. My single room was small and clean with a small window overlooking a side street. As I was in town, it did did get noisy outside. The reception staff spoke better English than expected and gave good recommendations for touring the countryside. The bathroom was clean, updated and had good water pressure. They let me park my car for free, which was a great bonus and saved me at least 30€. The adjacent restaurant (not run by the hotel) is quite good for dinner. The hotel is an easy walk to the castle and old cite, as well as to the famous market squares and the canal. No view to speak of, but I did not pay for it either.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Molly2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

This hotel is exceptional value for money based on its location, staff and comfort. We took the airport bus to the train station and the hotel was less than a 5 minute walk away. From the hotel, the main square of the new town is a 5 minute walk one direction whilst the castle and old town is a 10-15 minute walk in the other direction, and really easy to navigate, very direct. We stayed for only 2 nights and the lovely staff provided us with a map and marked all the streets and pubs and restaurants so that we got our bearings much faster than wandering around without their help.
The rooms aren't big but they are big enough, as opposed to small rooms in Paris say, you can actually walk around the beds here! The rooms have tvs, a/c, private toilets/showers, free wi-fi and above all, the beds are comfy and the hotel is quiet. I would definitely stay here again for the great location, price and staff.
Just one thing to note, the breakfast costs €8 and is basically the usual cereal, croissants, bread, cheeses, hams, yoghurts etc. While all of the above is fine to fill a gap, you can stroll just around the corner and have a delicious crepe or some sort of hot food for the same money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bellaEIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Basic nice hotel. Small rooms but clean and convenient. Very good located, about 15 min walk to the walls of the old medival town. A few minutes to the entertainment center: Bars, Cafes and restaurants. Very nice and friendly service. A double room and breakfast = 80eur.

Room Tip: No elevator. Ask for a low floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We chose this hotel based on its proximity to the rail station. The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from Gare Carcassone and about 15 minutes from the medieval cite. The owners are very accommodating and helpful. We overlooked their check-in deadline (20h00) and they called to check where we were at 20h10...( our train was 30 minutes late). They offered a fantastic restaurant recommendation in the Cite which we enjoyed very much. The Saturday morning market was set up less than a block away. The room comfortably slept 4 of us. The room was very clean; bathroom also clean with plenty of towels and great water pressure in the shower. The aesthetics of the hotel are a bit tired, but for a clean, well-located and friendly spot to lay your head, you can not beat this.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thewelltraveledgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I stayed 4 nights in a twin room with my daughter and paid €236 Plus €8 each for continental breakfast, fresh croissants and good coffee. On they way out of UK I 'lost' my pain medication in the x ray unit at Stansted a French friend rang the hotel and explained that I needed to see an English doctor that day, the owner took me to the Surgery next door to the hotel explained my predicament and got me an appointment, the Dr was thorough and spoke impeccable English he gave me a thorough check up and wrote me up for my Morphine, the hotel explained where to get it from in town. Most excellent service xxxxxx

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terrymurphy6945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is a basic but clean hotel right next to a good restaurant. The owners seem to have been doing it up themselves so some areas are unfinished and our room had been adapted to build in an en-suite. It is let's say, a little quirky. There are air conditioning controls but they seemed to be just for show. The breakfast was very basic. The cost was 76.70 euros which is more expensive than the budget Etap Hotel chain. It is a few minutes walk from 'La Cite' but on a main road.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ge0rgiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I really liked this hotel. 5 of us stayed here in 3 seperate rooms. It's within walking distance of everything you need. The owners are very friendly, accomadating and as stated have limited English, but more can speak more english than I do French.
Great location
Clean
We never ate in the hotel
Can't fault it for the price

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clloydie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#25 of 39 in Carcassonne
336 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
#18 of 39 in Carcassonne
201 reviews
0 mi away
Au Royal Hotel
Au Royal Hotel
#38 of 39 in Carcassonne
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#20 of 39 in Carcassonne
143 reviews
1.6 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
1.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 27 boulevard Jean Jaures, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range: £48 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing