We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet as a Mouse in stunning scenery”
other travellers have booked this property
View from property front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from property front
Living Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
View from property front
Living Room
Kitchen
Lifeguard at the lake
Dining Area
Living Room
Main Bedroom
Hall area
Bedroom 2
Decking area
View from bedroom
Side view of Chalet
Walled city at Carcassonne, 1 hr drive from Chalet
View on road from L'Escale
Puivert
French Afghan restaurant in Puivert
Le Chalet
Main Bedroom (2)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David L
1 review
“Quiet as a Mouse in stunning scenery”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

In the middle of nowhere but so close to everywhere - the perfect location for touring round this beautiful area. Must are the Cathar's Castes which dominate the area. Roquefixade Chateau [free] and Montsegur [pay] are a must to visit. Also the lovely Med village of Collioure which is a gem. The Chalet is huge with walks from the doorstep as well as far afield. The perfect place to get away from normal English life and see how the French do it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remoteness, the quiet and the countryside around and the log fire
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2016
Hi David, thank you for this review and I'm delighted that you had a pleasant trip. I love what you wrote, "In the middle of nowhere but so close to everywhere" - there is so much going on around there, although it feels like you're away from it all. Mike.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren W
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Lovely Chalet set in the Pyrenees!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My husband and I were looking for a tranquil place to vacation in the Pyrenees and Le Chalet was the perfect choice! With the gorgeous mountain views and peaceful surroundings- we simply did not want to leave! We had a variety of outdoors activities (Hiking, Biking, Fishing) at our fingertips and the town of Puivert is easily accessible to have a delicious dinner out or to shop around town. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin C
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serene setting”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My wife and I and some of our friends stayed here and loved it. Great views of the lovely Pyrenees from the balcony and the area is wonderful for hiking. We also enjoyed some of fabulous local cuisine. The chalet was clean and well-maintained and fit our needs of a group just looking for some good times perfectly. I highly recommend and would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWeinberg...
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem in Pyrenees”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

After returning from our trip at Le Chalet, I felt compelled to write a review. The house was perfect for our group of 6. Clean, comfortable, with amazing views off the balcony. The location was perfect for us to explore the area (Montségur castle, Carcassonne, Ax-Les-Thermes, LA Grasse). The town of Puivert is small and peaceful with some nice little restaurants easily accessible from Le Chalet. We will be back... hopefully next time for a much longer stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RazzyLond...
London
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable and easy day trips for many 'must see' sights”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The chalet is in a peaceful rural location in a very quiet lane and has a comfortable and homely environment with just about everything you will need. We loved the sociable open plan living area and most especially the woodburning stove. The living style is a combination of rustic and modern. There is UK satellite TV and fast internet connection-everything works well. In any case the owners are extremely helpful from booking arrangements on! Thank you to the Hutchins family

The unusually cold April weather, (still better than UK), meant that we were unable to make use of the garden furniture to sit on the decking, nor use the garden games or the nearby swimming lake but I can imagine how beautiful it will be with spring underway.

The location is really central, (especially compared with many holiday lets in the region), for visiting sights such as Montsegur, the Ariege caves, gorges, castles such as Puilaurens and old villages. The drives to these are also enjoyable and interesting. Carcassonne is a very easy day trip.

The nearest big town is Quillan and there are several supermarkets clearly signposted from the road in, (outskirts), where you can find everything you could need including reasonably priced fuel. This is the easiest route to take out towards Carcassonne-you might find your satnav takes you on an interesting long, steep and very winding road to begin with. Don't worry there is the easier route!

You can't miss the privately owned Puivert Castle just down the road from the chalet-well worth a visit! Also watch out for the local wildlife, in particular birds of prey. There is information on this in the chalet and also guide books, maps and French dictionary!

From Rina, David and children

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely open plan living area with woodburning stove
Liked least: Only applicable in VERY cold weather i.e 8C or less outside!! First thing in the morning sharing living room heater with nearby bedroom when woodburner NOT lit. Other bedroom had it's own heater as did the upper living space.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Reviewed 23 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Surrey
Reviewed 14 September 2011 for a stay in August 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing