We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Perfect!”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
exterior view of the holiday cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
exterior view of the holiday cottage
patio & bbq for long lazy lunches gite inside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
39 reviews
exterior view of the holiday cottage
patio & bbq for long lazy lunches
gite inside
gite fully equiped kitchen area
gite master bedroom
gite twin room
gite landing
Shaded sitting area for cool drinks on warm evenings
view of the village of Cailhavel
fabulous autumn colours of the vines
A view towards the Pyrenees
Canal du Midi, a UNESCO world heritage site
The Cité of Carcassonne, a UNESCO world heritage site
Limoux Carnaval, the world's longest carnaval
Excellent wines from the Languedoc region on our doorstep
Tour de Magdalene at Rennes-le-Château
The Bassin at Castelnaudary, a UNESCO world heritage site
View of the Lauragais
Poterie Not, hand made pottery near Castelnaudary
Limoux market, one of many local markets selling fresh produce
Local produce is available at many local farms
Château Lastours
Lagrasse Abbey, one of the 'plus beaux villages de France'
Chalabre
Abbey de St.Papoul
Vines near Carcassonne
Grotto at Cabrespine
Tourist Train from Axat to Rivesaltes
Château de Puilaurens
Mural
snails
sunflowers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elisabet...
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We went there with my 2 and 4 year old kids, and we felt like at home. The cottage is nice, well equipped, and very clean. We had all we needed. In addition Déborah and Steved were there to make our stay even more pleasant.
The cottage is located in a very nice region. It is calm, out from the main city of Carcassone, but very close by car. The landscapes in Cailhavel area are very beautiful, and this one of the things we enjoyed more.
Totally recommendable!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Very charming
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry O
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what the "doctor" ordered!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

The "doctor" in this case was a tired and stressed wife. Request from the "doctor" was - find me a very relaxing time in laid-back pleasant surroundings in the south of France. And that is exactly what we landed at Chez Grady.

Good choice on my part, thankfully. Delightful hosts in Steve and Debbie - ever present but non-intrusive in any way. Delightful little village - looked like time had been standing still for a long,long time there. Inside was all you needed and maintained to a very high standard.

There seemed to be an unlimited supply of the tastiest tomatoes from Steve's vegetable gardens outside. Couple that with the daily early morning fresh bread delivery from Steve enabled us to successfully launch ourselves into each day.

The leaving was harder than we could have imagined - such a good time had we enjoyed.
A great place to unwind and relax.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: It was very much as advertised. The hosts were
Liked least: Did not encounter a problem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
Villemoustaussou, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyment fullfilled again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have stayed here on a couple of previous occasions, each time being really good, the accommodation and the hospitallity of the owners was and is first class. This time some friends accompanied us and they were equally as impressed as we have been and still are, The Gite was spotlessly clean and the hosts as charming as always. The location is excellent for many local attraction and the simple walk to the next village (Cailhau) opens up a wonderful view of the Pyrenees.
We liked it so much we have booked again for next year.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth J
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting location, superb property, friendly welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We were able to find the property easily and were given a warm welcome by Stephen and Debbie who can give any helpful advice and information you require. The location and surroundings are superb and the property is well equipped and comfortable.
Many interesting places to see in easy driving distance and several great walks on the doorstep.
A great get away from it all break but no shop, café, bar or restaurant within walking distance - you do need a car.
I would very highly recommend this property and will be very tempted to return on a regular basis.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The tranquility, the views and the French village feel.
Liked least: Getting out of Toulouse with our hire car.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet and comfortable, with all possible facilities and very welcoming hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed for a week in May, with unseasonably cold wet weather; so couldn't make much use of outside facilities. Debbie and Steve were really friendly and welcoming; and it was impossible to imagine anything more which could have been laid on. They directed us to suitable wine cellars, for visits and purchase in the rain; and always checked if we needed anything further (which we didn't). The whole area is lovely and the village very quiet: you have to drive a couple of miles for shopping, and even for a bar. So the cottage is the place you return to, to chill out, after exploring endless sites: châteaux, river valleys, churches, woods, hills, and Carcassonne itself. Highly recommended.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The feeling of sharing space with owners who really cared about it.
Liked least: Perhaps a few more signs of life in the village would have been nice.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swerr
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to spend your vacation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Chez Grady. Very lovely place held by very friendly and welcoming people Debby and Steve. The apartment fitted and equiped so well that there is no things you can't find. Everything is shiny cleaned and in ideal order.
Village Caihavel is a pleasant place among the fields and meadows of French South. Close to Carcassone, Limoux, Mirepoix. We loved Chez Grady and I can recommend it to all as perfect place spend your vacation. My best regards to Debby and Steve.

Vladimir

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Cleanness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sishead
spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect get away from it all rental.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

The house has been renovated to a very hu¡igh standard. The owners are very welcoming and generous, on hand for any help you need but also give you your own space. Little touches like having the fire lit on arrival make all the difference and make it a place that we would return to. Perfect for a weekend away for some relaxation and fresh air, set in some beautiful countryside.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: welcoming feel, spotlessly clean and beautiful setting.
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing