We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super food. Great service”
Review of Auberge des Lices

Auberge des Lices
Ranked #8 of 338 Restaurants in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Though Le Cite is very commercial..locals appear to be the main people eating at this restaurant..wonderful local fare..not expensive..good wines by the glass. As a solo traveller they were very accomodating and helpful
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Super food. Great service”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We also ate the Michelin starred Hotel de Cite and found our experience at de Lices just as good. We had the tasting menu which was great value and well cooked and presented.
No rush at the table . A very enjoyable (and slighly inebriated) three hous. Would definitely go again if we had the chance

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank arthurmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    240
    49
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I had prepared a short list of recommended restaurants for Carcassonne , however I always like to check with our hotel for their recommendations as well . My thanks goes to the hotel for this one .
With our handy little map we found it easily enough. It was not terribly far from the hotel . As we were perusing the menu one of the employees was entering and invited us in . Charming place . We were shown to the reception desk , immediately in front of the desk there is a large grate in the floor allowing you to see into the wine cave .
We each started with a salad and for our main since we are in the cassoulet region and are addicted to it naturally that is what we chose and of course and excellent bottle of wine.
Excellent food ,well prepared and great service .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loretta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent, lovely outdoor patio.”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was recommended by our B&B hostess, and we are so glad it was. The food was wonderful, the setting in the outdoor patio was delightful, the local wine was delicious. Reservations are definitely recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank metaligenics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“poor 19.50 euro meal”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Not sure if we caught this place on a bad night, but this is a truthful and honest review.
Starter OK, green salad with strips of unknown meat and shavings of parmesan cheese and dressing.
Main POOR, The steak was gristly, fatty and cold possibly one of the worst steaks I have ever had, vegetables cold, lumps in the mash!!.
Dessert POOR, Chocolate mousse( that to be honest could have come from Danone or Nestle)
a blob of cream floating in very weak, watery tasteless custard.
Wine Excellent, but they only had to pull the cork.
Service with a smile , not here, surly, abrupt and rushed

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trent1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“At last, a real restaurant in Carcasson”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

With the help of Trip Advisor, we found this restaurant that served quality meals at a reasonablle price. Well trained staff and lovely ambience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge des Lices also viewed

Carcassonne, Aude
Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to Auberge des Lices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing