We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

The hotel was very quiet and clean with pleasant staff and a good restaurant. It was in a good spot to visit the walled city of Carcassonne and had free parking. It was good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaideVera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    491
    96
    16
    10
See reviews for
177
516
27
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Booked to stay here May Bank holiday. Got 3 nights for the price of 2! Free parking and only a short walk to the old city. Comfortable rooms, clean and tidy. Opposite a shopping area but that suited us. I would stay again

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sh1353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This was a very nice hotel, very quiet, very clean. There was a buffet that was also very nice for dinner, and included petit desserts. Unfortunately, the gnats and bugs nearly overtook us. We even had a friendly spider in our room!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinderOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed one night in October 2010. The hotel is really ideal for business travelers. It is really nice, very clean, has all the amenities including really good breakfasts and reasonable other meals. Modern and first rate. We had a hard time finding it though. The directions to it are difficult. Close to big stores but otherwise on the outskirts of town. Quite a change from the 46 other hotels we stayed in on our trip, but excellent nevertheless.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank overbid2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

What can be said about this hotel? It at first appears to be one of those new box hotels growing like weeds along every highway in the States. This one situated next to a discount grocer's parking lot. However, if you have a car and are just stopping by Carcassonne for a night, this would be your best bang-for-the-buck bet. The facility is brand new and has a simple contemporary style. The rooms are average size as is the bathroom (shower only). However, the two features which really stand out are the quality of the staff and the quality of the food in the restaurant.

We were surprised to see people sitting outside eating when we first approached the hotel. It didn't strike us as a likely location or view (though you can see the walls of the old city on the horizon just above the Leader Price) to dine. However, once we took a look at the menu and the buffet's assortment of food, we were enticed. So after a day beating around the old city and the castle, we retired back to the hotel for an unexpectedly good meal with some of the most friendly staff we have encountered anywhere. I don't know whether the quality of the staff is consistent across Campanile hotels or whether this is due to the management in Carcassonne, but somebody knows how to hire and train good people.

As we proceeded with our trip and were going through our receipts, we still marvel at how little we paid for a room and two meals in such a nice little rest spot.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

The hotel is newly built and as such a very nice place to be. The reception and the rooms were exceptionally comfortable and the staff were helpful from the word go. There was always someone on duty who spoke enough English to help, although i'd recommend giving your basic French a try too. The rooms were exceptionally well soundproofed from the other rooms and you could hardly hear a thing through the walls. The beds were so very comfortable in their pocket-sprung loveliness. My gripe is that in the morning, because it's on a commercial park there was often work going on from 7AM and even with the windows closed it was enough to wake you up, next time i'd request a room facing away from the main park. Location wise though, despite it being on a site with supermarkets and cafe's was a very short walk to La Cité which in turn is a short walk from the main town and having the supermarkets nearby meant an easy way to get snacks and provisions if you need them. Half an hour at a reasonable pace I would say, but i'm a quick walker and it didn't take more than 20 minutes. If you are not a keen walker though it may seem a long way. Also, from Carcasonne Airport, you need to take the shuttle to the square in Carcasonne then wait for the number 1 or number 10 bus which is the easiest way to transport your luggage - the shuttle was great and took you straight to the square. All for 5 Euros! Finally, for the trips I went on they were all happy to pick up from the hotel although say it's near the Ibis as it's so new it's not even on Google Maps yet.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main park if you can to reduce noise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WayStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stopped off here for one night en route between the Dordogne and Ardeche having decided to spend our money on a good meal at the Hotel de la Cite restaurant (absolutely fantastic- highly recommend!) As you’d expect with this brand, the hotel is located in an area of warehouses and large furniture and sports shops by the side of a motorway- not the most attractive location and you definitely don’t want to walk to/from it at night. That said, the room was pleasant enough and there was no road noise or other noise to speak of. We decided not to have breakfast there to try and find somewhere more pleasant for breakfast in town but, given that French breakfast menu is limited, we ended up having the same breakfast somewhere else outside the ancient city walls, albeit sitting on a terrace watching the world go by. Carcassone is such a beautiful city- staying here you certainly don’t feel you’re in Carcassone and I wouldn’t want to stay here if we were spending more time in the area but would find somewhere with a bit more soul to it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
1.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.9 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite

Property: Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Address: Rue Camille Flammarion, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing