We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for one quick night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Just wanted a clean and comfortable hotel for one night to visit Carcassonne.
This place really delivered for the price. Smallish room but comfortable beds and the rare find in Europe, a "GREAT!" shower.

Attentive staff, free parking, very clean. Coffee in room, and it is right across the street from a wonderful supermarket and shopping center. Great for restocking on all essentials.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

We were staying only one day in Carcassonne and I had heard nightmarish stories about parking there. So the reviews here persuaded me that we could skip Olde World Charm for one night.

Good choice. The hotel is out an industrial cul de sac, so be sure you have your GPS on or you'll waste a lot of time looking for it. The hotel is bright, modern, so clean it could have opened yesterday, and the beds and bathroom were both fine. True, there isn't the charm of a historic French hotel, but there aren't the plumbing and lumpy beds problems, either. The hotel staff were very quick to offer help when they could see that I cannot walk without a quad cane, opening doors and offering to carry bags for me. They also pointed out a disabled parking slot closer to the door than the one I had parked in.

Breakfast was the standard breakfast buffet. We opted to stay in for dinner because it was raining hard--rain, wet cobblestones, and a bad leg do not go well together! Not many choices, but the meal was surprisingly satisfying, and the wine was much better than I would have guessed it would be.

I would recommend this place to anyone on a short stay in Carcassonne.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flitcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I would add this chain to my list of first choices. Very friendly and efficient staff. Clean and modern room. Free wi-fi. Slightly overpriced breakfast. Bring your own wash cloths. Overall it was a really good value........ A lot to like.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtsteinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Far from the Cite' car needed, situated on industrial estate, that would be the only downfall of what is a pleasant hotel. beds were extremely comfortable, rooms clean. however far from attractions. air conditioning in every room which is essential in the summer months. breakfast however over priced for what it was.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We chose this hotel for our first two nights in France as we prepared to travel through the Canal du Midi on a chartered boat. At first, the location seemed a little inconvenient as it was a cab ride away from downtown city center and appeared isolated. But it turns out to be a great bargain and located very near La Cite. We had a shopping mall with two grocery stores within a 2 to 3 minute walk across parking lot. This was important to us as we wanted to buy provisions for boat. We also discovered that the bus that stops right in front of shopping mall is a 3 minute ride to La Cite. 1 euro per person, and driver drops you two blocks from entrance to La Cite. Locals are willing to help you with which bus (take the #10 to La Cite from Casino supermarket). After spending a few hours at La Cite we wanted to go into city center at base of town. Again locals directed us to the correct bus, leaving from the same bus stop we were dropped at for La Cite (the #4 takes you to downtown area, 1 euro per person). We walked 5 minutes to heart of downtown and were able to exchange US $$ for euros at very good rate at Post office. After wandering around town, we took the number 10 bus right back to Casino supermarket, across the street from Campanile Est-La Cite. Rooms are clean and functional. This is no frills hotel with friendly, courteous staff, clean rooms and wonderfully comfortable beds for bargain price. We ate breakfast here; typical european style (croissants, sweet breads/pasteries, yougurt, cafe, expresso machine, juices, fresh fruit, ham and cheese) and it was very good. We did not eat dinner based on reviews here on TA. We went into town first night by cab for dinner and had wine, cheese and crackers and snacks for a lite dinner (all purchased at grocery) at little seating area on second floor near elevator the next night. I would highly recommend this hotel for convenience, budget price, location, ease of getting to downtown and La Cite if you aren't afraid of being adventuresome and learning the bus system. For anyone traveling on chartered boat wanting a stopover on way to Homps, or using Carcassonne as base point for Le Boat, this is an ideal choice.

Room Tip: Only two floors, rooms away from elevator probably recommended. We were far down the hall and rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaopac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This was typical of all Campanile hotels. The room was functional and very clean. The welcome was good and we especially enjoyed the food. We were looked after by a student on work experience and he was super. He spoke brilliant English and he tried to get everything right for us.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the lake and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UlverstonJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for easy access to the airport next morning. We were met by a very efficient but courteous and welcoming receptionist. Our room was small but very comfortable . Despite being situate on an industrial estate and quite near to a busy road it was very quiet and I slept very well. I was not able to get wi-fi in the bedroom but I could in the reception area. However we felt it was excellent value for money. We did try the restaurant and were a little disappointed-it promised much but did not really deliver on the food front. The service in the restaurant was good. We were very quickly at the airport the next morning. We would definitely use this hotel again for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.9 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
1.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne
805 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
#24 of 39 in Carcassonne
985 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
504 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite

Address: Rue Camille Flammarion, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range: £39 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing