We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“OK for an overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I booked this hotel due to its location 5 minutes away from the autoroute and 10 minutes away from the medieval town. The hotel seems fairly new, and is set in a commercial area close to car dealerships and a supermarket.

The reception team were courteous, but there were a few issues. For example, the elevator was broken on arrival and still not functioning the next morning. Wifi barely functioned in my room which was quite far from reception- I am told they are addressing this- so check ahead if you need it.

The room was clean but I am not a fan of the Campanile's design- too garish for my taste.

Breakfast was a reasonably-priced buffet with a good choice of food. I'm not a fan of the overuse of lime green in the room, but for a quick overnight stay the hotel was OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank City99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    495
    97
    16
    10
See reviews for
178
523
27
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

The hotel works very good. It's quite modern, rooms are comfortable, facilities are well kept, it has it's own free parking, and breakfast can be included for a very reasonable price. The surrounding neighborhood is not quite nice, and it is not next to medieval city (20 minute walk), but you can easily take your car and park and drive there, the parking is not expensive and it's right next to it. If you don't have a car, the walk does not appear to be so tough. To sum up, this was great value for the money, I would definitely repeat hotel if I get back to Carcassone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MemnochXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is a very nice campanile and its location is very close to the Cite de Carcassonne, and close to the highway. Right outside the hotel, there are grocery stores where everything can be found. Everything in the room has been studied to fit a need and fit in space. The view is not fantastic but no one really cares. The employees and staff are very friendly. You need to pay attention to three things:
- The pillows are extremely flat and only one was available for each bed. Ask for more if there are nay.
- The air conditioning needs to be helped with at the front desk. Ask for help.
- The covers are extremely warm but you can undo the covers and use the cover as a sheet if the room is too warm.

Food was more than okay and there is plenty of food in the buffet. Try a further restaurant The Cathare if you have a car. Very authentic and fresh ingredients.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pourpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed here on our way to Spain. Location is in a retail park Check in was smooth. The room is the standard Campanile package. Comfortable bed small but effective shoer. The breakfast was better than expected with good choice. Overall well worth it for the price

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Although the hotel is situated at the end of a retail park, it was good value and handy for the ring road. There are shops nearby as well as a Chinese restaurant and a bistro belonging to the Geant supermarket.
Our room on the first floor was at the rear of the hotel but spotless, quite spacious and with good facilities such as tea/coffee and a hairdryer that really threw out some heat and quickly!
We stayed with friends whose room was at the front of the hotel and there was a distinct smell, the source of which seemed to be water leaking at the window sill. There seemed to be other fabric issues as well. Looking at the front of the hotel it was possible to see water staining below all the room windows on the timber cladding.
We ate in the restaurant and found the food plentiful and reasonably priced, although the wine was a bit expensive, but bear in mind this is a three star hotel.
The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful, speaking English when our French stalled!
Wi-Fi was available in the room, free and easy to access.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBY54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Just wanted a clean and comfortable hotel for one night to visit Carcassonne.
This place really delivered for the price. Smallish room but comfortable beds and the rare find in Europe, a "GREAT!" shower.

Attentive staff, free parking, very clean. Coffee in room, and it is right across the street from a wonderful supermarket and shopping center. Great for restocking on all essentials.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We were staying only one day in Carcassonne and I had heard nightmarish stories about parking there. So the reviews here persuaded me that we could skip Olde World Charm for one night.

Good choice. The hotel is out an industrial cul de sac, so be sure you have your GPS on or you'll waste a lot of time looking for it. The hotel is bright, modern, so clean it could have opened yesterday, and the beds and bathroom were both fine. True, there isn't the charm of a historic French hotel, but there aren't the plumbing and lumpy beds problems, either. The hotel staff were very quick to offer help when they could see that I cannot walk without a quad cane, opening doors and offering to carry bags for me. They also pointed out a disabled parking slot closer to the door than the one I had parked in.

Breakfast was the standard breakfast buffet. We opted to stay in for dinner because it was raining hard--rain, wet cobblestones, and a bad leg do not go well together! Not many choices, but the meal was surprisingly satisfying, and the wine was much better than I would have guessed it would be.

I would recommend this place to anyone on a short stay in Carcassonne.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flitcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.9 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite

Property: Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Address: Rue Camille Flammarion, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing