We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We did not want to leave !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
high peak, derbyshire
1 review
“We did not want to leave !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

This hotel is superb and derserves the 5 * status.
It is charming, clean, magical and welcoming.
Our room was in one of the towers and reached by stone circular steps, our bed was huge and there was a small mezzanine above with a small bed for our son, he thought that was great and gave him some privacy.

My son felt he was staying at Hogwarts, whereas my husband and I felt we were on the set of Camelot !.

The staff were excellant, smiling and helpful to a fault.

The food in the Brasserie was wonderful and the breakfast abundant.

I read a review en route to the Hotel that was derogatory and cannot understand how anyone could
find fault with service, location, rooms etc.

The pool was a great surprise for my son and very welcome after travelling through France for the week, It was a super area to relax between walking about the walled city for most of the day.

We will certainly return, it was both romantic and great for a family break, children are respected and acknowledged to the same degree as the adults.

What a find... A real special place.

July 16th to 19th 2011,

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feedsdirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    323
    101
    33
    15
See reviews for
305
856
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We spent one night at Hotel de la Cite, and I would be rating it "Excellent" right now, if it wasn't for the quality of our room.

We were received by a hotel employee at the parking lot, he took our luggage in his little car, while we chose to walk to the hotel through the secret doors and stairs. The kids loved this little adventure. The hotel looked lovely from the outside and the lobby and adjacent gardens were equally charming. The reception staff was very attentive, the young man that took us to our room was very nice and helpful. We had to walk through gorgeous old corridors with lots of stairs, and it all looked promising until we reached a dungy old veranda that had been converted into a hall and had what looked like an old curtain FULL of dead bugs in lieu of a ceiling. And of course that's where our room was.

We stayed at what is called a family room, and it was NOT worth the money we paid for it. The only thing nice about it was the bathroom, which was very lovely. The room itself had a very weird flow and the decor looked cheap and a bit dungy.

We did not spend much time in the room, so it didn't ruin our stay, but this was the worst room on this trip, and also the most expensive one, which just didn't feel right given that we stayed two blocks away from the Arc de Triomphe in Paris. However, this room was pretty much our only choice, as no other hotel within the Carcassonne city walls would take a reservation for a family of 4 in one room (even though our youngest is only 2 and sleeps in a PlayPen that we bring along...).

We do not regret staying at Hotel de la Cite, because being where it is, it allowed us to really enjoy Carcassonne early in the morning, when we got to walk the charming streets before they become a giant street market full of people and tacky souvenirs. I think if we hadn't had this opportunity of walking around the empty city, we wouldn't have many nice memories of Carcassonne. In the afternoon it just felt like a very crowded and loud place where you could barely walk, and this wasn't even the busiest season....

Tip: our nicest pictures of Carcassonne are the ones we took in the hotel gardens. They offer FABULOUS views of the city and no people. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bringing_the_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Dear Reader

Do not waste your hard earned money on this haughty, self serving, lazy establishment.

Our two day visit started badly and did not really improve until we returned home and we were so looking forward to staying at a Hotel with such a reputation.

Our arrival at the railway station at eleven in the morning meant jumping in a taxi to take us up to the medieval city. The driver was helpful with luggage and to our surprise telephoned the Hotel by mobile, at his expense, to check our reservation and inform them we were making the five minute journey. The driver pulled up into the 'hotel parking area' at the foot of the city walls, explained that his vehicle along with many others was too large to negotiate the narrow streets and porticos and that the Hotel would be sending a small vehicle fit for purpose in five or perhaps 10 minutes.

After waiting 15 minutes, we settled on the five minute hand gesture of the morose car park attendant and waited a further 10 minutes or so. No word from the Hotel, no sign of a vehicle but we were becoming a feature for the tourists on the little sight seeing train which ran passed us every 20 minutes. Never mind, lets walk and the same charmless parking attendant sent us in a direction with our luggage which was probably only suitable for those with siege ladders and grappling hooks. The folly of this act of self help became obvious after 10 minutes and we were resigned to an expensive international mobile telephone call asking the Hotel for help. Retracing our footsteps in the rain we were met by a scruffy little vehicle, driven by a porter who explained with a shrug what should you expect from the taxi drivers of Carcassonne.

Even at mid day the queues at reception gave us an early idea that our bedroom would not be ready for occupation for some little while yet and with no offer of refreshment or apology thought it best to seek lunch close by. Upon our return a well meaning young receptionists took us to our 'very quiet room'. Alas, no porter available. This 'very quiet room' was not what we had hoped for, as the sound of luggage wheels on cobbles outside our bedroom at 6 ish in the morning was followed by the arrival of workmen at 7.00 am - vans, scooters et al. Nor was it quiet in the afternoon, as the children in the pool right outside our bedroom took care of that and we are still at a loss as to what was happening in the room above us each night an hour or two each side of midnight - rounders? packing? training penguins?

Throughout our short stay there were tell tale signs of the lack of attention to detail, the lack of staff training and the lack of management presence. For example, to wait 28 minutes to be served a beer and a glass of local fizz on the garden terrace was not good enough, the Do Not Disturb sign would not fit unless wedged in the door and one of the two plug points closest to the kettle did not work - does anyone here ever check anything? Our room did have a novel television system with a curious elevating central aisle, which can be treated as a roundabout and may well work well for those people who only want to watch TV in bed.

There were plenty of staff about, all over the place, mostly hiding in nooks and crannies or in small teams siting on steps, smoking and watching the world go by. Le Jardin De L'Eveque - good food but just try and get a second drink before you finish your main course.

Breakfast the best feature, lovely buffet and excellent bread but then the bread is excellent in all of France and let's face it if you take breakfast before 8.00 am you will have the waitress all to yourself. There was no porter in evidence at checkout and we were met with the familiar sigh and shrug of the shoulders and a 'I will try' when we requested a taxi to take us to the airport with 45 minutes notice. Even at this stage I was still at a loss as to why the receptionists on our arrival insisted on telling me that it would have costed 21 Euros to park my car given the taxi debacle. I could go on and on.

This part of France is sleepy, sunny and charming and it would be very easy to be forgiving for the laid back casual mediocre service were the charges levied similarly laid back - but these are not these are full on top whack premier league footballer charges. Check their website.

Well dear reader, if you are still tempted to go and see for yourself I will leave you with this tender thought - upon departure you may well have to check in at the airport and may have to travel home courtesy of Ryanair.

The management here should visit the Raleigh Hotel in Miami and see what good pool side service looks like, the Ritz in Madrid to see what well trained staff can deliver (and cheaper), the Goring in London and learn the art of shop floor management, Bovey Castle in Devon for how to do leisure with style and finally a visit to Venice would not be out of place, for there they may discover how to overcome a local taxi problem.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank yorkshireluddite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

The setting for this hotel is superb.The room we had was a de-luxe room set in the annexe i would have loved to stay in the hotel itself.The problem with staying in the annexe was that at 5.30am they clean the streets of carcassone and they are noisy.
We ate in le jardin de l'Eveque and the food and service were very good.We then had a glass of champagne in the hotel garden to finish the evening off.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

The hotel is incredible. The location could not be better, right in the walled city. The staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful - they spoke English as well. The room that we stayed in was very nicely decorated and comfortable. Old windows that actually opened to look out into the town. The pool area was an unexpected surprise. Carcassonne is a must see if you are in this area, and this hotel made the visit that much better. Getting a cab is a bit tricky unless you give them notice, but the hotel staff helped us out there.

Room Tip: We got a suite upgrade, although we didnt ask for anything. Dont need a car, and may be a hinderanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raarstol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

We were determined to stay in the walled city and wanted the best experience. Hotel de la Cite almost delivered but fell short of a 5 Star experience. The main issues were:
1) Quality of room: We expected better quality for the price we paid. Amenities were good, just not great. Property overall needs an upgrade compared to other 5 stars (see final comments below). If you think 4 star, you won't be disappointed.
2) Service: I'd expect better responses from the front desk for this level of hotel. We had a room that was far too warm and I was unable to get anyone to come to the room for over 90 minutes to check the air con. After multiple calls, someone arrived, only to say that they couldn't fix it. It was a warm night, even with the window open. The second service issue occurred when I tried to get directions to the restaurant and best options to get there. Response was mostly unhelpful and I went back to my room to use Google maps to figure it out myself. (BTW, we went to Le Parc Franck Putelat and it was excellent. Right next to the walled city).
3) Transportation: We arrived by car and were directed to a dirt parking lot to park the car outside the walled city. Note I say 'dirt', not gravel. Good luck if you arrive when it's raining. I get that there are restrictions on traffic in the city - in fact, that's a major plus when walking around so I'm happy that cars are not allowed near the hotel. The parking area could use an upgrade for hotel guests.

For the above comments, keep in mind, we had just spent the previous nights in Saint Emilion at the amazing 5 Star Hostellerie De Plaisance, a Relais and Chateaux property. Our bar was high and Hotel de La Cite falls short in comparison.

Bottom line: This is a nice property and the location is awesome. Just think 4 star and you'll probably be happy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddf200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed here 6 years ago with our two children and it is the stuff of family legend. We decided to go back with some trepidation as often times these sorts of places cannot live up to the legend you create for them. This was not an issue. We stayed there for two nights of luxury after a week of hiking. From the moment we got to the outer gates of the City the staff were all about taking care of us. The hotel is not cheap, but you really get what you pay for here. The rooms are beautiful (we looked in on a few others than our own as they were getting cleaned). The setting, inside the city and in an amazing old palace, cannot be beat. There is a pool that you can lounge by in between visits to the the local sites. There are two restaurants associated with the hotel--one (Saskia) which is less formal and then their more formal and much higher end restaurant (Barbicane). We ate in Saskia our first night and Barbicane our second. The service was a trifle disappointing in Saskia and while the food was very good, it was not great. By contrast, the food, service, wine list and setting of Barbicane were all superb. We were tremendously happy with our recent stay at this hotel and would heartily recommend it to anyone who wants a very pampered stay in an amazing historical bulding. Keep in mind that during the day the mideaval city is like Disneyland. One of the joys of staying inside the old city is that you get the place practically to yourself in the morning and evening. One final note, the hotel offers a pretty pricey breakfast. However, it is VERY extensive and far surpasses what you typically find for a French breakfast. It is worth trying.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDXtravelers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing