We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

A breathtaking location within the walls of the ancient Cite. Lovely room and nice attentive service. The 8 course tasting dinner was delicious and the surroundings were grand but not stuffy. Very relaxing. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms 214 and 216 have terraces overlooking the city walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rajec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,017
    332
    103
    33
    15
See reviews for
313
887
30
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We had fantastic service from the moment we were picked up outside the ramparts, nothing was too much trouble, it was just first class service for three unforgetable days. The room was superb with a fabulous terrace and a great big comfortable bed. The restaurant was first class and very well run. I must also mention the pianist who made our dinners even better than they already were, a joy to listen to. I last stayed here in 1953 and have been wanting to come again for nearly 60 years: I wasn't disappointed.

Room Tip: A room facing or overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelj477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA-Southeast
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here 1 night during our trip to Carcassonne and I have to say that I was very disappointed. While the building is beautiful and has a lot of character, we felt that it was a let-down as far as the room quality went--especially since it was the most expensive place we stayed in during our trip to France. Our room was quite small, the plumbing in the bathroom was very outdated and the air conditioning unit is directly underneath the window--so if you close the heavy drapes at all for privacy/light blocking, you will not get any air in your room. It was a bright, hot day and our room was uncomfortably warm because the drapes prevented the cool air from moving about the room--quite a design flaw. Bring your eye mask if you stay here--and ear plugs. The hallway traffic was loud. When checking out, the receptionist was by herself at noon (the busiest part of the day--normally there were 2 people working) and she was visibly annoyed and it took quite awhile to finish the check out procedure--even though we had payed in advance. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krankenschwester600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My wife & I stayed in this hotel for several nights at the start of August. It portrays itself as a top-ranked hotel, but our experience was - as you often find with hotel chains even at the premium end - lacking in many areas. On arrival, we were told we had been upgraded to a suite. Initially, we were happy with this. Our suite however was so underlit and surrounded with dark wood panels, it was gloomy most of the time. The suite had a mini-patio immediately outside, which was on a decking - parts of that were rotten and it was poorly maintained. Our suite was adjacent to an office behind Reception, and early every morning, we were woken by racket from both areas, or the gardener raking the gravel outside. We wondered whether the room we had originally booked might have been better. Coffee & tea making facilties were miserly supplied, yet generous bowls of fruit were often left in our room. Prices for anything are extravagant. Breakfast was served in a former restaurant, external to the hotel - as this was still laid out for table service, it was utterly chaotic each morning as guests and staff squeezed around tables to get to and from the breakfast buffet. The offer wasn't too bad but why do premium hotels not serve fresh cooked 'hot' meals? Quietly congealing 'scrambled' eggs should have no place here. To be fair, they did cook omelettes for some. Do you see what I mean? Five Star should not include a series of niggling aggravations.

The views from a decking balcony in the hotel gardens are very good, but mostly of the main part of Carcassonne - best viewed at dusk!

One last word of warning. The hotel gardens lie adjacent to a concert theatre. All manner of performances take place there in summer. We were subjected to four events, including Alice Cooper. I have nothing against Mr Cooper, but not my choice on holiday or at anytime! The noise is loud and goes on until near midnight. Moreover, in the afternoon prior to each performance, the noise from testing & rehearsing shatters the calmness of the gardens. You will find no mention of these performances on the booking sites. We were forewarned only at check-in a bit late wouldn't you say?

When we mentioned all of this at the end of our stay, it was all dismissed by a Receptionist saying "You should have complained sooner". I go on holiday to rest, have fun, and enjoy myself - not battle over hotel shortcomings.

Would we stay again ? No. I can think of many hotels where the quality of care and service is truly five-star.

Room Tip: Get a room as far from the concert area as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My little dog and I really enjoyed our stay here, as I was looking for quiet relaxation (he didn't have a choice in the matter!) If you are looking for excitement/parties/nightlife/shopping -- definitely don't stay here... and go to Montpellier instead.

The hotel and grounds are very quiet and peaceful, the perfect environment for decent rest and relaxation. It is wonderful to have the opportunity to sit in total peace and quiet in the gardens as thousands of tourists clog the narrow alleys right outside the hotel -- this particular benefit can hardly be overstated. The basic room I had was very nice, spacious and clean. The maid service was excellent. The breakfast was fantastic, served by friendly staff, and for a small surcharge, can be delivered to your room (it was included in my room rate but otherwise costs 33 E, which is pretty steep for Carcassonne). For an American, it's pretty fantastic to sleep in a castle! And while the rooms are very pricey for Carcassonne, a similar hotel in Paris would be at least twice (thrice??) the price.

The negatives are that it's pretty difficult to get to/from the hotel. I arrived late at the train station and couldn't find a cab nearby.... but the hotel kindly called one for me, a nice car that arrived within only a few minutes. It's not possible to get cars in/out of the walled city during certain hours, so if you are traveling with a family or a lot of bags, you might have a tough time despite great efforts by the hotel to compensate for this reasonable regulation. Another big negative is that it really needs some kind of a fitness facility.

Overall, I think this hotel is spectacular and I would rate it as one of the most unique places I've stayed anywhere (the M Gallery hotels tend to be exceptional, in my experience.)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nnsanci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My wife and I spent three days at the hotel at the end of August.

The hotel is situated in the heart of the medieval city. The great advantage of this is that you can take in the sites in the morning or early evening without the intrusion of the large numbers of tourists who throng the narrow streets during the summer months.

Despite it still being the school holidays the hotel was fairly quiet and we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a Junior Suite - Medieval Suite - which overlooked the square and across to the basilica. The room was large with an extremely comfortable bed. The bathroom was also of decent size with a separate bath, walk-in shower and good quality toiletries. Notwithstanding some earlier reviews, the air conditioning worked perfectly though the management might like to check a couple of the taps in the bathroom, which could do with some minor maintenance.

The hotel's grounds are extremely well kept with good views over the ramparts and surrounding countryside. The pleasant - albeit smallish - swimming pool is a great place to relax in the afternoon and is a haven of tranquility. The poolside bar wasn't open during our stay but one of the staff appeared at regular intervals to take drinks orders etc.

We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as we wanted to try some of the highly recommended local restaurants but the range and quality of the options for breakfast were exceptional and was complemented by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. In fact, all the staff we came into contact with were a credit to the hotel and seemed genuinely keen to do whatever was required to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. As an example, the hotel provides DVDs to watch in the room but, for some reason, our suite lacked the necessary player. The staff on reception were very apologetic and the omission was rectified the next day.

The only criticism we had was that our sleep was disturbed on several occasions by a banging door - we suspect it was probably the one at the rear of the hotel opposite the internal entrance to Chez Saskia.

All-in-all, the hotel more than met our expectations and we look forward to visiting again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden have great views over the ramparts and some have terraces/balconies tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Probus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rural uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This hotel is situated so close to the main site of la Cite you almost feel part of it. Excellent value rooms in main building, quite luxurious. Parking available. Pool looked clean but we didn't use it . Not many members of staff around, often check in was crowded with queues whilst the receptionist also worked in the bar. Breakfast was lovely, all local produce of a good quality; continental style with a selection of breads and pastries, yoghurt and juice. Cheese and ham available at no extra charge. The airy terrace and dining area was pleasant; lovely in the morning but also for drinks in the evening. Lots of restaurants nearby to suit all tastes.English spoken. Only downside ; the elusive staff members!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are apparently the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummybearRuralUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing