We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Dame Carcas(Carcassonne Center)
View Hotel
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon(Carcassonne Center)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Montmorency(Carcassonne Center)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel du Chateau(Carcassonne Center)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel du Pont Vieux(Carcassonne Center)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Aragon(Carcassonne Center)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Espace Cite(Carcassonne Center)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Octroi(Carcassonne Center)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,669)
Filter reviews
1,669 results
Traveller rating
1,137
363
116
37
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,137
363
116
37
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslibrary bartasting menujunior suitewalled citymichelin starbeautiful hotelold citycar parkluxury hotelyour luggagegarden viewthe hotel offersnarrow streetshotel restaurantwithin the wallshotel guestsmagical place
Filter
Updating list...
700 - 705 of 1,669 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

It's old, charming, well placed, and has an outstanding restaurant. I particularly liked the old chateaux atmosphere and the beautiful view of the city at the sunset. The hotel is well structured and provides good services. Not to say that all was a ferry tale, there was no Internet available in the hotel during our stay. Apparently there was a temporary technical problem being solved. Parking our car took a bit of some preliminary confusing information, but it was sorted out satisfactorily. Breakfast was abundant and of good quality, but the breakfast area,which is separate from the hotel, is exiguous, and some tables are side by side, too close to each other. I would prefer more privacy.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bacuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-de-la-cite11, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you for your interesting comments following your stay at our hotel. We're sorry you had some initial difficulties and are glad these were quickly cleared up to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in our region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Your first task on arriving in Carcassonne is to follow the hotel signs to the car park area, the gaurd will ccheck your reveration and let you in the carpark beneath the city walls, you will then need to ring the hotel and someone will drive down and pick you up and take you to the hotel. You are driven up through the old gates behind the walls into the city, to the front of the hotel. the drive is great fun. Make sure you have your car parked in the hotel secure parking area as the security of the public car park ends at 18.00.
The hotel is a centre pice of a quite extraordinary town, built in the 19th century and ousing medieval charm, gift shops, cafes, clothes, chocolate all can all be bought in the town.
The hotel is grand, rooms are of a good size and staff are of the usual Sofitel style, efficient and charming.
The meal we had in the hotel was excellent, good choices and an extensive wine list, we were given some excellent advice from the young trainee sommelier.
The hotel is well placed to vist the town, it is also a tranquil place to return to , although being in October the crowds where less, I am not sure what it would be like in the summer months with many tourists visiting.
A good place to vist and stay even if it is make believe!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yb1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Loved the setting of this beautiful hotel. One of its greatest assets is being able to walk around the walled city of Carcassonne in the evening with its beautifully lit fairy tale feel. We received excellent service within the hotel. They arranged transportation to get out and back in the walls in the evening when we went outside the walls for dinner. The gardens are lovely. The rooms are well appointed. (A little detail I appreciated was the castle shaped chocolates on your bed in the evening...made you feel like royalty.) But my favorite part was looking from our room's window to see parts of the castle. And looking out our bathroom window (from the tub) to see the city of Carcassonne. Truly felt like I was living in a fairy tale.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperTouristaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

A very comfortable hotel in the wonderful walled city of Carcassonne. The hotel is in a great location, right next to the basilica, but its greatest asset is that it is inside the old city walls, meaning that guests can enjoy the city in the early morning and the evening without the press of all the day trippers who throng it from around mid morning to late afternoon.

The public lounge area next to the reception desk is large and impressive, but also comfortable, and the garden at the rear of the hotel is a very pleasant haven. I've noted comments from other reviewers about the hotel being dark and the decor dated.Our room on the first floor was large and very comfortable, and overlooked the forecourt of the basilica. We had large windows that opened and let in plenty of light during the day.

We didn't get to eat in the hotel restaurant - it was booked out the three nights we were there, apparently with a large contingent of people in a tour group who, it appeared, were not staying at the hotel. I went for breakfast the first morning, but the buffet arrangements looked so chaotic and uninspiring that I opted to eat breakfast outside the hotel.

Overall, though, a very good place to stay in Carcassonne; worth it for the impeccable location alone, but very comfortable as well.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building overlooking the basilica - light and airy and not too noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The setting of this hotel in a corner of old Carcassonne is delightful. There is a cathedral around the corner and views out over the valley and "new" Carcassonne. We were with a large group and were given a very small room overlooking an alley and the building that houses the hotel's breakfast building. Deliveries to the restaurant In the early morning woke us.
We visited in late September and our room was cold and turning the temperature up didn't help. It turns out that they don't turn their heat on until October.
The breakfast room is very crowded and the selection was just okay.
Note: I couldn't find an edit function so was unable to delete the ratings for spa and fitness center. They should be blank.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ibjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews