We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed just one night as we had booked into a super apartment outside La Cite overlooking the walls. The hotel is simply charming, one of those hotels that is very unique. The reception areas are nice and in keeping with the locale. The bedrooms are nicely set up, each one subtly different. We had quite a tour as we were reviewing the hotel for our daughters wedding reception.

We ate dinner in the restaurant, which again was very good. Very nice menu and wine list. We asked the Sommelier to recommend wine which he did without trying to set us up with pricey selections. A good sign is when they review the wines with the Carte d'Vin so that they recommend within your price range.

The only slight disappointment was that after each course the plates were left on our table for far too long.

Overall lovely hotel, great location.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the garden, fabulous views of La Cite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxyfoxholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you for writing about your recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. Your positive comments were much appreciated. We have also noted your observation about the rather slow change of plates between courses and have passed this on to our restaurant staff. Once again, thank you for taking the trouble to point out various aspects which will help us to improve and those which we will strive to maintain! We look forward to welcoming you back for the joyful event of your daughter's wedding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013

The hotel is inside the old walled city and you are on the doorstep of a fascinating town within walking distance to historic castle, narrow streets, ancient buildings, café’s and restaurants. When you arrive you are dropped outside the city in the car park where the hotel staff collect you and walk you in to the city and hotel while a small car (able to negotiate the historic and small gate in the wall) takes your luggage.
Hotel reception is lovely; our room was beautifully decorated with old paintings, writing desk, modest sized bathroom, lovely drapes and a very comfy bed – a space we enjoyed immensely. Tea making and mini bar available. The bar in the old library is fabulous and very atmospheric but service was poor to non-existent – we had to go to find the barman!
Hotel is very old so check if you have mobility problems, as there are two different lifts required if you are on the third floor and there are 2-3 steps in several spots along the corridors.
Service from the desk staff was extremely variable - from first class (one well qualified, very helpful gentleman who understood service i.e. ‘ when you have finished your tour of the town call us and we will arrange a taxi to collect you” to abysmal from all others i.e. when we rang to ask for the taxi were told ‘ call it yourself” and when we arrived at the hotel collection point outside the city gates where we called front desk for the car to collect us we waited and waited as the person ‘forgot’ !
The hotel offers a tour of their herb garden and wine cellar which both sound interesting so we requested these but again these appear to have been ‘lost’ by front desk staff so we missed out.
Breakfast was well-presented and varied however croissant and pastries were not the high quality we expected in France and a quality hotel – appeared to be out of a packet and warmed up.
Dinner was in the Michelin one star restaurant ‘ Barbacan’ - service was excellent the food was well presented but a little disappointing in execution in some dishes. A request for green tea at the end of the meal resulted in an obviously black tea and when questioned the waitress insisted it was green with no offer to check or replace it – bizarre. Check trip advisor restaurants for more on this.

Room Tip: Select a terrace room to have a great view of the city and lovely outdoor space. recommend rooms 212...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time and the trouble to write about your recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. We are really glad to know you felt at home in your room and that you liked the atmosphere in our hotel. We were however concerned that you did not find our service to be consistently at the highest level and have looked into the instances you mentioned.

First of all, please accept our sincere apologies for the inexcusable lapses of forgetfulness that so inconvenienced you. The heads of the services concerned have taken the necessary measures to ensure these do not recur. Thank you for bringing these instances to our notice as it is only through this kind of constructive criticism that we can hope to maintain the standard that you have every right to expect from a five-star property such as ours.

It was good to read that you appreciated our breakfast buffet offering. Please let us reassure you that all the varieties of bread, rolls, croissants and Danish pastries are freshly produced by our baker and our pastry chef in our own kitchens.

We sincerely hope that, in spite of the incidents you mentioned, you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you to our region

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just left this morning and cant praise my stay any higher. The hotel is a gem. We were upgraded to a superior room and it had the best view ever over the castle and the town of Carcassonne. The room was huge with a massive double bed. and trimmings to go with its 5 star rating. Staff were unbelievably friendly , but respectful. Food was no less impressive- lunch was expensive , but worth every penny. The rock concert on the Friday was a surprise, but even that was 5 star- not been to a concert where you drank fine wine along with a tray of fine cheeses- but we are in France. What more can I say- if you want a 3-4 night break i would suggest this to anyone, and its only a 10 minute ride from the airport. Thanks to all the staff who made this a superb break

Room Tip: 2nd floor looking over the ramparts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank you for your kind comments after your very recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. We're very glad to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your time with us, including the rock concert (the last of our Showcase concert series till the coming autumn). Thank you for the warm remarks about our staff being helpful, friendly and respectful - they were much appreciated - and of course, many sincere thanks for your very hearty recommendation of Hôtel de la Cité! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever you're next in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed at this wonderful hotel from 25th March to 29th March for my 50th birthday and I was not disappointed! When we arrived we were given an upgraded room (room 302) as a lovely gesture for my birthday. The Receptionists were so friendly and helpful and it was a great start to a short break that we both really needed. We were taken aback when we got to our room - never had we stayed in a room so big and beautiful. We had an extra large Italian bed which was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in - we still miss it now! The bathrobes and slippers were a nice luxury too. Breakfast was served at Chez Saskia - just across from the hotel. We were met by a lovely lady called Natalie (I think that was her name). She was like a ray of sunshine and made the start of each day so pleasurable. She is the epitome of service with a smile - but even that doesn't do her justice. The breakfast was fantastic - so much choice - but made so much better by the delightful presence of Natalie! She also spoke so many languages, changing from one to another in quick succession - very impressive! We ate at the hotel's Michelin starred restaurant on our last night and what can I say? "Wow" probably sums it up - we decided on the 8 course tasting menu and it was absolutely wonderful. We had never eaten at a Michelin starred restaurant before and now we understand what we have been missing! It was expensive but for a special occasion it is worth it. So "thank you Hotel de la Cite, for making our few days away so memorable - you have no idea how much we needed this break and your amazing staff, service and exceptional food was exactly what we needed". We would love to come back sometime.

Room Tip: Room 302 was a superior room and we couldn't fault it. It overlooks the garden and is very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesjcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write at such length about your recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. All the staff - and of course, Nathalie! - are delighted that we could contribute to making your birthday a memorable event. It's always a pleasure for us to know when guests have enjoyed their time with us. We're also pleased that you appreciated all the big and small details that we take great care about - whether it's our Chef and his team at our fine-dining restaurant, our Housekeeper and hers looking after your room, or our Front Desk team who know how to make every guest feel at home. We hope you'll give us the chance to welcome you back again, perhaps for another celebration or - why not? - just for a relaxing break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We had seen some comments elsewhere on the internet which said that this hotel (Hotel de la Cite) was very very expensive. It is not!...It is not even reassuringly expensive!..It is a reasonable price for a hotel of this standard.

The hotel and staff are old school, effortlessly perfect. The Hotel location is excellent. The rooms are a good, beautiful, tasteful and elegant.

There is definitely a lot of skill in not over embellishing; I tried to explain this the other day, by proposing that famous picture of James Dean with a bit of straw sticking out of one side of his mouth. Give him just one more piece of straw on the other side of his mouth....Well you see what I mean.

Internet could have been better, however this is in France so one should be pleasantly surprised and grateful for any level of internet.

Lastly, a note to all hoteliers, always upgrade guests if you have plenty of rooms available. Everyone loves something for nothing, and it disposes them to spend more in your establishment, another bottle or two of Champagne, more indulgences in the Spa, it all adds up. Plus they tell their friends!

No...We did not get an upgrade here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as they are quieter than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoffandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you for writing about your recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. It was a pleasure to read your comments, some of which (especially that of our rates being reasonably priced for a hotel of this standard) brought on a happy smile from our Managers! Obviously we are all very pleased that you liked the hotel and that our staff made sure you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We apologise for what may have been less than perfect internet connections but hope this didn't inconvenience you in any way. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hôtel de la Cité whenever you are next in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Hotel de la Cité from the entrance looks nothing from but once inside it is complete elegance and comfort and a very fine building. Located directly inside the walled city it is the perfect stop to visit Carcassone. The bedroom we had was not particularly large but very quiet and very comfortable, the bed being one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The restaurant whilst relatively expensive was superb, complimented by a fine wine list. A comprehensive breakfast was offered just across from the main building and again very nice. Summed up this is a great place to enjoy a fine hotel with good food and excellent service.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a room with views over the surrounding countryside. There are rooms with sun deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. We are always delighted when guests take the trouble to mention the particular points they liked about their stay. Your remarks about the general ambiance in our hotel are very perceptive: our hotel has an unassuming external appearance but we put a distinct emphasis on quiet elegance, full comfort and the highest standard of guest-oriented service. Thank you once again for your appreciative comments and we very much look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed here for two days mid-April (chilly time of year but nice to see the Cite without the crowds). The Hotel is beautifully presented and the front desk staff very helpful and quite happy to speak in English (our French is far from perfect). It's a beautiful old stone building with plain lead light windows, a lovely garden overlooking the city and is worth a picture in its own right. We had the suite (Violet le Duc) which has a stunning large balcony overlooking the Chateau. The room has a separate reading/dressing room, separate toilet and large double bathroom. The only caution I would make is that it's a very small shower with a large step in/out which would be quite difficult for anyone who is not completely mobile. The breakfast was included in our package and was excellent with hot some separate hot items available and a full array of cheeses, cold meats, and chafing dishes of hot scrambed eggs, bacon, etc. But nothing beat the hot bath with the sun streaming in the lead light windows! And sitting out in the spring sun on our balcony admiring one of Europe's most brilliant pieces of architectural heritage is quite unsurpassed.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, ask for the terrace rooms - they are large verandahs and it's superb to si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments following your recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. We are very pleased you liked the Viollet-Le-Duc Suite - it is indeed spacious and its terrace has a spectactular elevated view of the countryside as well as of the nearby Château. Thanks also for your appreciative comments about our buffet breakfast - it is something we take particular care over as we like to think it makes a difference to the way our guests start their day! It's true that Spring was not quite on time this year, even in the South of France - but we hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back in good weather to enjoy our gardens and outdoor pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hote...
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
815 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne Center
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne Center
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: £171 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing