We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Don't stay anyplace else in Carcasonne. This place is the only place to stay. Very nice and well worth every penny. The staff is very accommodating and you get to stay within the walls of a medieval castle! It was so awesome. The room was very comfortable an so cool. We will never forget the experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank okacheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for your warm recommendation of our hotel. We're delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again whenever you return to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    333
    104
    34
    16
See reviews for
315
897
33
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

My wife had arranged a three night stay as a surprise birthday present knowing the Hotel de la Cite was on my bucket list. Despite the rainy day when we arrived from Toulouse, the friendly reception staff greeted us with an upgrade to brighten up our day. Our junior suite was lovely with a well proportioned bedroom with terrace and a roomy en suite and dressing area. The hotel is perfectly positioned within the medieval walled cite. The gardens are lovely right on the battlements. Dinner at the hotel's Michelin restaurant the Barbacane was excellent and covered in another review. All the staff were so friendly especially Nathalie who warmly greets guests for breakfast. The hotel has a pleasant bar where guests can enjoy a drink whilst being entertained by a pianist. The hotel is now part of the Accor group and prices are much less than when Orient Express owned it. All in all a great place to stay if you are visiting Carcassonne.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ianoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write on your very recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. We are indeed really delighted to know that our hotel and our staff fully lived up to your expectations! A special thank you on behalf of our reception staff and our breakfast waitress for your nice comments concerning them. In turn we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate a special occasion and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for other memorable events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a beautiful old building right inside the walls of the old city. We took the shuttle bus from the airport which is timed to meet the flight. It cost 5E and took about 15 minutes. Once at the gate you have to walk to the other side of the city to find the hotel but that's no big deal if you only have the hand luggage allowed on a cheap flight. We had a lovely suite with a terrace overlooking the garden and new city below. The bathroom was beautifully presented with marble tiling and walk-in shower.We even had a small kitchen with microwave. It would be possible to prepare a simple meal but we didn't see any food shops, and in any case why bother when there are so many restaurants nearby? The city itself is quiet at night with far more people around in the daytime. This makes for a peaceful night sleep. The bed was comfortable but I found the pillows rather plump and the air conditioning inadequate . The staff were pleasant and the house keeping discreet. However the staff at breakfast seemed rather stretched and on two mornings the bread ran out! Not very good in a hotel of this standard. Despite this small glitch, we would recommend this hotel for weekend away,an easy one and half hour flight from our local airport.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lojaDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for describing your recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. We're pleased to know you liked the atmosphere and character of our hotel, as well as enjoyed your room, its terrace and all the amenities. Thank you for your kind remarks about our staff. We have also noted your observation that the breakfast service was not completely up to the mark at the time of your stay and have since then undertaken measures to remedy the situation. Finally, thank you most sincerely for your kind recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back at your next short break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed just one night as we had booked into a super apartment outside La Cite overlooking the walls. The hotel is simply charming, one of those hotels that is very unique. The reception areas are nice and in keeping with the locale. The bedrooms are nicely set up, each one subtly different. We had quite a tour as we were reviewing the hotel for our daughters wedding reception.

We ate dinner in the restaurant, which again was very good. Very nice menu and wine list. We asked the Sommelier to recommend wine which he did without trying to set us up with pricey selections. A good sign is when they review the wines with the Carte d'Vin so that they recommend within your price range.

The only slight disappointment was that after each course the plates were left on our table for far too long.

Overall lovely hotel, great location.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the garden, fabulous views of La Cite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxyfoxholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. Your positive comments were much appreciated. We have also noted your observation about the rather slow change of plates between courses and have passed this on to our restaurant staff. Once again, thank you for taking the trouble to point out various aspects which will help us to improve and those which we will strive to maintain! We look forward to welcoming you back for the joyful event of your daughter's wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The hotel is inside the old walled city and you are on the doorstep of a fascinating town within walking distance to historic castle, narrow streets, ancient buildings, café’s and restaurants. When you arrive you are dropped outside the city in the car park where the hotel staff collect you and walk you in to the city and hotel while a small car (able to negotiate the historic and small gate in the wall) takes your luggage.
Hotel reception is lovely; our room was beautifully decorated with old paintings, writing desk, modest sized bathroom, lovely drapes and a very comfy bed – a space we enjoyed immensely. Tea making and mini bar available. The bar in the old library is fabulous and very atmospheric but service was poor to non-existent – we had to go to find the barman!
Hotel is very old so check if you have mobility problems, as there are two different lifts required if you are on the third floor and there are 2-3 steps in several spots along the corridors.
Service from the desk staff was extremely variable - from first class (one well qualified, very helpful gentleman who understood service i.e. ‘ when you have finished your tour of the town call us and we will arrange a taxi to collect you” to abysmal from all others i.e. when we rang to ask for the taxi were told ‘ call it yourself” and when we arrived at the hotel collection point outside the city gates where we called front desk for the car to collect us we waited and waited as the person ‘forgot’ !
The hotel offers a tour of their herb garden and wine cellar which both sound interesting so we requested these but again these appear to have been ‘lost’ by front desk staff so we missed out.
Breakfast was well-presented and varied however croissant and pastries were not the high quality we expected in France and a quality hotel – appeared to be out of a packet and warmed up.
Dinner was in the Michelin one star restaurant ‘ Barbacan’ - service was excellent the food was well presented but a little disappointing in execution in some dishes. A request for green tea at the end of the meal resulted in an obviously black tea and when questioned the waitress insisted it was green with no offer to check or replace it – bizarre. Check trip advisor restaurants for more on this.

Room Tip: Select a terrace room to have a great view of the city and lovely outdoor space. recommend rooms 212...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time and the trouble to write about your recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. We are really glad to know you felt at home in your room and that you liked the atmosphere in our hotel. We were however concerned that you did not find our service to be consistently at the highest level and have looked into the instances you mentioned.

First of all, please accept our sincere apologies for the inexcusable lapses of forgetfulness that so inconvenienced you. The heads of the services concerned have taken the necessary measures to ensure these do not recur. Thank you for bringing these instances to our notice as it is only through this kind of constructive criticism that we can hope to maintain the standard that you have every right to expect from a five-star property such as ours.

It was good to read that you appreciated our breakfast buffet offering. Please let us reassure you that all the varieties of bread, rolls, croissants and Danish pastries are freshly produced by our baker and our pastry chef in our own kitchens.

We sincerely hope that, in spite of the incidents you mentioned, you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you to our region
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just left this morning and cant praise my stay any higher. The hotel is a gem. We were upgraded to a superior room and it had the best view ever over the castle and the town of Carcassonne. The room was huge with a massive double bed. and trimmings to go with its 5 star rating. Staff were unbelievably friendly , but respectful. Food was no less impressive- lunch was expensive , but worth every penny. The rock concert on the Friday was a surprise, but even that was 5 star- not been to a concert where you drank fine wine along with a tray of fine cheeses- but we are in France. What more can I say- if you want a 3-4 night break i would suggest this to anyone, and its only a 10 minute ride from the airport. Thanks to all the staff who made this a superb break

Room Tip: 2nd floor looking over the ramparts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for your kind comments after your very recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. We're very glad to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your time with us, including the rock concert (the last of our Showcase concert series till the coming autumn). Thank you for the warm remarks about our staff being helpful, friendly and respectful - they were much appreciated - and of course, many sincere thanks for your very hearty recommendation of Hôtel de la Cité! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever you're next in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed at this wonderful hotel from 25th March to 29th March for my 50th birthday and I was not disappointed! When we arrived we were given an upgraded room (room 302) as a lovely gesture for my birthday. The Receptionists were so friendly and helpful and it was a great start to a short break that we both really needed. We were taken aback when we got to our room - never had we stayed in a room so big and beautiful. We had an extra large Italian bed which was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in - we still miss it now! The bathrobes and slippers were a nice luxury too. Breakfast was served at Chez Saskia - just across from the hotel. We were met by a lovely lady called Natalie (I think that was her name). She was like a ray of sunshine and made the start of each day so pleasurable. She is the epitome of service with a smile - but even that doesn't do her justice. The breakfast was fantastic - so much choice - but made so much better by the delightful presence of Natalie! She also spoke so many languages, changing from one to another in quick succession - very impressive! We ate at the hotel's Michelin starred restaurant on our last night and what can I say? "Wow" probably sums it up - we decided on the 8 course tasting menu and it was absolutely wonderful. We had never eaten at a Michelin starred restaurant before and now we understand what we have been missing! It was expensive but for a special occasion it is worth it. So "thank you Hotel de la Cite, for making our few days away so memorable - you have no idea how much we needed this break and your amazing staff, service and exceptional food was exactly what we needed". We would love to come back sometime.

Room Tip: Room 302 was a superior room and we couldn't fault it. It overlooks the garden and is very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesjcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write at such length about your recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. All the staff - and of course, Nathalie! - are delighted that we could contribute to making your birthday a memorable event. It's always a pleasure for us to know when guests have enjoyed their time with us. We're also pleased that you appreciated all the big and small details that we take great care about - whether it's our Chef and his team at our fine-dining restaurant, our Housekeeper and hers looking after your room, or our Front Desk team who know how to make every guest feel at home. We hope you'll give us the chance to welcome you back again, perhaps for another celebration or - why not? - just for a relaxing break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing