We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Excellent service by this Accor hotel. Very polite, friendly and efficient staff. Well appointed rooms, clean, neat, safe and secure. Very good breakfast. Located within the castle. Slightly expensive but you get money's worth. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nik_d_in_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

I recently stayed at this quite unique Hotel, I can only describe as "a very special place indeed"
The staff were wondeful and so charming, superb bedrooms and an exceptional Breakfast selection.
I will definately re-visit very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoodyIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at this 5 star hotel in early January and were not disappointed. The rooms were spacious and nicely appointed, clean updated bathrooms, attentive and accomodating staff and a gorgeous setting. The hotel is located within the castle walls of the city of Carcassonne and there are many little shops and restaurants within a short walking distance from the hotel entrance. They also have their very own Michelin star restaurant although we did not try it on this visit but look forward to that next time around. Excellent experience for us, the room prices were reasonable and we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jalex07216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fbonturi, Directrice Adjointe at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic location inside the Medieval Citadel. Your description reflects the feeling we would hope all our guests experience.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future, may be in summer to enjoy our 1* Michelin restaurant “La Barbacane” al fresco.

Yours sincerely,

Fleur Bonturi
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Brilliant location right on the old city walls, excellent service as to be expected from premium Accor brand, close enough to the old town, not much outside the old city, few good italian restaurants closeby. Stupid, non-sensical door opening mechanism, archaic. Not cheap.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plain_Truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It has a perfect locations, right inside the wall of the city. You could wander and walk any where.
The rooms were very nice, ours opened up to the garden. The garden was so peaceful and beautiful. The service was really good. The breakfasts were very nice. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bbmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel was fantastic. We had a beautiful room overlooking the wall and breakfast was included and fantastic, a full gourmet buffet. Dinner in the dining room was excellent.
The staff were immaculate and the service perfect. This was a wonderful experience and a totally wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in a junior suite which had a balcony almost as big as the room and amazing view over the Castle and the town below. Staying at this hotel is like stepping back in time - I felt almost as if I was a guest at Downton Abbey.

The hotel were incredibly helpful before our arrival, giving advice on how to travel from the airport by train and arranging for a taxi to pick us up at the train station. Somehow we managed to get the wrong train and the hotel called us when we hadn't arrived as expected at the train station and then advised us on the revised time we would arrive and booked another taxi to collect us.

Our room was very nicely decorated - a huge big bed that was so comfortable it was like sleeping in a cloud. We were welcomed by a complimentary bottle of sparking wine and a box of chocolates which was a wonderful treat after we'd arrived later than expected.

The bathroom was fitted throughout with marble and had a wonderful shower and lots of gorgeous French toiletries which were refreshed daily. As I mentioned earlier the balcony of our room was huge with a table and chairs and two sun loungers on it. Unfortunately it rained most of the time we were there and so we didn't get to use it much but I can imagine in warmer weather it would be fabulous to sit out there and enjoy the view.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but breakfast was just wonderful - so many different things to choose from and all of such a good standard. The serving staff were so friendly and happy as well which made the whole experience a real pleasure. We took advantage of the library to enjoy a few drinks one afternoon and it is a lovely environment to relax in after being out in the cold.

The only thing that I could say would be a negative of the stay would be the sound proofing of the room. This is I'm sure due to the age of the building and made it feel more like staying at someone's house - I actually enjoyed hearing the sound of the piano being played below during the evening drifting up into our room but just wanted to flag it for any light sleepers who may want to ensure they take their ear plugs with them. The turn down service was at 18.30 each night as well which seemed a strange time as we were getting ready for dinner then and didn't really want to sit there whilst they prepared the room. We did take advantage of the lovely castle shaped chocolates they brought as part of the turn down though.

Anyway these are just very minor things and they didn't distract at all from our stay. I wish I was better able to articulate the beauty of this hotel and how special I felt staying here. If you get the opportunity to go then do - I would love to come back and stay again!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Siobhan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
808 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: £176 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing