We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good some bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Some good some bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, staff on the whole very helpful, really lovely breakfast. There were some stumbling blogs. We could not check in until 1600, which is very late especially as the checkout time is 1200! We then had to wait until 1700 as our room was not ready, not great with 2 tired children. Room 235 was ok although it was far too hot and very close to the road outside. This mean it was very noisy until 2300 and the bin lorries thundered past at 0600, not a good night for sleep.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JW B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    319
    100
    32
    15
See reviews for
301
841
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel within the walls was part of a moment of history. The rooms though were modern, the bathrooms perfect. Walking to everything was beyond easy. We actually had one of our best meals in France in a lovely "neighborhood" restaurant. If you're going to experience Carcassonne, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

On recommendation of friends we stayed one night - originally booked two nights but train timetables meant we had to alter our booking. My email to make this adjustment was promptly answered and perfectly understood. We were amazed when the taxi from the train station was met by another small car from the hotel at the castle wall and we ducked and weaved through ramparts and narrow access routes to the inner "city". Tourists on foot seemed equally amazed and we felt quite privileged!
We had been upgraded to a terrace room with access to the garden overlooking the fortress walls and all of Carcassonne below. It really felt as if we were staying in our very own castle. The town inside the walls is small and can be explored on foot. The castle museum is well worth the visit. There are many tourists but they disappear in the late afternoon leaving the cobbled streets to those lucky few staying in la Cite.
Another welcome surprise was the kettle with tea and coffee facilities - not a common feature in European hotels. A small box of local delicacies was also include and more chocolate delivered at bedtime.
The following morning a taxi was supposed to have been booked but had not and the on duty concierge was mortified - clearly not a common event - quickly rectified the problem, then provided coffee to alleviate our extra 10 minute wait - and we still had time to spare. (After hours, the taxis can come all the way to the hotel).
This is more an experience than an overnight place to sleep and well worth the effort of getting to Carcassonne.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 777alsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hotel is realy lovely and the staff were incredibly helpful at all times. This was good old fashioned five star service. The location is perfect and the garden is a little oasis. Carcassonne itself is thronged with tourists and school trips during the day so it can be nice to have a place to escape to. Beds wonderful, shower and bathroom opulent and lovely. I want pillows like that and forgot to ask where they get them!!! If you want a romantic spot to pop the question you could do a lot worse!!!! Lovely people, lovely hotel, lovely setting. Don't hesistate...book!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel open right onto a little seating area which is full of nosiy teenage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eatwith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Like many people, I've wanted to visit Carcassonne since reading Kate Mosse's books. The opportunity arose when we were invited to stay with friends in Ceret. We flew into Carcassonne. A bit of a detour, I know, but well worth it. The drive south through Limoux and onwards cross country to Ceret was unforgettable, especially the detour to Chateau Perypeteuse. The last two nights of our trip were spent at the Hotel de la Cite. The medieval cite was awesome. The hotel fantastic.
The medieval cite is to some extent tarnished by the cheap rubbish that the touristy shops sell, but hey ho there has to be a commercial aspect to this medieval masterpiece.
Staying in the Medieval Cite is well worth it. After the tourists had gone we could wander around quite easily and take it all in.

The staff:

Very welcoming, friendly and obliging. Nothing was too much trouble. I was a little bit hacked off because the whole restaurant and brasserie staff had disappeared off on holiday whilst we were there, leaving the hotel as a B&B, honestly that won't do for a 5-star hotel, however the reception staff suggested a really good restaurant a 4 minute walk away, not Michelin starred, like la Barbacane but the food was good.

The decor of the public areas was in keeping with it's location, it was baronial. Oak cladding, carvings, fantastic.

The rooms:

We were in a suite, with a sun deck, with the most amazing views over the sprawl of "non-medieval" Carcassonne and the walls and castle of the medieval cite.
The suite was spotlessly clean. The bed incredibly comfortable. The toiletries classy. The linen/towels were as I would expect from a 5 star hotel.
The shower cubicle was an experience. One had to step up almost 18ins and negotiate a very narrow portal to gain access to a shower barely 3x3 feet in size (you can do the metric conversion) - claustrophobic and obese/morbidly obese people beware you won't make it! But I love drench showers. Proper "luxurious" toilet paper, not the thin economy stuff that many so-called 4/5 star hotels let themselves down with, you know the sort of stuff you have to use 8/10 sheets of to stop yourself accidentally pushing your fingers through. None of that at Hotel de la Cite!

Parking:

I was asked to park below the outer city walls, the guard at the gate told us where to park and within 5 minutes a car from the hotel had arrived to take us, and our luggage, into the medieval city and drop us at the hotel's front entrance. We were told that a secure car ark was available but since I was using a hire car I left it in the public parking area. Upon departure the same member of hotel staff took us and our luggage back to the car. Very few people would enjoy trying to drive through the very narrow streets of the cite, which are restricted.

Hotel Amenities:

There is a really nice garden where one can take the sun, afternoon tea or just sit and read a book with a gin and tonic. There is a spa and a swimming pool neither of which we used.
As I've already said the only restaurant food was breakfast, snacks could be had in the bar and garden? I thought that the restaurant was in keeping with the overall baronial feel to the hotel.
The lounge area was good too.

The food:

I would have liked to be able to report on the Michelin Starred fare from La Barbecane but all I can say is that the breakfast matched it's grand surroundings and that the breakfast service was excellent.

Overall Impression:

An impressive, memorable hotel in an amazing location. The medieval cite didn't disappoint us for a millisecond.
Fantastic staff. Congratulations to the Hotel de la Cite a truly wonderful and memorable stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room looking out towards the cite walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just spent 2 very cossetted nights here - and although I was a bit cynical about Carcassonne itself being an over-restored tourist trap, we left impressed, Very pleased we paid the extra for the upgraded "garden" room - looking out across the garden, then across the walls and battlements on the first fine day of the year. The ambience is English Edwardian gentlemen's club ( oak panelling and the bar in the old library) with medieval touches (heraldic shields and motifs). Sounds odd, but works well. Staff are endlessly helpful - efficient and friendly. Expensive, but worth it for the location alone.

Room Tip: Get a garden room if you can - and if you can get your car into the hotel's (tiny) secure car pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dw842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulogne sur Gesse, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from an overnight stay, fantastic. Beautiful garden room, spacious bathroom, all you could ask for. A superb location as you get to appreciate the cite without the crowds. Breakfast was a feast of fruit, cheese, preserves, bread along with eggs and crispy bacon. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We loved the journey from the car park to the hotel. One night stay as good as a week away.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing