We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
sawbridgeworth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just a stunning location”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We were guests at the wedding of foxy foxholes daughter. The private terrace of our very well appointed room allowed a panoramic view of the area. The service was superb throughout our stay, and the food just wonderful. Spoil yourself stay at this lovely hotel and take the chance to look around the Cite before the masses arrive.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffSawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    328
    103
    33
    15
See reviews for
309
870
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If the weather had been better, we would rate this a 6 star experience! What a great hotel -- at the heart of all the happenings of Carcassone city inner wall, which is just ideal if you are a tourist. After all the tourists leave, about 4pm, you have free roam of the city and really see a different side of things. (quiet, mystical, romantic) The little Hotel de la Cite cart immediately whisked us away upon arrival, and took our bags to our room, and us to the front desk. Absolute A+ service, and trust me, I am picky about such things. The rooms were beautiful. I followed the advice of other travelers and chose a room that is "garden view" .... it was just lovely. In fact, so much so that we really didn't mind sleeping in and hanging out for a morning while the rain passed.

Room Tip: go for the garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARLEYthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We are a mature couple (mid 60's) and during our 5 week holiday in France we decided to book somewhere special to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. This was perfect. The location within the castle walls is spectacular. We had a lovely room with a balcony. It wasn't modern; it was old world which suited the era. The breakfast waitress had such a big smile and friendly disposition and it was a great start to the day.

Room Tip: A room with a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brighton-Boomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel de La Cite where we hosted our daughters wedding. Of course a wedding has to be perfect, and the expectations on the staff and the venue were met in every way. This is a truly unique hotel, as is La Cite itself. The rooms are perfect, with each being quite different in set up and format. We got to see many rooms, all very lovely.

The food in the Barbican restaurant is just wonderful. The staff throughout the hotel are professional, and naturally friendly. Of course you'd hope for as much when having a wedding, but in conversations with other guests, not part of the wedding party, it is clear that high standards of service are in the DNA of this hotel.

Having stayed in great hotels all over the world, La Cite has to be very high in the list of best ever. For quality, uniqueness, high standards and value for money you truly have to go to the ends of the earth to try and beat the Hotel de la Cite.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank foxyfoxholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is inside the walls and it's near all the main attractions. It has a beautiful garden with the most beautiful view and a small, but very pleasant, swimming poll. The staff was always vey polite. The restaurant is also very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsetse_pt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

While the location is prime, don't think you are going to stay at a 5 star hotel; it seems like they cut corners whenever possible. For example, what fine hotel has instant coffee in the room (none we have ever stayed at, at least not until now). Hardware came right off of the wall in two places, and you can hear everyone talking in the hallway. But the most telling fault is that they turned off the heat in May; the room was cold! They offered to bring in a space heater - clearly not expected in a 5 star hotel!

We stayed here since this is the finest (and most expensive) hotel in the city. It certainly has the "bones" to excel, but they clearly miss the mark.

Room Tip: A garden view also overlooks the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExperiencedTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I booked online and paid £400 up front for a booking in July. The day after I realised I had booked the wrong date! I wanted to change day to next day and even pay more if there was only a higher grade room available.

The management will not change the day and have kept my £400. Surely this is not right!!!!!

So, would have very much liked to have reviewed this place post our stay but sadly can only give and opinion pre stay on our experience of the management and how we have been treated.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Brummiefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing