We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Excellence and Splendor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Absolute Excellence and Splendor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

What can I say that other guests have not but I feel compelled to give this outstanding Hotel the praise it deserves. We stayed at the Hotel de la Cite a few weeks ago, along with our two teenage children and will always consider our three nights there to be one of the highlights of this summer trip to France. The staff and management of this hotel work to ensure that every aspect of your stay is worthy of a five star rating. The exquistie experience begins with the transport provided by the hotel staff from the private medival city parking area to the front door of the Hotel, while amazing us with their ability to drive the shuttle with five occupants and luggage through the anciant gates and streets of Carcassonne. Our rooms were spacious and well equipped with TVs, stereo systems, WIFI and plush bedding, with the bathroom sporting double sinks, a large bathtup and a shower with both a waterfall showerhead and a hand-held shower device. The staff ensured that we could plan our stay in the area in an informed manner by placing in our room a printed weather forcast for the duration of our stay. Our room also provided an extensive balcony with views over the Hotel garden and the medival city walls and towers - a sight that was most magical in the mornings and evenings when the crowds departed the city. My son and husband were absolutely smitten with the elaborate breakfast buffet provided in the Hotel's elegant dinning hall - exotic fruits, an assortment of cheese and meats, yogurt, cereals , breads, hot breakfast items as well as coffee, expresso and juices - nothing left to be desired. An afternoon by the Hotel's heated pool, which backs up to the walls of the medival cathedral, was a necessary and rejuvenating experience. We looked very much forward to our stay here and were so delighted that the experience turned out to be everything and more than we expected.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JollyEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    319
    100
    32
    15
See reviews for
299
838
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

You'd have to be really picky to find fault with this hotel....and yes, there are the odd one or two. But this is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. Not ideal with children as not much to do and guests tend to enjoy the peace and quiet, but for couples this is a wonderful place. Worth paying a bit more to get a room with a large balcony overlooking the town as you get your own private area with sun loungers, dining table and chairs. Perfect for a lazy afternoon and evening watching the sun go down. It's not cheap and drinks are expensive but in life you tend to get what you pay for. Would we go back? Absolutely. Would we recommend it? Without hesitation.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have balconies and great views. Ask for ones with sun loungers and table then if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilliwacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Whilst its choked with tourists for much of the year La Cite still makes you feel like your on a Medieval film set when the cobbled streets empty. That's the feeling you get when you open the curtains in the morning to a view of La Cite's walls and turrets, across the manicured gardens of the hotel, with the Montagne Noir on the horizon. The hotel provides the level of service you'd expect, understated, unpretentious and excellent in every way.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank UkCandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

A five star experience in a five star hotel. Service excellent throughout, with the exception of Saturday morning breakfast. Garden service particularly good.

Wincingly expensive restaurant, but we were not disappointed.

Ferrying to and from the car-park was perfect.

Don't bother with anywhere else in this beautiful city... just do it !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Perfect location inside the walls of the medieval city. The hotel and its grounds are beautiful. Our room had a small terrace above the garden, which has great views over the city and valley. Staff was professional and helpful. Rooms were beautiful as well – and clean, comfortable and quiet. The bathroom also was clean and modern. Park outside the walls; a hotel minivan picks you up and drops you at the reception building. The hotel is pricey, though. Definitely should try to stay inside the walls; the crowds disappear at night, and it's a pleasure to walk the walls and streets after dark.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmh1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

A lovely place to stay and it makes you feel like you are part of the medieval city. Loved the old feel of the hotel. Some things have a worn look but that is the whole idea. The location is perfect with everything right outside the hotel. Had a heated towel rail so it was easy to wash and dry a few things fairly quickly. We found it quite cold when we arrived so we cranked up the air con but it was getting colder not warmer. We rang reception and found out they could choose heat or cool for the whole hotel and it was on cool. But they offered a solution and brought up an oil heater and we were soon as warm as toast. Breakfast was just OK with the hot food being just warm and we didn't find out that we could have eggs to order until our last day. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieEils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This historic hotel is located within the walled medieval fortress of Carcassone in France. You are dropped off below the walls and picked up by a minivan who is allowed to enter the city. Tours are provided to capture every minute of this incredible place.

Room Tip: We had a room on the main level with a door out to their garden. They have said that in July an Augu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing