We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Walled City”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

La cite is a great hotel to spend a night visiting the walled city of Carcassone. A day is enough to do the sites. Beware of drink prices in hotel..rather steep we thought!
Otherwise this is THE hotel to stay at .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    336
    105
    35
    15
See reviews for
320
905
34
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I decided to splurge for a night at the Hotel de la Cite in Carcasonne and this hotel was well worth the money. The staff were professional and very helpful.We arrived early and the desk assisted us with an early check in. The room had a view, a canopy bed, spacious bath and very nice appointments such as robes and slippers. Sadly, the 5 star restaurant was closed the night we stayed, but being able to wander the cite after all the crowds had left was great so a meal in the square was just fine. Check out was easy and a free lift to the parking lot was appreciated. You only live once, if you are going to Carcasonne stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Was in Carcassonne for a day trip years before and mentioned to my wife it would be great to go there for a special occasion
Little did I know that she would book his place for my 40th,it was amazing,the staff the food in the restaurant breakfast was all out of this world,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyhEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned from staying in The Hotel de la Cite in Carcassonne. It is a beautifully sited old hotel with the medieval city walls forming it's boundary.

The rooms/suites are lovely although a little tight on storage space. Everything has been thought of for your comfort right down to the milk and dark chocolates in your room that are the shape of the old city.

We had a suite with a small balcony overlooking the gardens and the old city walls and it was superb. The view over some of the medieval buildings and the new town was stunning,especially in the evening when the old town was lit up.

The swimming pool and shady gardens were a welcome retreat in the heat and the staff and service was perfection. Breakfast was all encompassing and whatever you thought of was either there of they would make it for you.

A Brilliant hotel in a brilliant location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the gardens and the old city walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Do you want to feel like a prince or princess? Stay here! We stayed here for 2 nights and loved every minute. The hotel is actually behind a 2000 year old walled city in Carcassonne! At night when all the tourist leave, you can walk around within the walls and the mystery and beauty begins. Hotel de la Cité pays attention to every little detail of it's guests. There are recessed drawers and closets with hand painted designs on the doors. Each room is beautifully decorated with fabics and in an old world style. The beds are very comforable with the finest of linens and towels. ,There are marbled baths , AC , TV and WI FI. The staff is excellent!! Buffet breakfast on the patio in the morning served by a cheerful staff is a wonderful way to begin the day. There are gardens and a pool surrounding the hotel , lovingly attended by the lanscaping staff. History awaits you just outside the door with a tour of the castle, shops, and little restaurants. Hemingway stayed here and recommended it highly! So do I!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jocar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights in a family room. The room is spacious with big bathroom as well. The breakfast is so so, but the staff remembered our favorites. The hotel itself is very nice, with garden and terraces to see the view. Location also good and close to the shops and restaurants. But I think the terrace restaurant has to add more selections in the menu.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisNug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

What an fabulous experience at the hotel, lovely warm welcome, service 5*, food 5* rooms 5* centrally located right in the heart of the walled city close to all restaurants - shops, great for a long week end or longer. Poole area, snug little sun trap would return in a heartbeat. Nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff who were always there to assist you in any way they could.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 308 Kingsize suite lots of light, airy feel to the room, separate dressing room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
777 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing