We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magnificent hotel in an amazing setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magnificent hotel in an amazing setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned from a 3 day trip. Reception staff were extremely helpful & polite. The grounds had comfortable seating & fabulous views of the city. The pool was heated & the sunbeds came with clean towel. The bathroom with large bath, walk in shower, his & hers vanity basins, towelling dressing gowns, hairdryer, safe, slippers also had toiletries that were replenished daily. The large bedroom had a king sized bed, dining table & chairs, t.v. writing desk & a bar fridge. An ideal place to stay if you want to enjoy this medieval city, especially in the early morning & later in the day without the crowds. Didn't eat here but found the surrounding cafes very reasonably priced, especially the restaurant outside 'Best Western Don Jon'. Would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannamamma2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    323
    102
    33
    15
See reviews for
305
859
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel in style. The slightly bewildered crowds reluctantly parted as our driver picked us up from the car park and managed to negotiate his way through the hoards of people exploring ' la cite ' .
I must admit, despite a very warm welcome when we arrived, my initial reaction was to feel a little disappointed.
On first impression things looked a bit musty and well worn and when we settled in our room,I was very pleased that we had been upgraded, because it was only just acceptable really for somewhere with a 5 star rating. ( our room was definitely ready for a bit of fresh paint ! )
However the uniqueness of the hotel began to slowly work its magic as the evening went on.
It is a cool, quiet retreat from the madness outside its main doors. ( A security man stands there at all times to make sure the place isn't over run with non residents )
The hotel runs like a well oiled machine, the service is excellent , definitely worth the 5 star rating. The staff were extremely helpful and politely helped us to print out our return flight details.
The restaurant is superb ! Well worth the Michelin star, and reasonably priced for a treat.
The bedding was really comfortable and very clean !
( great pillows ! )
The grounds and the views from the hotel are beautiful, the bar area is full of character, as are the other shared areas of the hotel.
We had a really enjoyable nights stay and we would return if we visited Carcassonne again.
( Just one word of warning however . If you visit in July / August and you want a very peaceful stay, just check that you don't go when the festival is on. The laminate on our pillow when we arrived warned of amplified music every night that week and it was incredibly loud !!
It was a great part of our experience listening to Vanessa Paradis late at night in the hotel grounds, but it might not be for everyone so it's worth checking the date before you book !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Oopsmyparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lonon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We were absolutely in heaven arriving in this very very special hotel

The citi of Carcassone is a truely awesome place to arrive at however you get to it ..

Staying at this hotel means you get to stay IN the citi - and get driven from the private car park outside the citi walls, into the actual citi by private shuttle - it's a magical experience

The hotel doesn't disappoint. It's beautiful, medieval, bang in the centre of the citi with a breathtaking terrace with sculpted trees and gardens - nestled between turrets and the ancient stunningly renovated ramparts of the ancient cite. Very very special.

Our rooms (203 & 205) looked out onto the place and the church in the front of the hotel - which we loved and felt even more part of the magic of the cite watching the goings on and hearing local noise and bustle. The beds were ridiculously comfortable and the bathrooms luxurious marble with separate loos - everything was quite snug - but we didn't need so much space on a one night stopover

The staff were really really charming - no "hotel school faceless spiritless 5 star students" but knowledgable loyal staff, proud of their hotel and of Carcassone

The hotel is next door to the amphitheatre where there are many concerts in July and August - you could almost be in the concert the sound is amazingly near, especially if you are at the poolside during the pre concert sound check - as we were - totally added to the surreal and magic vibe of the place - apparently they have never had a guest complaint about it!!

Sadly we missed lunch - as with most of france, kitchens shut promptly at 2pm - (we arrived at 2.25 and were really disappointed!)and we ate from their snack menu - which was tasteless and badly presented
We decided not to eat on the stunning terrace for dinner as we were worried it would be too smart with our three kids - so opted for the more casual hotel brasserie opposite - it was ok - there were plenty better places to have chosen with better views

However - the hotel de la cite. breakfast really really was outstanding - abundant, diverse, utterly delicious and carefully picked produce - 4 different types of freshly made yogurts, the sweetest most fragrant peaches/ figs/melon, acres of fine patisserie a huge cheese table - and a hot buffet (which I didn't have but saw it)
All in all it was THE most wonderful way to see Carcassone. We got a good deal one room was half price and included the awesome breakfast - if you can do it - do - it won't disappoint!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cathontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

If you've ever wanted to stay in a castle then you simply must stay here, but be warned that you won't get super amazing service for your money and the star rating for this hotel is based mostly on its castle location.

The grounds are absolutely gorgeous as is the hotel building itself (stone and covered in vines). You are inside the medieval castle city (not actually in the castle as that is a historic site) and the view from the balcony over Carcassonne is breathtaking. Gorgeous small pool and gardens as well.

However, the interior is very dated. Our floor boards were riven with marks, the rooms are a bit dusty, my partner thought they smelt like his grandma's house! Nice big clean marble bathrooms though and ample supply of products.

Service at check in was fairly unwelcoming, it's super hot in the summer and you have to wait outside the castle for them to collect you but on arriving there is no water offered or moist towels to freshen you up that you would expect when you are paying minimum $600 euro a night and they know you have had a bit of a hot and dusty arrival. Definitely one of the worst check in experiences I have had, took about an hour - they didn't have our booking and seemed almost suspicious of us, and she rudely assumed we had the cheapest possible room type after a cursory glance and I had to inform her otherwise. This could have been compounded by the fact that we had made our booking on booking.com, so I would recommend booking directly with the hotel and ringing them to ensure they have confirmed this as our booking took almost ten hours to get through to them and we were lucky they had a room left.

The breakfast is wonderful and the blonde lady at breakfast is so so helpful and friendly - make sure you nab the outdoors balcony breakfast table for the epic view!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here a few years ago on our honeymoon and we have just come back a from a road trip which incorporated Carcassone and this hotel. The hotel is situated inside the walls and is really pretty, like a little castle. It also has a lovely pool which is quite secluded and for guests only. We didn't have breakfast here as it was 28 EUR per person! We actually parked in the owners garden outside the walls and then this tiny van took us through the streets to the hotel, which was highly amusing, like a little ride in itself. The staff were really courteous and spoke amazing english. The place is pretty expensive but we were able to just turn up on the day and enquire if there were any remaining rooms, which made it cheaper but is risky. Our room was lovely with an amazingly comfortable and large bed, a massive luxury after camping for a few days! Also, the good thing about the location is that you have all the bars and restuarants on your doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harveyrabbit76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Hotel de la Cite is fabulous. The location cannot be beaten. Situated inside the walls of the medieval city fortress, it is in the center of everything. We arrived by car and the parking is incredibly convenient. We parked in the lot just outside the town walls and within a few minutes were met by a small van from the hotel. The driver unloaded our suitcases for the short drive through the city walls directly to the hotel. It could not have been more convenient.

The hotel staff were unfailingly courteous and helpful. The reception area is spacious and comfortable, with access to a large courtyard terrace area, which we enjoyed very much. Our room (No. 208) overlooked the rear courtyard and was quiet and comfortable. We were staying for three nights and had plenty of room to unpack and store our clothes. The bed was comfortable, with a light duvet that kept us warm and cozy during the nights we stayed there. Our bathroom was large, with two sinks, and had plenty of room for our toiletries.

Wifi access was free and the signal was very strong. We were even able to access the wifi from the courtyard terrace, and it was wonderful to sit on the comfortable chairs outside and communicate electronically with our loved ones back home.

Breakfast was very extensive, with great selections of fruit, cereals, breads, meats and cheeses. Every morning, we also enjoyed made-to-order eggs. The breakfast staff were wonderfully helpful and courteous, and one of the waitresses (I do not recall her name, but she was short and vivacious) took a special interest in making sure that we enjoyed breakfast. One example in particular stood out. My fiancée had ordered an omelet that was too salty for her taste. When the waitress noticed that she had not eaten it, she insisted upon returning the partly-eaten omelet to the kitchen to replace it with one made with little salt.

The décor of the hotel matched Carcassonne, with lots of carved wood and massive majestic staircases. Our overall impression was one of staying in a medieval castle. Overall, it was a fabulous experience in a unique and wonderful city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed one night. Only room available was a suite. Oh, was it expensive! But what a great location, with great service, super room with private terrace right in the medieval city of Carcassonne. Hard to beat the location!. If it has been warmer we could have been out at the pool, though who wants to be at a pool when you're in such a super historic location. Ok, maybe for an afternoon relaxation! Didn't eat there, the 1 star Michelin restaurant would have completely blown the budget!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller1857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing