We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
luton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

Stayed here for a weekend as an auction prize, it was absolutely perfect in every way.
The room was fabulous overlooking the church and very spendid. We had a eight course meal in their resturant which was very nice and the service exceptional. The hotel also have a barge on the canal de midi and a two hour cruise with charlotte the guide was lovely. I would recomened this hotel for couples looking for a quite break because nothing much happens after about 11 pm.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa-mac89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    323
    102
    33
    15
See reviews for
305
859
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby,UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

I can't rate this hotel highly enough. My husband, 3-year old daughter and I have just returned from an 8-night stay. Pricey ? Not really, when you check out the hotel's attractive long-stay rates. We breakfasted like kings in the hotel's Chez Saskia restaurant then ate out and about each evening - there are so many restaurants in Carcassonne that we were spoilt for choice. The service and accommodation at Hotel de la Cite were truly excellent. Combine this with the magnificent setting, the hotel's lovely gardens and the tempting swimming pool, we felt like royalty. Plenty to keep us occupied in and around Carcassonne, even without a car. And 10 minutes in a taxi from the airport really couldn't have been more convenient and hassle-free.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chillihaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

Hotel de La Cite is perfect. Luxury without the fuss. The staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Everyone spoke English and French. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Elegant. And the setting--within the medieval walls of Carcassonne--is unbelievable. Is this hotel and city a fantasy? Stay for four or five days and unwind in the gardens or hang out by the heated pool. There are lots of wonderful sites nearby and music concerts during the summer. I'd like to return during the Christmas season to see what the local traditions are like. Enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyctripfantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

Wonderful hotel with picture postcard moments at every corner. We stayed for two memorable nights at Hotel de la Cite. The room was very large and had a pretty view overlooking the main entrance and the cathedral. Service was excellent and the garden was a lovely peaceful place to escape from the heat in the afternoon. A pity the pool was a bit too small and crowded, but we went at the height of summer so that was expected.
Breakfast at chez saskia can seem a bit chaotic at times but the staff were efficient and attentive, even remembering our orders for the next day!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opalbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

My partner booked this fabulous hotel for the last night of our holiday after having spent a wonderful week in a small village in the middle of the countryside . Upon our arrival we were upgraded to a garden suite which was beautifully furnished and very chilled, and after having had no air conditioning in our cottage all week, this alone felt like a luxury in its own right. After sightseeing all day the tranquil gardens and pool were a great place to chill out before dinner away from the crowded cite. Having eaten in quite a few Michelin star restaurants we were not disappointed and the food lived up to its fabulous reputation. The wine list itself was amazing for us wine lovers. I had looked forward to a romantic stroll around the Cite after dinner but the most terrific thunder & rain storm which lasted all night, prevent this. Check out at midday was perfect allowing for a leisurely breakfast and last walk around before sadly heading home.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAJLAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

I hesitated to post this review since our stay at the Hotel de la Cite was a very generous gift from a friend of ours.

We one major, and one minor problem during our stay at the hotel that contradict its status as a 4 star luxury hotel. The major problem was with the air conditioning, which did not work and blew hot air instead of cold air. Now, normally this wouldn't be a huge deal but two other factors contribted to this being a major problem. Firstly, it was very very hot during our stay with temperatures above 30 degrees Celcius. Secondly, being on a ground floor garden room we could not leave our window open during the day while we left for security concerns, and at night opening the only large window (which was the patio door) left us with people able to directly look onto our bed (people admiring the view at night on the terrace after dinner or returning to their rooms). We simply had to put up with the occasional onlookers since it was far too hot to close the door. Despite this, the heat made it difficult for us to sleep until around 2am.

When we complained about this, we were told that the air conditioning did not work for the entire hotel, and that the reason was because it had been cool and raining the previous week. It was implied that they have to convert between hot and cold each time and that only one system can be enabled at any given moment. I found this very hard to believe (and still do), but that was the story being given since I asked about this many times. I am still amazed that the most expensive hotel in the region had no air conditioning or other cooling options in 30+ degree weather since I could have walked to any other hotel in the area and booked a more comfortable room for a much cheaper rate. The ONLY reason I did not do this was because the hotel was a gift and I did not want it getting back to our friend.

The second more minor issue that we had was that after checking out we found out that our car, parked in the hotel's parking lot, had received a parking ticket. Apparently the hotel is supposed to either mark or record which cars belong to guests of the hotel, but at the time they did not know they were supposed to do this. I am not sure if the practice has changed or if they have reached some other agreement with the police department since our stay.

Now fortunately, the staff at the hotel contacted the police department for us to sort out the ticket issue, but this still required that we wait for an hour and a half while this was done.

The hotel also finally brought a portable fan to our room on the last night of our stay which helped immensely (but even the person delivering the fan found our room to be extremely hot!).

Now, other than these issues, the hotel does have a few things to recommend it. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean, and the location is great. But I still find it unbelievable that a hotel of this purported caliber would have rooms that uncomfortable without so much as an apology. My star rating here is generous since I am assuming that our issues were a rarity. If I had posted this immediately after our stay it would be a strict 1 star only rating.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valheru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
110 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

A delightful stay in this charming setting. The hotel staff are exceptionally helpful, the room is beautifully comfortable, the pool area tranquil and relaxing and the location very convenient. Only one negative point, our particular room did not have internet access but the hotel does have a computer for guest use. From our arrival outside the city walls to our departure, the hotel staff could not do enough for us. Wandering around the medieval city, you will find many points of interest, local products and very good restaurants. A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keepongoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing