We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

We arrived in Carcassonne without having any hotel reservations. We walked around the town and walked into this hotel. The woman at the desk was very helpful, and offered us the junior suite with a very enticing discount. The discount probably was because we arrived after 6pm and the room was going to end up empty anyway.

Regardless, this hotel is beautiful. As it has already been said, it is inside the fortress, which is a huge plus. The suite had it's own private terrace, and from there you could access the hotel gardens which were, again, gorgeous. The room was impeccable, and service was top-notch.

Definitely recommend staying here if you spend the night in Carcassonne.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaether0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    319
    100
    32
    15
See reviews for
301
841
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

We stayed at La Cite several years ago and wanted to return to see if we enjoyed it as much as the first time. We did enjoy it although now that we are older we look at some things with a different perspective. We were in Room 112 which was a lovely room with a small terrace overlooking the gardens. Our room was large and the bathroom was large. Excellent wifi in the rooms. Because the hotel has been built inside the walls of a historic building, all the rooms are different and on different levels. To get to our room we had to take an elevator to the first floor and then take several sets of stairs. If you are handicapped or cannot do stairs, you should let them know when making a reservation as many of the rooms require stairs to get to them.

The hotel is pricey. When we were there in early November Carcassone was practically deserted and many of the restaurants and shops closed for the month. The hotel offered no big discounts - we still paid over $400 for our room. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel - we thought 25 Euros pp was horribly expensive since we mainly just have coffee and a roll. We had 2 glasses of champagne and a bowl of ice cream at the bar in the evening and it was over $60! Be prepared to have your wallet handy.

Staff is very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen_travelqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

We decided to treat ourselves to a couple of nights at the Hotel de la Cite before hiring a car and exploring the Ariège. I had looked at other hotels in Carcassone but thought that staying inside the city walls would be more romantic for our first holiday together. It was a bit pricey but well worth it!

From the moment we were picked up by the hotel car (taxis from the airport are not allowed in the city so you are treated to a mad journey along the moat and through the city walls before pulling up in front of the ivy covered hotel - an excellent start to the hols!!) we were treated exceptionally well. Our room was lovely with a small balcony overlooking the ramparts. It was spotlessly clean and more than big enough even though it was one of the "cheaper" deluxe rooms.

We ate in the hotel's restaurant, La Barbacane, on our first night and had the most amazing evening. The food was delicious and the wine recommended by the Sommelier, Cecile, complemented it beautifully. The staff were friendly and attentive and made sure that we wanted for nothing. This was my first meal in a Michelin star restaurant and I wasn't disappointed.

I had thought that I La Barbacane was the best culinary experience I would have for a while but it faced stiff competition from the scrambled eggs at Chez Saskia for breakfast the next day. Seriously - they were amazing! I don't normally go for eggs that have been sitting on the heat for a period of time but I'm glad I did ( : The rest of the breakfast buffet was also lovely and the service was friendly but discreet.

On our second night we ate in the city as the hotel restaurant was closed but there is plenty of choice and lots of lovely bars on the squares in the city. We went back to the hotel's library bar after eating and enjoyed the delights of the comprehensive (if a little pricey) bar. Free hot savoury pastries served by the barman were a nice touch although the anchovy one was a bit of a surprise! All in all it was another magical evening.

We will definitely be going back to the Hotel de la Cite as we had an amazing time and we can't thank the staff enough. I wouldn't hesitate recommending the hotel to anyone who wants to treat themselves whilst in Carcassonne.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HippyChickYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

We stayed here for a week and this hotel is up there with the best. We booked the long-stay rate direct with the hotel which was exceptional value for money. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a garden suite which was absolutely perfect in every way from the comfortable bed to the vast array of toiletries in the bathroom (which are also available to buy in the hotel shop - I did). Breakfast served in Chez Saskia is first class providing a huge choice with friendly service.

We opted for the Anniversary Dinner in La Barbacane which was excellent and also good value for money despite the exchange rate. There is a fabulous Library Bar which serves two drinks for the price of one on Tuesdays and Wednesday nights - it would have been rude not to take up this offer!

The service in this hotel is the way only the best service can be - unobtrusive.

The Medieval City is best viewed in the morning and night after the day-trippers have gone home as it can get very busy. The hotel, however, is an oasis of calm with a relaxed feeling throughout.

We opted to hire a car for the middle three days which we spent in the surrounding countryside as, has been said before, La Cite can easily be covered in one day.

This hotel is up there with the best and I heartily recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnehGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

Even if this hotel is outside your budget,they have a Happy Hour on Tuesdays and Wednesdays in their Library bar, when every second drink is free.
It's an ideal location for an apertif and an excellent opportunity to enjoy the surroundings.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwiDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

An excellent open air garden restaurant situated a short walk from the main gates of the old city. The quality and range of food on offer is excellent and the service is complimented by very friendly staff

Helpful?
1 Thank oceanisuk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Waterford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

Wonderful hotel in a medieval setting fully blending in with its surroundings including its garden and pool. Staff we excellent without the fuss that is associated with a hotel of its class. Arrived from airport ( on the local bus for €10 per person) at the old city entrance to be picked up by the hotel "car" - great service.
Breakfast at Chez Saskia adjacent to the hotel was excellent but could be chaotic if all guests arrived together - small in size.
Found the lighting in the bedroom poor - this may be its medieval character.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank flynn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Lastminute, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing