We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very elegant & charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Carcassonne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very elegant & charming hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

We spent 2 lovely nights in this hotel smack in the middle of the old cite. Great rooms and mouth-watering food. It's got an amazing location if like us, you wanted to dwell in this fortress. The staff were a little reserved but we put that down to perhaps the image they wanted to maintain. Yet, a smile or two would've been welcome. On the whole, lovely hotel for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shonclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    323
    102
    33
    15
See reviews for
305
859
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
263 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

Enough has been said about Carcassonne being a tad (ahem) touristy. It is. This hotel is a haven in the chaos! Organisation getting you in to the town is seamless – simply follow the signs that say for hotel guests and you end up in a huge car park within the ramparts where you abandon your car and are ferried to reception (we were advised not to leave valuables in the car).
We booked a Junior Suite on a food package which had an in-built complementary upgrade ‘if available’ and were lucky enough to get the fabulous Terrace suite. Thank you hotel. What fun – an absolutely huge outside area so we could relax and enjoy the town like a lord and a lady. We drank (expensive!) fizz watching the hoi polloi from our balcony and stayed outside into the wee small hours. The room itself was lovely, staff excellent, grounds pleasant and the whole charming.
We dined in the less formal outside restaurant and it was exceedingly ordinary – indeed if we hadn’t been upgraded it would have been cheaper for us to book at the normal room rate and pay for our meal. If we were to return we would try the Michelin restaurant or indeed probably eat in one of the gazillion other places in town.
Only other criticism was breakfast which was in a tiny little cramped restaurant – Le Sirene (?). It was full of kids and other people and because of the size quite noisy and fraught. Not the tranquil end to our stay we would have liked. I think breakfast must have been served in another venue too and I would request that or have room service.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fleetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed at two times at this very romantic hotel which is part of the Orient Express Hotel group. The staff was very helpful, charming and able to match our wishes at all. The restaurant is situated in the former chapel and is michelin-starred with excellent and trendy food. Its a beautiful "piece of jewellery" and ofcourse a very good reason to come back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savoir_vivre74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

There's not much I can add to the reviews here. It's a superb hotel in a wonderful location.

I'd certainly recommend investigating Gourmet Package deals that incorporate meals at the mitchelin stared restaurant La Barbacane.

It's also well worth trying out the attached Le Jardin de l'Evêque restaurant hidden away in the complex.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squaremeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

My husband and I visited Carcassonne for a two night break to celebrate our anniversary, and chose to stay in this hotel. Our room was sumptuous, with doors opening directly onto the pool terrace area. We had welcome chocolates, and a hand written note wishing us a happy anniversary - how nice. The room was very well equipped with an abundance of smellies and handy items, there was even an umbrella in the room for our use if needed. The hotel is over 100 years old, and they have an 'audio tour' which is free to do and which we found very interesting. It gave us the opportunity to have a good look around the beautiful rooms and gardens, and tell us about the history of the this lovely hotel. The staff were all lovely - helpful, polite, warm and friendly. I really couldn't fault this hotel at all - the only thing which didn't really suit me was the firmness of the mattress - but it was so peaceful, I still slept fairly well, even though my preference is to have a softer mattress.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
86 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

If you are going to Languedoc Roussillon, you have to go to Carcassonne and if you are going to Carcassonne, you have to stay at the Hotel de la Cite. It’s a pure delight: located within the walls of the medieval city right next to the Basilica. The rooms are small but gorgeous, with a tiny separate dressing room, a small bathroom and a separate toilet. We had also had quite a large terrace overlooking the hotel garden and the city walls.

We weren’t able to go to the formal restaurant (it was closed) but the hotel recommended an excellent restaurant nearby. The following day, we had lunch at the hotel’s informal restaurant – and the standard of the food was excellent. If you can manage it, stay a couple of nights – you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

This is a beautiful place to visit and to stay at this hotel is perfection. It would be ideal for a honeymoon. The room was out of this world with a frieze right round the walls above wooden panelling and the bathroom was immense. Breakfast in the building opposite was delightful and the staff remembered each day how you wanted your tea or coffee. The choice on offer was vast.
The only downside was that the restaurant seemed dark and a bit uninviting but that said, there are lots of places you want to try in Carcassonne to eat!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiggersmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing