We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“if Carlsberg did hotels ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“if Carlsberg did hotels ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

We're just back from travelling across Northern Spain to the Mediterranean and then up through the Languedoc to La Loire and home to England. We'd booked one night at the Hotel de la Cite not having much to go on other than the attraction of the 'Orient Express' ownership. We had an outstanding experience. From the moment of arrival at the car parl outside the citadel walls, where we were collected by the charming Vincent, to having our car garage parked overnight and being taken back to it the following day, it was one of the best hotel stays we have ever had. The staff were delightful and the facilities excellent (we took the suite 301 - recommended) but the high point was discovering the hotel itself. We definitely recommend the hotel tour - there are some very interesting nooks and crannies and even a fresco in room 108 (I think). The views from our room were varied and beautiful and to find yourself in the Citadel at Carcassonne when you leave the hotel only adds to the excitement.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Omelettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    318
    100
    32
    15
See reviews for
298
835
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

This hotel is within the city walls of Carcossonne and is a haven of peace in a very busy city. The city is very crowded with tourists at this time of year but staying within the walls enabled us to look around early and later in the day avoiding most of the crowds.
The hotel itself is lovely with good service, lovely grounds and a really quiet and private swimming pool. The room we had was large with all the facilities expected in a 4 star hotel. Food was a somewhat different matter. Breakfast was very good but the layout of the Chez Saskia Brasserie means there is a crush to serve yourself the food, Service was very cheerful. The food in the Saskia restaurant in the evening ( when raining) or the Jardin( when sunny) was a little disappointing and needs improving. The Michelin star restaurant - La Barbacane was not as good as other Michelin star restaurants we have visited in the UK & France and was very expensive. Again the service was excellent.
The bar had the best service and do have a look at the books, some are from when the hotel opened in 1909. We would go back but would eat dinner elsewhere.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeDeeWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

i was taken to the hotel de la cite for my 50th birthday and had a fantastic time,we had a suite which was lovely,we ate in la barbacane and had a lovely meal,the staff in the hotel were very friendly as were the staff in the restaurant who explained each course with great knowledge,the hotel is old and the the features such as the staircase are quite magnificient, i would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes class

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anywhere49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

The setting in Carcassonne does help you forgive a few small failings of the hotel. The city is stunning and living within in it with the exquisite gardens and pool was amazing. We had only booked the basic rooms and I am glad we were only staying one night because they were quite small and basic with little view of anything.

My only complaints were that reception seemed very overworked and we struggled to be dealt with. Also, the only hotel restaurant open the night we stayed, other than the gourmet one which did not suit our son, was outdoors. Although it was July being outdoors in the evening was a bit chilly so we decided to eat elsewhere and we found there were dozens of places to choose from within a stones throw of the hotel (and a lot cheaper) which was great.

Overall a great base to explore the city.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sjwoolnough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

My fiancée and I stayed two nights to celebrate the end of her MA - but mainly so we could watch the world's greatest band Simple Minds play the outdoor theatre.

What a show - and what a hotel! The staff were a delight, the location stunning. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was great and had the biggest bed we've ever seen. No probs with the AC as others have mentioned.

The gardens are a joy in themselves - unique views over the ramparts in one bit, and secluded paradise in the other.

Breakfast was just unbelieveable - I've never had a better one in any hotel anywhere.

And it helped that the band were in the same hotel, and were extremely friendly!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vallo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stayed 3 nights in a "Castle One Bedroom Suite" (king bed in the bedroom with two rollaway twins in the living room) The space in the room was adequate but the terrace was absolutely amazing. It was a good thousand square feet - like having a backyard actually. We played cards (and drank some good french wine) at the terrace table, we enjoyed the rocking bed under a vine canopy and we took the shortcut through the gardens to the swimming pool. This was our splurge for the vacation and we spent a lot of money for this room. Like another reviewer we too had AC problems. We reported it to the front desk and they sent a crew that did some major work. It helped a bit but it never quite got there (the days were in the mid 90s, the room may have gotten down to the high 70s - not unbearable but definitely not 5 star.) One of the staff members suggestted moving us to a better room, but then said we were pretty much in the best room (#120 - worth asking for)

The staff was great all around (bell staff, front desk, restaurant, pool). The pool is great - especially on 90 degree days. We took the bikes out one day for a ride into the new city and along the Midi Canal. They were good bikes and they were free - a very nice touch.

Heat problems not withstanding, I would return to this hotel and would highly recommend it to friends.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank wayfarerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

I travelled here with my husband; we were due to meet up with some friends staying at the same hotel. Despite both us and our friends having been booked in for dinner at the same time, when we asked, we were told it would not be possible for us to sit together at dinner. Meeting up with our friends for dinner was the main reason for travelling to Carcassonne. We were told that if we discussed the matter with the Maitre D' he might be able to arrange something for us. However, he had a surly attitude and insisted it would be simply impossible for us to dine together as a group of 4. We saw no reason why, and no decent explanation was given. We ended up having to go over the road and eat at the hotel's other restaurant, which didn't have a Michelin star. The food was ok, but I am sure it was nothing like the treat we were looking forward to at the hotel's main restaurant. To give the hotel their dues, our bill was adjusted to take into account the fact that we were not eating in the more expensive restaurant (which of course we would have insisted upon in any event), and we were given most of our drinks that evening for free as a token of apology, which was a much-appreciated gesture. We have stayed at many fine hotels, and this one simply doesn't shout 5-star. They don't seem to quite get it right. The room was nice, but a little old-fashioned, and the air conditioning felt a bit like someone breathing on you gently, i.e. was not cool, and didn't even make a dent in the uncomfortably stuffy night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siani30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing