We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure Carcassone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne Center
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Fantastic location for visiting La Cite - otherwise basically what you would expect from a Mercure - reasonable and comfortable accommodation, but nothing fancy. It did however have a nice pool and the staff were quite helpful. Definitely worth while if just visiting for a day or two. The restaurant looked pretty good, but given it is so close to the dozens of restaurants at La Cite, we did not eat here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed two nights here, and being only a short walk from the old city , the location is very good. Friendly staff, clean rooms , decent breakfast all added to the pleasure. We ate both evenings in the restaurant, the food is excellent,especially the fish dishes, and Mercure do try to add a little variation to their wine list , with a list of 'specials' I think the only failing of the hotel is that the restaurant does need a Maitre 'D' , on the second night after sitting at our table we waited 20 minutes for the menu, and when they did arrive I was surprised that we were not asked if we wanted an aperitif, which we did! The staff also double up with working at the bar, so it was not surprising to see people having to wander round to reception later on to try and find someone to serve them.The staff were rushing around but I got the impression that someone to take charge was needed.
Having said that , we would return there as the plusses far outweighed this little minus point.

Room Tip: Prestige rooms well worth the added cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaintesJeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Great location with a good pool for the kids. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: They have rooms that open up straight onto the pool which is great if you have kids to keep an eye o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LegItAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We had one night at the Mercure Hotel after flying into Carcassonne. It was easy to find and so close to La Cite. There is private, secure parking, so you don't have an extra charge. The room was clean and modern and the bathroom was a great size for Europe. We had views of the turrets in La Cite, which was great and we faced out onto the swimming pool. As we arrived at lunchtime we decided to have the lunch special, which was 17 euros for three courses which I would recommend and we got a free glass of wine which was a nice touch. We came back to the hotel for a night cap and to get some water for the room, but we had to wait 40 minutes for the bar staff to serve us! We had to ask reception twice if someone could come and help. The bar staff were young guys and didn't seem interested, although there was only one other couple in the bar. It was a bit disappointing to be honest. Breakfast was ok, not the best compared to others I've been to, but it was perfectly fine. I would definitely recommend this hotel, despite our experiences in the bar, particularly due to the hotel. Oh, the waitress at lunchtime and breakfast was lovely!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarianneGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My family and I stayed here for just one night as part of a bigger French road trip, and it was great. We were all upgraded to prestige rooms which were huge and comfortable. It definitely felt a little bit 'budgety' in a way - not classy, lovely furnishings, but rather IKEA-feeling. However, the bed was super comfortable, the bathroom huge, and everything was really clean.

My parents stayed on the third floor and had a gorgeous view of Carcassonne's old town from their window, so do try to get a room higher up that overlooks the courtyard in the direction of the old town.

Parking was adequate and semi-secure, although we did take valuables out of our cars as we didn't feel leaving them there was a good idea.

We didn't eat at the hotel and chose to have dinner and breakfast in Carcassonne's old town, so can't comment.
The distance to the old town is short - literally just a few minutes to walk there.

Staff were friendly enough - there was a conference going on at the time we were there, so everyone seemed busy. No problems to report though.

Overall, I would definitely recommend staying here if you can't afford to stay at the beautiful hotel next to the cathedral in Carcassonne's city centre! :S

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank voyageuse_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The Mercure Carcassonne is a typical mid range business style hotel within very easy reach of the Medieval City of Carcassonne. We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting the city. We chose this particular hotel because of its reasonable cost and its close proximity to the city.

The hotel itself is no more than a 10 minute stroll from the main entrance of the medieval city of Carcassonne. There is a car park at the hotel which is free. Entry and entrance is through a raised barrier gate which operates via a push button to speak facility (although on very occasion we used it, simply pressing the button seemed sufficient – there was never any conversation via the intercom).

The foyer itself is quite small and underwhelming. When we arrived the single member of staff on duty was on a call and it took some little time for us to check-in. We stayed in Room 64, typical of what you would find in any mid range chain hotel. It overlooks the pool and has views of the turrets of the city (see pictures). The room looked as if it had recently been refurbished. Two single beds were joined to create a king size bed. Bedding was clean, crisp an well ironed. There was a flat screen TV on the wall facing the bed which offered continental channels and BBC World. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided as was a safe.

The bathroom did not have a bath but a walk-in rainforest shower. Towels were large, clean and very fluffy. The WC was not separate. Hairdryer and razor point were provided.

The only slight downside was the smallish window. Not a big issue but given the amount of wall space available and the view, a larger window would have been nice. Other rooms which overlooked the pool seemed from the floor plan to be larger and include a terrace or balcony but as a base for a short term visit we felt ours was perfect. Friends visiting Carcassonne with us had the same style room next door but for some reason there was no safe. The free WIFI worked fine.

We were on the third floor for which lift access was provided although it seems that the 3rd floor was on two slightly different levels and a short staircase of 2 or 3 steps needed to be tackled.

Breakfast is served in the dining room offering cereals, croissants, pastries, toast, cheeses, cold meats etc Also scrambled egg and bacon.

Didn't eat here for dinner as the a la carte was relatively expensive compared with food in Carcassonne (although we did on our last day spot a €17 set course meal).

We would definitely stay here again if we chose to visit Carcassonne.

TIP:- We did the Tourist Train which you get at the entrance to the city. This takes you around the outer walls extending into the lower city for a very short while were close proximity to the walls is not possible. It has a perspex roof which was covered in raindrops from an earlier shower. This made it impossible to see the walls clearly when sitting on the left hand side as you look forward. Its twenty minutes with an audio commentary that talks about the various towers. Vastly overpriced and certainly not worth the time from my viewpoint. Better to spend your money visiting the chateau inside the walls and walking along some of the ramparts. If you are going to do the train, sit on the right hand outside as you look forward.

Room Tip: Ask for Room facing the pool/city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Two_Fogies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at this hotel, and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

Our very large room overlooked the beautiful ancient city which was a five minute walk away.
The room was clean and well appointed, with a little confusion over the AC that was quickly resolved by a staff member.

The hotel grounds were very attractive and extremely well maintained.

The staff were welcoming and friendly, free parking available right outside the door, and wifi available.
The breakfast was excellent and we ate one evening meal at the hotel which was delicious and good value.
Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid standard rooms which are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyAuckand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - M...
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
510 reviews
0.9 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La C...
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel

Address: 18 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France (Formerly Mercure Carcassonne Porte de la Cite)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carcassonne Center
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne Center
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: £68 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minutes walk from the medieval quarter and 10 minutes from the Canal du Midi and the lower city, you will find the Mercure Carcassonne tucked away in a leafy corner. The hotel features a restaurant, a garden, a bar with a fireplace, 80 rooms (all non smoking) and 3 meeting rooms. The hotel has two private secured and free car parks. Whether for a business trip, a holiday or a conference, our hotel is a wonderful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Carcassonne Porte De La Cite Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing