We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
1 review
“Unfriendly staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Just back from a four night stay at this hotel, I'll start with the positives....the location is excellent, just a few minutes walk from the medieval city. We stayed in a ground floor room with doors that opened on to the garden which was lovely. The room was perfectly adequate with tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and a lovely bathroom but no safe. The breakfast was also good with indoor and outdoor seating. So far so good....the only real negative was the extremely unfriendly and unhelpful staff. There must be a clause in their contract that forbids them to smile...although when you're charging someone 20 euro to BORROW an adaptor there isn't much to smile about...I hate to end on a negative note so while the service wasn't great the location more than made up for it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    664
    224
    60
    14
See reviews for
349
773
41
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Nothing to say about de hotel, an average Mercure although with us the staff was everything except friendly. But the restaurant has been one of the worst experiences a have had in France (and I can count a bunch), Two and a half hours to get a menu of three dishes and with the rest o less than half full. The food, a cassoulet, was several times reheated tranforming it in a sort of pasta and so was the fish. Incredible than Michelin has included this restaurant on his list. If this is one of the selected what to think about the rest. We will be never back again. The only advantatge: the moderate price. But that doesnt justify this kind of behaviour and horribe quality.

Room Tip: Dont go to the resto, except if you want to know what is a terribe service and a reheated meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Triper_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, walking distance to the medieval town. Our room was newly renovated, clean and elegant. We ate at the restaurant both nights and the food was surprisingly good as well! There is a lovely terrace for al fresco dining where we could allow our children to play in the gardens next to it, under our supervision. Staff were helpful all except for the night porter, who was rude and unpleasant. Apart from this, the hotel ticked many boxes and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelinNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodelwyddan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

The hotel is in a fabulous situation just a short walk from the Cite walls. The staff were friendly and helpful. The swimming pool was a welcome addition after a long journey it was lovely having a swim then a drink at the poolside bar. The rom was very clean and comfortable overlooked the back of the hotel but was lovely and quiet. Only stayed for the night but had would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

Due to the time of year and the hotel's proximity to the old city walls this eas not a cheap hotel. Overall the room was a good size and bright and clean. Bathroom was big and well equipped; a real walk in shower as well as a bath. However, staying in Carcassonne in a week of 35 degree heat you definitely want your hotel's cooling to work. It didn't.

So, overall good hotel spoilt by its air con which might be ok for the rest of the year but not in the midst of a south of France summer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canbgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel

Property: Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Address: 18 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France (Formerly Mercure Carcassonne Porte de la Cite)
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minutes walk from the medieval quarter and 10 minutes from the Canal du Midi and the lower city, you will find the Mercure Carcassonne tucked away in a leafy corner. The hotel features a restaurant, a garden, a bar with a fireplace, 80 rooms (all non smoking) and 3 meeting rooms. The hotel has two private secured and free car parks. Whether for a business trip, a holiday or a conference, our hotel is a wonderful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Carcassonne Porte De La Cite Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing