We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Some issues”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. Fairly convenient location for the walled city but note that the trees have grown considerably since the Mercure website pictures so there is only a restricted view of the walled city from some rooms. Bar prices are quite reasonable as are restaurant prices. The standard rooms are quite small, have very restricted storage space but they have reasonably good bathrooms.However there are some issues. The swimming pool is officially open from 1st June to 30th September. We arrived Friday but were unable to get into the pool until 1pm Sunday which also meant there were no loungers to relax in the sun. The pool itself is not kept particularly clean. The changing facilities were also not clean and from the smell and appearance are suffering water damage. Anothre issue is the air conditioning which only pumped out hot air. Apparently they change it from a winter setting to summer setting at some point but until then even though it may be hot you cannot cool the room. We had an unbearably hot night on the Friday night and consequently got little sleep. And finally the staff can be decidely unfriendly and rude, like the receptionist who kept insisting the pool was open and treated us like imbeciles when we couldn't open the gate. I did try and speak to the Manager but was told he was not available but the receptionist did reduce our bill by €10 per night.

Room Tip: Ask for an even numbered room on top floor to get a view of the garden and perhaps part of the walle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    681
    233
    61
    15
See reviews for
354
798
41
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We are regular patrons of the Accor Hotel Family. This Mercure Hotel in Carcassonne was predictably very good. This is defined by location (very convenient), high speed internet (available and a strong connection), parking (safe and secure), price (very fair), and general appearance. The hotel was clean, but far from luxurious, which was expected. If you are traveling to this area, I would consider staying here. Not only is it ridiculously close to the fortress, the charming town is certainly walkable. Breakfast has a very good variety of food and an attentive staff.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aandskern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Having stayed for 5 nights at the Mercure on a package holiday I would certainly consider this hotel if I was again in the area of Carcassonne. Although the standard room was a little cramped, it was comfortable, clean and more than adequate. The reception staff were helpful particularly when there was a (slight) problem with the bedroom safe. The restaurant was reasonable without being outstanding and was somewhat swamped on a (very) busy evening. Overall good value for money and very convenient for exploring the walled "Cite" which was a short walk away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Somerset_man_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Location was very good for tourists as it was only a few minutes into the retail hell, or wonderland, depending on your perspective, of the Cité. The view from our bedroom window was superb, and the added bonus was the ease of parking. However, this was a businessman's hotel in a tourists setting and therefore lacked character. The dinner menu was good and competitively priced but a simple bar menu would have been an attractive alternative when we didn't fancy a full meal.

Staff were generally helpful but not especially friendly and my overall impression was that it was .... just another hotel, albeit in a great location for those visiting the Cité.

Room Tip: ASk for a room with a view of the walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackandWillsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night so we could spend a good amount of time at the castle. Firstly the castle is very touristy and I did not really think it was worth the visit. The hotel is in a great location. It is not worth staying at the hotels inside the wall of the castle.
The hotel is modern and the breakfast was a good selection of food.
We had room 50 of the top floor. The weather was fine with a lot of sun - about 23 degrees. Our room was very hot in the early evening and I could not get the a/c to cool the room - even though the controls had this option. Anyway I called reception and was told it was the wrong time of year for needing cool air and this would be turned on in a few weeks. So we took the quilt out of the quilt covered, openned the window and slept under the quilt cover. It was ok but they a little strange there was no cool air available from the a/c.
Anyway a good enough hotel for this location.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank feelingxxlucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Have just returned from a five night stay at this hotel which was our base for a Newmarket Holiday tour. The hotel is about five minutes from the Cite and about twenty minutes from the central square in Carcassonne.

Our room was very comfortable and quiet although the hotel seemed very busy throughout our stay. The hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke good English - particularly the guy from Brussels who apart from being highly professional seemed to have mastered every language going.

The quality of the food at both breakfast and dinner was excellent and a range of price options was available for the evening meal. There was a very good range of wines that began with easily affordable carafe's and some good bottled Belgian beers. In terms of value for money I think that the Mercure represented all round better value than the touristy establishments in the Cite.

As we stayed as part of a holiday tour breakfast was included and I did notice that the hotel tariff listed breakfast as costing 14 euros which is a bit steep but perhaps not that unusual for France.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I took my 11 year old daughter for a 4 day trip. Hotel really handy for the medieval city and not too far from the centre of town - 10 min walk. We arrived early 11:30 and were able to get into our room straight away (it was quiet). The reception staff were extremely helpful and coped fine with my pigeon French. Breakfast was simple but very good. Our room was well appointed and well maintained. The only downside was that the pool was closed. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 900Kem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel

Property: Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Address: 18 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France (Formerly Mercure Carcassonne Porte de la Cite)
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minutes walk from the medieval quarter and 10 minutes from the Canal du Midi and the lower city, you will find the Mercure Carcassonne tucked away in a leafy corner. The hotel features a restaurant, a garden, a bar with a fireplace, 80 rooms (all non smoking) and 3 meeting rooms. The hotel has two private secured and free car parks. Whether for a business trip, a holiday or a conference, our hotel is a wonderful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Carcassonne Porte De La Cite Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing