We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional hotel in a very good location with free parking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Functional hotel in a very good location with free parking!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Mercure has a great location just opposite the entrance to the beautiful walled city of Carcassonne. Our room was quite small but comfortable, bathroom very nice and clean. We did not use any other facility as we dined out on the city and had the hotel's coffee and tea in the room for breakfast, very nice feature to have a kettle in the room. is not standard in France! The swimming pool was still closed as we travelled early in May and it was still too cold. It did not look too inviting, but surely will be if it's 30 degrees outside! The hotel's position is a bit strange, tucked in between the modern city and the large parking lot for the city, but so close to the city that it's worthwhile to stay there. Free and safe parking in front or in the back of the hotel are useful.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have a bit of view of the walled city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Readingrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    700
    238
    65
    15
See reviews for
362
825
41
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed here overnight as the hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the fabulous "La Cite" which we wanted to explore.
Having stayed at a number of Mercure hotels recently we felt the decor was a bit tired probably due to the high number of coach trips that frequent the hotel.
The room was clean and a good size with a comfortable bed.
The staff were always busy and the restaurant full even at breakfast.
If location is important then it's a good option but if you are after quiet and peaceful surroundings then it's best to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zen123102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This is really a very nice hotel and would be lovely in the summer. We have just been in May with cold and windy weather, so sitting out / dining on the terrace was not an option.
The staff are all friendly and helpful, our first floor room was clean and comfortable with towels changed every day. Best meal of the day was the 'continental' breakfast with a huge range of food. Dinners were generally good, although limited in range perhaps,some local competition would be good. Younger guests could walk up to the medieval city just round the corner, the majority of guests being more mature tended to stay in. Free wifi although it seemed limited.
We would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

An excellent hotel, truly just a 5 minute walk into the Citadel. It is secluded up a side street and is very quiet with no main road traffic nearby. Rooms are a good size with excellent, large, comfortable beds and our bathroom was also a good size with a large shower cubicle, bath,two sinks and a loo. Due to its location in a tourist trap area, so close to le Cite, I was suprised how good value for money it was. We only ate in the hotel restaurant twice but on both occassions it was good with a reasonably priced menu. To give you an understanding of the size of area, it will only take you 15 minutes to walk to the centre of the lower town and 30mins walk to the train station from the hotel. Very user friendly all in all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigandWendyDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

First time at the Mercure. Stayed for three nights on bed and breakfast basis. Chose this hotel due to its proximity to "La Cite". Rooms modern, clean with huge bathrooms. Our rooms were on the first floor over looking the pool area and were very quiet. Breakfast more than adequate with hot and cold food choices. Outside in the garden there is a large patio area with seating available. Pool looked inviting although weather too cold for swimming. Would definitely stay here again if I returned to this area. Prices were reasonable for this level of comfort. The walk into the newer part of Carcassonne took about 10 minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Four of us stayed here for two nights recently. Really enjoyed the stay. Hotel is clean and very pleasant. It is very close to the walled city and about a twenty minute walk to the Ville Basse the centre of town. We had two adjoining rooms with a connecting door. Good view of the castle from one room but not from the other. Great breakfast including some hot food. There is a restaurant which we didn't try but we did use the bar. The staff were helpful and pleasant and there were no problems with check in. Carcassone itself is lovely . It has plenty of shops and cafés with polite staff. We took the Navette the local service bus from the airport and it took us right to the hotel. It cost £20 for the four of us. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank pjmccarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Great position and stayed three times before, booked in advance and arrived in the rain with our little dog Brigette, went in and confirmed . Unloaded outside in heavy rain in massive and deep puddle outside reception, no help offered they just watched us get very wet and wade through . Well they will not get our money again , David Dawn & Bridgette

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank brigetteonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
755 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel

Property: Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Address: 18 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France (Formerly Mercure Carcassonne Porte de la Cite)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minutes walk from the medieval quarter and 10 minutes from the Canal du Midi and the lower city, you will find the Mercure Carcassonne tucked away in a leafy corner. The hotel features a restaurant, a garden, a bar with a fireplace, 80 rooms (all non smoking) and 3 meeting rooms. The hotel has two private secured and free car parks. Whether for a business trip, a holiday or a conference, our hotel is a wonderful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Carcassonne Porte De La Cite Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing